We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not enough toilets and bathrooms!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fluxus Hostel

Fluxus Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fluxus Hostel to your Saves list
Fluxus Hostel
Tomsiceva 4, Ljubljana, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK, but not enough toilets and bathrooms!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights over New Year in the 6 bed dorm room. In reality, the 8 bed dorm room and 6 bed dorm room are pretty much linked so it is like a 14 bed. As far as value goes, we paid 44 Euros each for a DORM bed on New Year which was a rip-off considered we couldn't get any sleep any nights of our stay thanks to the number of people coming and going. There was absolutely no privacy. There are also no lockers in the dorms.

The sole shower for the dorm rooms is connected to the 6-bed part which means that everyone walks through to shower. If everyone takes 10 minutes in the shower and you end up at the end of the queue, you could wait over 2 hours - if only everyone ONLY took 10 minutes.

There was only 1 toilet between 16 people as the "private room" didn't have a toilet either. This is totally inadequate.

We had an issue while we were there with a group of Italians kicking a ball around the rooms, being very noisy and even leaving pornographic images on the shared computer. We informed reception and they apologised to us. However, because reception hours are sporadic (at best) the only way they could contact the Italians was via a hand-written note which didn't solve anything. If hostels insist on allowing large groups who think they can take over the hostel then they need 24-hour reception to monitor them.

Apart from that, the hostel is generally clean and the staff were as helpful as circumstances allowed them to be. The location is great though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We've stayed in about 30 hostels and this one is the WORST. There was no hot water, but when we complained, the owner insisted it was a small problem and refused to refund the 2nd night, even though we only stayed for 1 night. And he said hostels are for young people who should not mind the water heater breaking down, which was just a machine's problem. He clearly did not understand the concept of customer service. He even said many hostels in Europe don't provide hot water, which is completely ridiculous - this is year 2010, not 1910! And to make things worse, he made rude racial remarks against us, saying that there are worse hostels in China and we Chinese should know better.

So, fellow travelers, if you still want to book this hostel, make sure you're not Chinese, don't complain to the owner no matter what, and don't book the private room which doesn't have its own WC.

The only good thing about this hostel is Vanja the manager, who's very nice and hardworking. But I pity her for working under such an unreasonable man!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Fluxus hostel is a great choice if you want to stay a few days in the capital city of Slovenia. We chose the in-suite room for 2 people, which is colorful and tidy, although a bit small. We had a personal shower, but toilets are shared with the other people (there are two other rooms, for 6 and 8 people). Gentle personnel, central location. Definitely recommend it

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The staff were really friendly and knew lots of hidden spots to go to. The hostel was clean, modern and had amazing local decorations. The best hostel ever

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed in the double room, which was really nice, very modern, cosy and brightly coloured, probably the nicest room I've stayed in. The only bad point was that although it said en-suite, there wasn't a toilet, had to go out through the kitchen into the hall to use the shared toilet. Also, the shower was slightly weird as there was a shared light/ceiling with the bathroom next door meaning that you could hear other people and that the light could get switched off while you were still in the shower.
Apart from that, the location was really good, and the people who worked there were very friendly. There was also a portable dvd player in the room and dvds in the kitchen to watch. The kitchen was really nice and modern/bright, although the room did basically lead out into the kitchen which was a bit annoying as when there were people in the kitchen talking or watching tv you could hear them quite loudly, however this didn't seem to be a problem at night while we were there, and the whole place was generally really quiet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I have just returned from my trip to Slovenia and had a wonderful stay at the Fluxus Hostel. I have initally planned on staying in a hotel in Ljubljana but was so glad that a friend suggested that I try out the hip hostels there instead. Fluxus was the cleanest and most tastefully decorated hostel I had ever stayed in with so much attention to detail being put in the bedding, furnishings, colour schemes, plants etc. The rooms were large, spacious and not over crowded with beds. The location was perfect, right in the centre of town, less than a five minute walk to the three bridges. There was also a sandwich shop/bakery below the hostel so it was convenient to grab breakfast there every morning. The owner of the hostel was very hospitable and even suggested places to visit around Slovenia. I was travelling alone and it was great having the hosts welcome me back to the hostel every evening. They even lent me a Slovenia guidebook and small trolley bag to travel around for a days. It was not just a bed in a foreign country but more of a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Fluxus is a small homely hostel with located in central Ljubliana, a short walk from the old town. We stayed in the double room. Like the girl below, I was dissapointed to find that despite booking an ensuite room, the toilet was shared. We did have an ensuite shower and sink which shared a light with the dorm shower room, but this didn't bother us.

In spite of that, I have given the hostel a high rating because I loved the character of the hostel. All of the staff were just brilliant and it felt like we were staying in a friend's house. The decor was warm and funky.

There was a nice kitchen, t.v. with lots of channels and a large selection of DVD's. The double room also has a portable dvd player. There is a computer with free internet access. It is right next door to an Illy Kiosk, where we got breakfast most mornings. I would especially recommend this hostel to solo travellers as you definitely wouldn't feel lonely here!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#6 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#21 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#9 of 55 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fluxus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fluxus Hostel

Address: Tomsiceva 4, Ljubljana, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fluxus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fluxus Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.