We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valvasor

Valvasor
Stari trg 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
386 (0)41 381 561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 386 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Over my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I went to Valvasor for a business dinner and it was an incredible experience. I only order a Adriatic Seabass cooked in seasalt (which was outstading in freshness and cooked to perfection, keeping the meet tasty and moist).The waiter suggested a few different appetizers for the table and they were marvelous. We ate at least five different dishes, all very weel prepared, in an elegant presentation. Service was perfect and friendly. It is an upscale place, with a chef above average, so be prepared to pay the price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    119
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripponden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, amazing food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

A group of 12 of us ate here whilst entertaining customers on a Monday evening. The restaurant was extremely busy, either due to the conference we were attending being on, or due to the fact that this is a great restaurant and no surprise it was busy.
Due to the restaurant being full we were offered by a very professional and knowledgeable waiter, a choice recommended by the chef or to eat from the menu, explaining that if we ate from the menu we may have to wait a little longer for our food. This wasn't a problem as at least they explained that if we ate from the a la carte menu we may have to wait a little while as all the food was cooked fresh.
As the selection they offered us was so extensive, we were happy with the chef's recommendations.
We ended up with a three course starter which was delicious. Mozzarella with a tomato gazpacho type sauce/thick soup, scallop on polenta, and pasta with pancetta and truffle, with a delicious truffle sauce. Each starter was divine!
The choices of main courses was great and tat was without looking at the menu, rack of lamb, beef, local veal (Slovenian style), John Dory, wild sea bass in a salt crust etc. Our group had all of these dishes, I went for the rack of lamb, with the most amazing jus and their take on Dauphinoise potatoes.
For me, dessert was necessary as I had enough! However our guests opted for desserts and this didn't disappoint either.
There are restaurants that do great food, and restaurants that do great service. This place did both.
Despite the restaurant being full that evening, we had a dedicated waiter to the table who was extremely knowledgeable of the menu and also very attentive to the table. A wine glass was never left empty and the attention he paid to the table was great. He explained every dish we were offered and didn't even have to write anything down. For a table of 12 people he took every order perfectly without a pen and paper.
As a first time visitor to Ljubljana, this was an amazing dining experience and I would definitely love to return Ljubljana, and the first thing I will do is book a reservation to dine here.
Price wise is not cheap, but looking at value for money, then yes. Is worth every penny/euro! Our bill was just under 800 Euro for 12 people including 3 course starter, meal, some desserts and coffee and all drinks inc. 4 bottles of wine, beer and spirits.
I would not hesitate in recommending anyone to eat here. Let's get it to Number 1!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonita springs, fl
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in a city of fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you get to Ljubljana (and you definitely should), don't fail to go to Valvasor, a wonderful, welcoming spot in the old city. The food and service are top-notch; ingredients are locally sourced, so the tastes are incredibly fresh and bright. You'll have the option of dining inside or out--choose the latter because you will not want to miss the street life along one of the city's most interesting pedestrian thoroughfares. Sister restaurant Julia (next door, same owners) is fine, as well, but there is something special about Valvasor that puts it a cut above. And ask for Dan--he's the best waiter in the place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
186 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Great Great....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

A perfect dinner in terrace..... (we arrived late and it was ok to serve us)
Not a catch-tourist like manies in that area
With no direct view to the river but it is why not that crowded and why so good

Bifsteck with truffles was incredible
Pastas for kids also
Slovenian white wines excellent: we started with service by glass, then finally took the bottle... (we follow server's recommandation)
Very Great and attentioned service

Expensive for Slovenia but what a dinner we'll keep in memories
~110 euros for 4 people (inc 35 wine) : no starters but 2 desserts and coffees

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful, inventive food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We tried the chef's tasting menu for dinner. The food was very creative. We were impressed by the use of foams with traditional germanic foods. Best food we had, among a list of strong competitors, in Ljublgana.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valvasor also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Valvasor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valvasor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.