We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel in a perfect town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Veselova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Veselova to your Saves list
Vila Veselova
Veselova 14, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect hostel in a perfect town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Vila Veselova is a wonderful hostel few minutes away from the city center and from the train station. The area is really beautiful and secure. The hostel is charming with a wonderful staff. Good breakfast and free tea and coffee. Comfortable rooms and nice kitchens for the guests. Everything is kept clean and tidy.
They also offer tours organised by the lovely tour guide Miha, a guy really passionate about his country that makes you enjoy Slovenia even more.
Ljubljana is beautiful and this hostel is great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are honored that you felt so safe and good here - that's what we want to achieve. We also try to do our best to keep the hostel clean. We agree, Miha is outstanding guide, that’s why we have him ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    28
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
25
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgaum, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Vila Veselova is a lovely small hostel in Ljubljana,managed by a lovely lady Vandana;situated in diplomatic area of Ljubljana,it has all homely touch away from home;staff are very helpful and cordial;with nice kitchen;and a breakfast and all the while free tea & coffee it is a home away from home in a real sense;I would love to go again;thanks Vandana-hope to see u soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and come back soon:).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konya, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

vila veselova is one the places that you can stay in ljubljana even more i think they are better than the best their hospitatily was really good. And hostel is the cleanest one I have ever seen. its staff is best as well. It is near city center you can walk everywhere in Ljubljana city center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you very much! We appreciate, that you noticed that we do our best to keep the hostel clean and tidy:)! We also always try to help our guests - to make them feel like they are at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hostel is situated close to a highway, which means that you can hear trucks and cars passing by during the whole night. Furthermore, the private room needs some renovation, as you can see some cracks on the ceiling. Despite that, it is close to the city centre (10 minutes walking), and has a great cost-benefit, with a simple, but nice breakfast. Plus, the staff is great!! They are really helpful with information on the city and they even provided us an umbrella so we wouldn't be bothered by the rain during our visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We also appreciate a positive and constructive crtitque. We just started to paint some of the hostels common areas, the rooms we will paint soon. Othervise, we are glad that you liked your stay here and yes,we try to help, so you can enjoy staying here even if it rains:)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place was defiantly a home away from home. Before I eve arrived they emailed me to confirm arrival etc. I think it is awesome how they run their own little tours on the side with a great tour guide - he knows his stuff!
The rooms were great, loved the privacy that the bunks provided and the lockable drawer. Breakfasts were the best! Staff were awesome too, so friendly and helpful regarding any thing.
Internet was good, bathrooms were clean and tidy also.
Great location - I could go on about this place. I want to return to Ljubljana during the winter and will defiantly be staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for all your compliments. We are honored to see our guests getting the best experience: home away from home. We hope to see you in winter.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Clean, good beds, warm showers, free breakfast, nice ambience. I particularly recommend taking a tour outside the city with miha, who is an outstanding guide and a very nice guy. The town itself is very pretty and easy going.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Owner at Vila Veselova, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are honored that you feel so good here - that's what we want to achieve. It’s true that Miha is outstanding guide, that’s why we have him ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I usually don't write such reviews, but this trip absolutely changed my mind. Firstly, I would like to say THANK YOU SO MUCH guys, who work at hostel! you were so kind, so friendly, always smie, always ready for help! Ursa, Tina, girls thank you!!!)) The Vila Veselova is a very good hostel with everything you need: breakfast, bathroom, clean rooms, comfortable beds and very close to the city center. And of course I couldn't not mention perfect guide Miha. With his help we knew a lot of interesting things about Slovenia, about it's history, culture, traditions, places. Miha, thank you so much!! it was perfect days with you in Slovenia!!)) with Miha we visited Piran, Koper, Bohin and Bled lakes (it is amazing!!!) and many other places. Oh my Good, I want to say soo much about this country, people, food, but I'm afraid it will be a huge story, not review. Finally, I can say only one thing: if you are open minded, want to meet new friends, want to know a lot of new things, so you should stay at this hostel and enjoy every minute of your trip!
P.S.: I know, that you can understand some russian worlds, so мы еще вернемся!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Owner at Vila Veselova, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
THANK YOU FOR ALL!!! We are glad that you enjoyed the ambience and our society. We want that our guests have the experience and not just a place they have visited. Thanks again for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Veselova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Veselova

Address: Veselova 14, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Veselova is located in the diplomatic area of the city, just around the corner from Austrian, German, American and Russian embassies and within a walking distance to the town centre, main sights and other points of interest in Ljubljana. City’s main park is just a stone throw away from the hostel and offers abundance of green area and relaxing walks. Proximity (within 1 km) of the major galleries and museums offer travelers endless opportunities to discover culture and history of the country. Vila Veselova was also the home of one of the famous Slovenian architect Ciril Metod Koch who rose to prominence after the Ljubljana earthquake, when he reconstructed several buildings in the Vienna Secession style. Vila is enriched with over 140 years old decoration representing the soul of Ljubljana- modern but traditionally charming. Ambient offers rest and chill out spots, garden and terrace. We offer spacious 8, 6 and 4 mixed dorm rooms, a double room, one 4-bed apartment and two kitchenettes. Gathering spots, hot drinks, syrups, air conditioning / fans, laundry, ironing, trips around Slovenia, free internet, luggage storage and own parking in the courtyard are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Vila Veselova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Veselova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.