We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were hungry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gostilna Janezic

Gostilna Janezic
Psata 25, Ljubljana 1261, Slovenia
+3861 562 71 25
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 372 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
2 reviews
“We were hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were very hungry, the food was great, service was exelent. There was no waiting between the meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“too many mistakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've had a business lunch in this restaurant. Soup was OK, but nothing special. Salad, pasta and beef was OK. Portions were huge, water tasted on soap (anybody forgot to clean jar properly?), open wine was too warm and selection of wines is not on the level of the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Excellent food and hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pension for 13 days in July 2012. The food at the restaurant the food was spectacular! Authentic Slovenian - Schnitzel, potatoes, salad, liver/onions, chicken, everything was very delicious. Every morning we were greeted and provided breakfast. I'm from the states and everyday I was offered eggs and fresh milk.

After we arrived home we realized we left our camera in the room. They got our camera back to us in the states. Thank goodness for such honorable people with integrity!

We will definately stay again! PN/USA

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Slovenian flare in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I had the longest lunch/dinner of our lives without any speeches on our trip through Slovenia. At the end of a very rainy travel day we decided to have our late lunch at this restaurant (which also happens to be part of the Penzione where we stayed for three days). For this particular meal we relied on the waiter's recommendations for seasonal food not on the menu and were not disappointed. We had freshly prepared ham from the southeast corner of the country (as an appetizer), beautifully grilled mushrooms with garlic, a slovenian sausage with rich sauerkraut and bacon, and vanilla ice cream with pumpkin oil for dessert. As usual no one rushes you at Slovenian restaurants so this was a long meal....but truly wonderful. We also very much enjoyed the wine we had there (Refosco and a Cabernet) and ate there on two other occasions. his is a definitely authentic Gostilna located in a suburb of Ljublana, but worth the effort. (It is adjacent to a farm, next to a lovely stream, and surrounded by newly built, flower bedecked Slovenian suburban homes). At one meal, a group of men broke out in Slovenian songs spontaneously several times during the meal.,

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostilna Janezic also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Gostilna Janezic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gostilna Janezic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.