We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, but slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valvasor

Valvasor
Stari trg 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
386 (0)41 381 561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 371 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious, but slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The food cooked at this place is very good, especially the bread. First time in my life I tried corn soup and was very delicious. We were inside ( in summer, they have tables on the street as well), but were seated close to the door and as it was constantly opening and closing, we were cold. The service was particularly slow.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    97
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good...almost great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The starter (asparagus tempura with goats cheese sauce) was really good. The main course, veal cutlet with honey and mustard seed sauce was just OK. The sauce was just missing a little something. The meat was perfectly cooked, it was just the sauce that let it down a little bit. The dessert, chocolate souffle with a mint cream sauce, was really good. My colleagues meals were really good (the duck leg being the best of the 3 mains) as well. We all agreed we'd return again during the trip.

This was a really good place with nice outdoor seating when the weather is nice. We'll definitely be back (and I'll order the duck).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a surprise :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

After looking the reviews of this restaurant, we decided to save it for special occasion. And we were not disappointing. On the contrary! We were delighted! We went there on a saturday evening, restaurant was full but not crowded. The atmosphere was very nice, lights slightly dimmed. Waiters were professionally friendly (this is a perfect combination for us), gave us suggestions and maintained out table good! As for food, let's just say that as I am writing this review I am planing our next visit to this restaurant :) The four of us had a starter (king prawns on truffle puree / tempura asparagus with goat cheese / asparagus risotto) and a main course (lamb cutlets with potato gratin and vegetables / fish with potatos and truffle paste). Every single this was fantastic! Lamb was perfectly pink in the middle and so tender it was melting in my mouth. Fish was fresh, potato perfectly cooked, truffle puree... YUM! With a bottle of wine, natural water and two desserts, the bill for four of us was 180€ (not including tip). Just to say, we tried many, and I mean many restaurants in Ljubljana, but this is our absolute Number 1. Defensively a most eat at...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The restaurant is situated in the middle of the city, very close to the river. The layout of the restaurant makes it suitable for dinner with colleagues, friends or couples (I was there with colleagues).

Service was excellent, friendly staff who made excellent wine recommendations (we actually had a local white wine which was great).

Food was also very good - good selection of meat and fish dishes. The vegetarian selection was a bit limited but the waiter was able to offer a number of off-menu combinations which were great. Food presentation was excellent, including a few small treats between courses.

This is one of the more expensive restaurants in Ljubljana but still quite reasonable - approx. 40eur per person which included 2 bottles of wine (4 people in total).
Overall very highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Ate a 5 course meal of high quality here. Excellent food and service. Is this the best restaurant in the city, maybe? I have not been to ALL the others in the city :-) But to go here is not wrong ;-)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valvasor also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Valvasor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valvasor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.