We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Restaurant Miklic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Restaurant Miklic to your Saves list
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vitranska 13, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Miklic is a pretty hotel in a quiet location. Our room was very spacious with a dining area, living room area, and upstairs bedrooms. It was very clean and we had a balcony with flowers. The wi-fi was free but we had to be very close to source for it to work. The restaurant was attractive and the food was excellent. The service in the restaurant and hotel were great. My plans were changed when I was injured on a hiking trek and had to return unexpectedly to this hotel after leaving the hospital. They heard of my misfortune and arranged the same room. They stayed open late to accommodate my very late arrival from the ER. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and concerned. The location is only a bit away from city center and is not a problem as the town is so small. In fact, it is a very quiet, pleasant location. I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
193 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent a couple of nights at Hotel Miklic during a recent visit to Slovenia. It's easy to see why it's so highly rated among Kranjska Gora hotels, and it was probably the best place we stayed in all of Slovenia.

The hotel rooms are spacious and well-appointed. Everything is very well kept and feels practically new. In addition to the usual bed and nightstands there was a sitting area with a coffee table, sofa, and a fairly large flat screen TV. The bathroom was also quite spacious and included both a shower stall and a jetted tub. The hotel's location is quiet at night, and you can walk wherever you need to go (Kranjska Gora is tiny). If the day is clear the views out your window or door are pretty impressive, too.

As others have mentioned, the restaurant at this hotel is quite good and is well-known among the locals. We had a half-board package, so both breakfast and dinner were included in our stay. Both were among the best meals we encountered in Slovenia. Dinner was an especially good four-course meal, with too many enticing options to choose from. I strongly recommend the onion soup, but you can't really go wrong here. The breakfast offerings were typical of Slovenia (breads, meat, cheese, fruit, cereal, juice, eggs), but of a better quality than we found elsewhere.

The service was especially good here and, again, some of the best we experienced anywhere in Slovenia. The first night we stayed here the gentleman who checked us in was also our waiter at dinner, and was one of the most professional and pleasant waiters I've ever seen anywhere. That may be an odd comment to make, but he was so good that it really stuck with us and we were still talking about it the next day.

Why only four stars? I had to ding them a little for a couple of things: First, there is free wi-fi, but the signal is only strong enough to pick up in the lobby (this was strangely common in Slovenia). They have a comfortable sitting area in the lobby, but I still would have preferred to use it from my room. Second, the shower stall didn't have any sort of shelf or ledge for storing soap, shampoo, etc., which just felt like a strange oversight. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, the mattresses were below average, which was again strange given how well the rooms were otherwise appointed. Overall I thought the strengths outweighed the weaknesses and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My new husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during the second part of our honeymoon. We loved the hotel, our room had a sitting room area with tv and the bedroom had comfortable beds. The balcony had lovely views of the mountains. The room was cleaned daily and we had fresh towels every day. We opted for the half board package and the food was delicious! Lovely breakfasts with plenty of choice and the evening meals were extremely good. The staff all spoke several languages and were friendly and welcoming and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Miklic, our room was very clean and spacious, nicely decorated and could not have been better located. We only had beakfast which was always well prepared with plenty on offer.

The staff were excellent, the standard of English was very good and the help and advice they gave about the local area made the time spent in Kranjsa Gora even better, we told Gregor what we were looking for and his advice was excellent.

The location itself is simply breathtaking, surrounded by mountains with many walks and cycle paths, I would reccomend Hotel Miklic to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed for three nights at this family run inn and everything was great. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had a great view of the mountains from our balcony and the food for both breakfast and dinner was very good. The hotel is a short walk from the village center on a quiet side street.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, KENT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in July, and could not fault the service, or the hotel. We had the package with the evening meal included, which was plentiful, and the food was very well done- and there was a good choice.

Our room was huge, with a sofa, table and chairs as well as twin beds (room 7), with a beautiful view from the back balcony.

The only thing we would say is that the breakfast is rather basic, but only if compared to English breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Our second visit to Hotel Miklic was just as good as the first. We were a little late arriving and Gregor genuinely appeared to be pleased to see us. We were made so welcome and not allowed to carry any bags up to our rooms. We had 2 double rooms next to each other in a part of the hotel that could have been closed off to make a suite. One of the rooms was double with bathroom - ours had a bedroom, bathroom and lounge area with a door opening onto a large balcony with mountain views. The rooms were well decorated and extremely clean.
The dining room is lovely and bright and the food is excellent value with a very good choice.
The staff really try to speak English and communication is easy. Unfortunately we only had 1 night stay this time as we were touring.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#5 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Kranjska Gora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Klass
Suite Hotel Klass
#6 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#9 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Miklic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Miklic

Address: Vitranska 13, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#2 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Restaurant Miklic 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Miklic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miklic Hotel Kranjska Gora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Restaurant Miklic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.