We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in Kranjska Gora?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borovska 99, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Larix)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Kranj
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“best in Kranjska Gora?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Went there in winter 2013, stayed for one week in senior suite.Perfect location, on ski slopes.
Waitors-some of them, with no attitude towards guests and to work.Variety of food is just ok.
We preferred staying in lobby bar, close to fire place in the evennings.
The equipment of rooms is pretty old and should be rennovatet asap.
Otherwise stay away from Kranjska when there are winter vacations for Ljubljana's children, too crowded, you will not be able to ski.

Room Tip: senior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aida k, Manager at Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Aleš A.

thank you for writing about Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora on Tripadvisor.

I agree with some of these suggestions and for the other we´ll try to improve.

Best regards from me & my team of the Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora.

Aida Kadic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    65
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
48
42
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent our fifth ski holiday here. It has to be said conditions were far from ideal,however this hotel has the best position in the village for the slopes.Do pay the extra for a mountain view room ,its worth every penny. All staff are kind and pleasant. The food has been excellent ,the Friday evening Slovenian feast was superb. John and Diane Yarwell,Northants

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aida k, Manager at Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Yarwell,

I would like to thank you for beliving in us and coming back to Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora for all of this years. It means a lot to us.

We appreciate that you choose to spend your holidays at Ramada Resort.

Best regards from my self and my team,

Aida Kadić
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed at the hotel larix for one week on a half board basis. The hotel is located directly on the slopes (if there is snow) and right in the main area of the village. It is close to the supermarket, bars, restaurants, ski school and equipment hire. This i'd say is the best thing about the hotel. The room we booked was a mountain facing one with balcony. The room was basic but had a mini bar(not cheap, but room to put your own drinks from the supermarket in for 1/4 of the price) a safe, tv, hanging space etc. the beds were not comfortable, it was two singles pushed together with thin mattresses that were in sunken frames. Every time you moved or sat on the bed you'd whack yourself on the frame. The pillow was a thin flimsy useless thing and there was not spares in the room. The heating was very good, room was always warm. The shower was nearly amazing, the pressure and heat was excellent but the cubicle was tiny. Every time you moved while washing your hair you'd hit your arms of the screen or the tap so it'd either go off, freezing or scolding. There was soap, shampoo and fresh towels provided. The room was made up daily and bins emptied but empty glasses were never removed from the room all week. Breakfast had a much better choice than dinner, lots of cereals, pastries, hot options etc. Dinner usually had one fish option, one pasta option, two meat options and sides. All options were plain, no sauces so you could add your own, probably good for the fussier eater. All soft drinks were only 250ml options but priced the same a regular 500ml everywhere else. Coke was €2.50, lager was €4.00, coffee€2.20. In the supermarket the coke was 0.42€ and 500ml lager was €0.99. The pool was ok, very busy all the time, the jacuzzi was full of kids every time I was there and the sauna was €13 for 3 hrs even for quests which I thought was a bit much. The bar/lounge area was very small, so after dinner if you wanted to sit and have a drink this wasn't really an option in the hotel. There was lots of families staying at the hotel but once the pool closed there was nothing for the kids to do so it made the place noisey as the kids were running up and down the halls to entertain themselves. This was no fault of there's but as the hotel in not very sound proof it proved annoying on the nights we were trying to sleep after a long day as this sometimes went on until the early hrs. The service was very hit or miss - sometimes no one would take your drink order during dinner, pints would be served half full, it just seemed like they couldn't be bothered and you were inconveniencing them - something you should not feel when you are on holiday, paying to stay in the hotel. The hotel runs a shuttle bus to other ski resorts which we used once due to the poor snow conditions in kranjska gora. When we were returning to get the bus back, the gondolas stopped, it'd looked like they were taking a casualty down the mountain. So we were about 3/4 mins late, the bus left had without us, even when other passengers said we were on our way so we were stuck in Italy. The hotel were not much help when we eventually were able to contact them and would not discuss the situation with our reps. There is lockers available for a €5 deposit. We booked this hotel despite it being the most expensive option we had, I would not recommend it. The area is very small so there is not much distance between the slopes and any other of the hotels. If you want slope side and a pool then come here. If you want good food, service, comfort then don't.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, this way you won't hear people in the rooms above you or the noise from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aida k, Manager at Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you for writing your memories of your holidays in Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora.

I recommend that when some unpleasant things happen in the hotel, please contact the hotel staff, becouse we are always in the hotel ready to help you.

Your report will certainly affect on us to improve our service.

Best regards from the staff of Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora,

Aida Kadić
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Conveniently located just in front of skislopes of Kranjska Gora, Larix hotel is a good very good deal. Free access in wellness center in included in rates and it is a good way to relax after a day on ski. Halfboard is OK, and the buffet for dinner and breakfast offers a huge variety of dishes and beverages. Staff is very kind and the atmosphere is super!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aida k, Manager at Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment about the hotel Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora and look forward to your return visits.

Best regards,

Aida Kadič
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The town of Kranjska Gora is a very small place with lots of walks that lead from the valley of the town. Great place for hiring bikes with a brilliant bike trail that you can ride into Italy on. The hotel is well placed with easy access and good leisure facilities. Rooms at rear of hotel with views across the mountains are in my view better that the ones overlooking the car park at the front. If you visit towards the end of the season places do tend to close down, and only one ski lift is open on Fri, Sat & Sunday. Wouldn't hesitate staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of complex overlooking mountains are quieter that those overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aida k, Manager at Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for you kind words.

Best regards

Aida Kadic
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel is older but well maintained. Kranjska Gora is small village and we didn't find better hotel there. Hotel has prefect location for hikers and bikers.Food was reasonable with local flavor but boring after week.
Hotel staff is helpful and English speaking. We recommend rooms with view on the ski slopes. Part of the hotel is above average spa for afternoon relaxation. Every room is not very spacious but has a large balcony.
We spent there week on bike and it was great because local old railway was converted to biking path which is going just front of hotel. There are other biker's paths connected to this old railway and connected to extended network in Italy and Austria.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain view are the best, winter or summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice hotel. Excellent location right at the bottom of the ski slope. Great buffet breakfast. Buffet evening meal gets a little boring after a week.
Rooms quiet. We had a room "without a view" but could see the piste from our window. Certainly worth remembering as they are cheaper.
Staff helpful although some dining room staff could do with some more training in customer relations.
Rooms have a mini fridge but no coffee or tea making facilities.

Room Tip: See the room without a view in my main description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora

Address: Borovska 99, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Larix)
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the bottom of a ski slope, which is the starting point for all the Kranjska Gora trails, you will find Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora, totally renovated two years ago. Its nicely furnished rooms with their view of the slopes are a promise of a cosy and beautiful holiday, whereas bathing in the water park offering a panoramic view of the surrounding snow-covered slopes is an unforgettable experience, especially in winter.The hotel is only 100 metres away from the centre of Kranjska Gora and its 118 four-star rooms provide everything you need for a relaxing break (shower/ WC, cable TV and radio, mini bar, direct phone line). The beds can be separate and most rooms have a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larix Hotel Kranjska Gora
Hotel Larix
Larix Kranjska Gora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.