We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for us, maybe not for everyone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel DIC

Save Saved
You added Hostel DIC to your Saves list
Hostel DIC
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel DIC
Poljanska Cesta 26, Ljubljana 1001, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worked for us, maybe not for everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It took a long time to find this dorm on the edge of the university campus because Ljubljana's street names change every few blocks and we did not know we were looking for a dorm. Our foursome stayed in the basement apartment for two nights. It's actually quite nice for a student dorm, the apartment was good and clean, and the staff went out of their way to make us feel important. There is a 24-hour staff desk which is helpful. When I say basement apartment, it was actually nicer than the picture in your head, with large windows along one wall leading out to a garden area. Breakfast is in the dorm cafeteria - okay but not great. There is parking on-site, but you have to be in the right lot. The location is a bit removed from the tourist area, but it's a pleasant twenty minute walk along the river. If you are young or young at heart with flexible standards, this place will work for you. If you don't like hostels or are rather picky, you should go somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you have a choice between the basement apartment and a dorm room, take the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really like Hostel DIC. I stayed there while I was in Ljubljana and I enjoyed it very much. The staff is helpful and jolly, they gonna help you and assist you whenever you need. I liked the location a lot 'cos it is just 5-10 min walk from the city center.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: from the train station or bus terminal it is a 15 min walk. Not easy to locate from the main streets but there a signs that takes you into the university grounds to the building. It is close the city.
customer service: very helpful
cleanness: place was clean and tidy everyday
bathrooms: Dorm of 3 had you share the bathroom for level 1 people which was uni-sex. Only 3 showers and toilets.
Bedroom: No Air con in the room and curtains, so the sun light came in...so no late sleeps.
extras: 1 computers to use as well as WIFI was fast and available most rooms. Kitchen room is small with a fridge and stove and ultensiles.
Noisy: quite,
Breakout area: is in the corridor, small
Suggestions: have a another room for breakout area and have lockers or a safe..

Room Tip: The room had no lockers and it was small with no curtains. People can see inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We are a married couple and stayed at this hostel for 5 nights (on a Monday thru Saturday morning, with reservations). At check-in, we asked for an extra key since we thought we would need separate access to the room since we had different agendas. The clerk went to look for an extra key and came back and said that there wasn't one. We were on an excursion on Wednesday night and came back to the room to find the charger cord to my iPhone missing. We searched through all belongings and found that someone had take my iPod Classic (minus a part that would have made it workable-- he clown who took it has a cord that won't work!). These were the only valuable things left in the room. We had documents, phones, camera and a tablet with us. Our room had always been carefully locked. I think someone has the spare key and can't rule out an inside job. This was reported to the police, who did nothing. There are surveillance cameras and of course, nothing was seen. Of course it wasn't! Doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that someone could have turned off the cameras. I was in the lounge with the computers next door the next evening and saw young guys eyeing the hallway-- they were not quartered there and hurried away when they saw that I was watching them. Another person in the smae hallway also reported an item stolen. Also, there are high glass windows-- lights from the hallway, bathroom and computer lounge stream into the rooms from these windows. So if one needs a totally darkened room in order to sleep, you won't sleep much here! I booked here thinking that some others would also be booked here. Turned out not to be the case. Would have gladly spent a bit extra to get nicer, safer accommodations. Apart from the complaint about these quarters, we found Ljubljana and vicinity to be a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hostel is somewhat still "under construction", nevertheless I had a very good experience there. The price is decent and student-friendly and the location is fantastic -- right at the foot of the Ljubljana castle hill. The hostel itself looks like an old high school converted into a hostel, so there's still a lot of things going on there at the time of this review. Also for this reason, the facility looks "huge" with lots of rooms, corridors, staircases, etc. Rooms, bathrooms are all clean and secure.

Room Tip: Take a walk up the castle on the hill for a breathtaking view of Ljubljana
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Booked a single room on 2nd floor which was absolutely massive and had a fantastic view of sports fields / castle. Hostel itself is a kind of college / school dorm which is used as a hostel during summer so be prepared for that "dorm" look. Staff very helpful, accommodation clean. Breakfast good value. Location pretty central and safe looking surroundings, although a little further outside centre than I was expecting. WIFI all over the place, even in the room which is pretty unusual in budget hostels. Showers clean and had hot water and high pressure. Plenty of showers and toilets so no queuing all the time... Really good value for money - for the same price as a bed in dorm in many European cities I can get a huge room to myself here.. Only problem is there are not so many utensils in the kitchen for cooking with but still enough to get by. If you're looking to meet people or party all the time then possibly not the best choice since it seemed a little quiet here, however not a problem for me. Overall I'd recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Located about 15 minutes from the centre of Ljubljana this hostel is in a good location. The staff were very friendly and the room was of a decent size. The buffet breakfast costs 3.3 euros and is good value for money. The room and bathrooms were relatively clean and wi-fi was available throughout the hostel. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel DIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel DIC

Address: Poljanska Cesta 26, Ljubljana 1001, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Specialty lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel DIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel DIC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.