We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spajza

Spajza
28 Gornji, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
01 425 3094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 372 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spajza is a very nice restaurant, a short walk away from the busy streets in the old quarter. I had the meat version of the 5 courses "menu Degustation" for 35 euros, which was a great way to discover some Slovenian dishes and in my opinion very good value. I would recommend booking as the restaurant can get quite busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    152
    36
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haydom, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our one evening meal in Ljubljana was at this great restaurant, and we did not regret it! We took the fish and meat tasting menu and the waiters offered a wine selection to go with it.Being interested in wine it was great to get to taste a new Slovenian wine for every course.
The food was the best we had on this holiday, the ambience in the restaurant was great as well, and the service impeccable!
If you have only one meal in Lubljana have it in Spajza!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Spajza is a charming restaurant on a pleasant street, a bit away from the rows of restaurants in the old quarter. It has old world charm, lovely food, including two inventive fixed price five course dinners. There are several rooms in which to dine and a courtyard, and a restaurant dog! My husband had the veal medallions which he pronounced terrific. I had the fillet Calabrese style. Sadly I wasn't feeling great so couldn't appreciate it as it deserved. Our friends had the fixed price dinners, one with meat, the other with fish and loved them. Beware--you MUST have a reservation. They are full every evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a great spot! Romantic and delicious food, with amazing service. Among my favorites! Went back again and again. The owner is also fantastic and gave us many great recommendations. We love it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Among my favorites anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Ditto to the many reviews lauding the food, service, presentation, wine list and atmosphere. It was pouring rain when our group of 5 was there so an inside table was the only option. We were seated in a small side room and there was no competition to our conversation from piped-in music. One note about the steak tartare: it was excellent but bring a large appetite or a few friends. The menu lists it as a portion for two. However, if you plan on having a main course, it would serve four easily. I would go to this restaurant time and again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spajza also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Spajza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spajza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.