We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the novelty value but all told quite disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Horse

Hot Horse
Celovska 25 | Park Tivoli, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 387 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: American, Hot Dogs, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Quick Bites, Lunch, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hot'Horse is the home of world's first & only original Horseburger, celebrating 20th anniversary! Our goal is to offer new, tasty and high quality horse meat product with high nutritional value that would also be affordable and fresh practically 24 hours a day. Hot'Horse brand has become a concept of quality horse meat burger and has popularized horse meat fast food both in Slovenia and abroad. It's a must-try food for everyone visiting Ljubljana and Slovenia.
derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for the novelty value but all told quite disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I were excited for the chance to go to Hot Horse to try the famous horse burgers. While the concept, the ordering system and the options are good, the end result was rather disappointing. The burger wasn't very tasty and thinner than expected. The buns, salad and sauces are good but the meat was a bit of a let down. I had the wrap and the meat again was quite chewy (and nowhere near as good as horse can be). While I'm glad we went for the novelty value - I think the quality and flavour needs to be improved if it intends to be anything more than a one off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Getting worse by the day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was one of the best burgers in Ljubljana. Now, sadly, it's only average. If you never tried a burger with horse meat, it is still totally worth it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What is a real horse burger?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I've never eaten horse or even thought of having a burger made out of horse me. I'm still unsure if it was horse or not. All I know is, the burger was good! The name of the play is great and the burgers taste even better. They have an awesome set up and the automat makes it fun to create your own little masterpiece of a burger.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Apart from being the most unique fast food place I've ever come across, the burgers as well as the range of selections for condiments were out of this world. I also loved how they had an automated kiosk that you can use to make your own horse meat burger, which I thought was pretty cool for an outdoor fast food joint.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best fast food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Best fast food ever. They use only horse meat. You can choose from a lot of various vegetables and dips. Try meat cheese which is baked fresh with only nacho cheese. Best conbination for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Horse also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Hot Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.