We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden upstairs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cacao

Cacao
Petkovskovo Nabrezje 3, Ljubljana, Slovenia
014301771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 372 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Pee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden upstairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I wanted just some coffee and wi-fi before my departure, and was lucky to find this place.
It seemed to offer just sweets and coffees, but when a superfriendly handsome waiter suggested that I went upstairs (the staircase is hidden in the furthest end), the place turned out to offer it's interior.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    114
    24
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were in Ljubljana for 3 days and visited every day! The ice cream was delicious and the service very friendly. Lots of different flavours and very generous scoop size. They had a large variety of cakes inside but we didn't try any.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Agree with all comments below. Fabulous choice of ice cream e.g fig and walnut as well as all usually and staff very friendly. Asked for a half and half cone and got hugely generous portions. Worth a daily stop to be sure! Just a few paces from triple bridge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect way to end the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Having been here 3 out of the 5 nights in Ljubljana, I am naturally biased to Cacao. I couldn't rave about the location by the riverside and the delicious ice creams enough. I would urge caution however as the portions are deceptively big and on all occasions, I ordered more than I can eat. It's a perfect way to end a day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great ice cream and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I spent a few weeks in Ljubljana and loved this place. The gelato was delicious and the customer service is great. There are so many flavors to choose from! There is a large air conditioned room upstairs and also outdoor seats along the river. The place is really modern and clean. They even give you free water and are willing to split your bill which is rare! We only wish the would serve Muffin flavor more often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cacao also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.