We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds, lockers, good showers and excellent internet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H2ostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added H2ostel to your Saves list
H2ostel
Petkovskovo nabrezje 47, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Hostel Simbol Castle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great beds, lockers, good showers and excellent internet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The good:
-fast internet
-close to everything (castle, city centre, pub, kebab shop)
-really comfy, clean and non-squeaky beds
-lockers in the room
-shower and toilet in the room (6 bed room)
-staff are really nice and helpful

The not so good:
-no internet in the rooms

This is one of the better hostels I've stayed in anywhere in Europe. I'd definitely come back here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
2
20
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Location perfect, situated near the Dragon bridge with a Spar supermarket adjacent, room had a fully operational air con which felt like a luxury item travelling and the wifi had good strength. Arrived late hours of the night to the hostel due to border police delaying the train, a list of how to get to the room and a friendly message was left on the front door of the reception. However, the interior of the hostel felt unfinshed with rooms resembling a construction site at times and the noice of buliding works at early hours of the morning were unbearable to sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Situated right by the river only a 5 minute stroll from the city centre, this hostel was ideally situated. The room we were given was spacious and bright and most importantly had excellent air conditioning. The bathrooms were both just across the hall and provided everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and even lent my girlfriend a towel for free when she realised she'd forgotten hers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It is a place to go with your friends, if you plan just to go around and just sleep and take a shower in the hostel.

is not so bad, but the bathroom was a little sloppy, without maintenance, in general all structure.

The give us sheets, but you need to have your own towel.

They have wireless service.

Have a small kitchen in the room and also a table to eat. It is not bad in general.

Is soo close to the center of the city

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located just a few minutes away from the heart of Ljubljana on the river bank (next to Dragon bridge and market). Parking on the street, almost free for the night .Nice receptionist, very helpful.Our room was in the building next to the reception. Old building under renovation, hostel part at least. Room was mostly renovated (balcony not yet) with new beds. Bathroom just outside the room, clean.Silent aircon. Very convenient to discover all the main sights on foot day and night. Fresh food (clothes, shoes ...) sold on the market, many shops, cafes, restaurants, bars nearby.
Note : towels are not included (bedlinen yes), but the friendly receptionist arranged them in a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porec, Croatia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is hostel has very good location, on the river, very quiet but also just few steps from centre and all the bars and Presern square. The street behind the hostel is one of my favourites - Trubarjeva - nice bars, falafel place and street musicians. I slept there two times, first in a main building, in a private room (bathroom was outside) which was not bad, little bit too hot, but pleasant sleep. The next time we booked a dorm which was in an adjacent building, and even if the bathroom was in the room (sleeps 4-5) and with some kitchen facilities it looked a little bit dirty and worn away. It didn't look safe, like anyone from the street can enter. Some lack of atmosphere, not bad but there are nicer places.

Room Tip: better take a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hostel at 11pm after travelling for 48 hours. We were exhausted and went straight to bed without looking around the room. In the morning, I found a bedbug in the bed. I also noticed that the sheets had old bloodstains on them - they were red sheets so I had to look very closely. There were also many small holes and tears in the sheets. I probably should have said something to the owners when we checked out, but we just wanted to get out of there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H2ostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2ostel

Address: Petkovskovo nabrezje 47, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Hostel Simbol Castle)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your H2ostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H2ostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.