We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valvasor

Valvasor
Stari trg 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
386 (0)41 381 561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 387 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The decoration is the dream of a bad architecture: beautiful and absolutely uncomfortable. The sitting place (kind of sofa) was 90 degrees, no place to relax the back. The cutlery was long, and difficult to handle. Nothing practical.
Now the food: correct. I had a steak, not bad, but as I go quite often to Buenos Aires I can only say that any parilla place is much better. The side dish was some kind of puree, with cheese, no taste at all. The amuse bouche at the beginning very good.
Pricey!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    120
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent dinner, with great quality food, although quite pricey. We let the waiter recommend the food and wine - had a fantastic meal but it did cost 180 euros for the 2 of us!! We would definitely recommend it as a restaurant, just choose your own options to fit your budget !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

One of the things I liked in this restaurant was the spacious and at the same time cozy feeling: generous tables not to close to each other and an interior in dark warm shades with a very modern and classy touch.
All this comes with perfect well balanced dishes. In my case a perfect steak in wine sauce, sea bass for my companion. I discovered Slovenia has some excellent local wines made of grapes I never heard of. Service was impeccable, and price very reasonable for this quality.
Would love to revisit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Great dishes and excellent local wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We walked around Ljubljana old town and found it by chance. After checking their menu, we decided to give it a try as the place looked lovely and the price seemed to be reasonable. It turned out to be one of the best dining experience in Slovenia. We actually came back here again to celebrate our last night in Ljubljana.

The first time we had delicious steak and lamb chop. The old waiter even gave us free dessert and recommended a really nice Slovenian wine. All dishes and service were very impressive!

The second time my friend had steak again and I had Risotto. This young waiter who served us was also very nice even the restaurant was quite busy then. I would recommend it to everyone who is visiting Ljubljana and would love to go back there myself someday!

See my photos.

Please vote for me if you find this review helpful. Thank you very much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in. The staff are friendly, helpful, attentive and know everything about the menu and wine list. The food is sensational and not over priced at all, for this kind of meal in London you would be paying double!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valvasor also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Valvasor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valvasor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.