We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borovska 99, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Larix)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We had a lovely time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Larix is a very comfortable, clean and hospitable hotel. The rooms have wonderful views of the mountains if you remember to book a mountain view. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.
The meals are good if you like buffet style. There is plenty to choose from and as well as a3 or 4 types of meat there is always fish and a veggie option available.The ingredients were good apart from the orange juice, but the wines were priced on the high side considering a good wine in the supermarket was 2.50. It was noticeable that few if any were drinking in the bar which also priced their drinks at 2 or 3 times what other bars in the town did. They would make much more profit if they were competitive.
The swimming pool complex was great with large warm lovely pools that were kept very clean. They were a little difficult to access.
Overall the Larix is a perfect place to stay for walkers, surrounded by some of the best alpine scenery I have seen and central to miles and miles of beautiful walks. It seems quite old fashioned and quiet and is like Austria 30 years ago before it became overrun with tourists in the summer. It is also a lot cheaper. If you want a hotel to relax in after a long hike then the Larix is for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    57
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
41
38
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Great location in the centre of Kranjska Gora, literally a minutes walk from the shops, bar and ski slopes.
I stayed during the summer and it was an ideal base for walking and cycling. For the slightly less adventurous, the hotel organise group walks
Room was clean and decent size (although the bathroom was a bit small) Good size balcony overlooking the village or slopes. Free internet using a cable which is picked up at reception. Room contained a safe and a mini bar with just enough room to squeeze your own drinks in to!
Plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. Quality was fairly good for a buffet style although thecoffee was Nescafe from a machine and the wine choice was disappointing given the fine wine Slovenia produces.
Swimming pool is very modern and of a decent size with enough gimmicks to stop you getting bored and a fantastic view of the slopes although it did get very busy when I went at around 4pm
Cozy bar/lounge area with open fire which I imagine would be lovely in winter. All drinks from the bar and restaurant are charged to your room using a room-card. Saves having to worry about carrying cash. Balance is paid on check-out
Staff very friendly and helpful. After around 11pm there were no problems with noise. All in all a good experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff. Hotel good and rooms fine. We had a balcony overlooking village. Great location for walking and cycling. Good cycle paths take you into Italy and Austria. You get a reduction on cycle hire if you book it through hotel.
Food good at hotel....lots of choice both for breakfast and evening meal. Lots of places to eat and drink in Kranjska Gora if you want a change. Hotel Spa and pool very good. Didn't use it much, however, as there was so much to do!
Bus stop a few minutes away. Buses to lots of other locations. Good detailed timetables on bus shelter.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is its position. You can literally go from your room to ski slopes. You can not beat the location. It was so relaxing to go directly from hotel to slopes. It is also great for ski school attenders, although the meeting point is also there. Great if you have small kid! The food was very nice, not excellent, although sometimes we missed some taste, but generally very nice with good varity. The rooms are nice with good TV and very good bathroom, obviously recently refurbished, but the room might be a bit bigger for a 4* hotel. Also the beds are a little bit narrow for this hotel level, although not uncomfortable. Maybe we are a little too big:-) The service was mainly great, especially the cleaners and the service in a restaurant - very kind people. Reception staff was generally nice, but from time to time a bit disinterested, as well as the young staff working during the day in outside ski bar. What this hotel miss, to be the perfect destination for families with children, is some kind of children's play room. They improvised some at the lobby of the 3th floor, but that wasn't that great and no choice of toys. That's why I rate this hotel very good, not excellent. Everything else was mainly great. We'll be back here, if we come back to Kranjska Gora. Definatelly the place to stay there!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hailsham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

just returned from ski holiday and was pleasently surprised with this hotel. Having read numerous reviews saying food was poor and hotel noisy we were really pleased with the whole package. Bearing in mind what you are paying compared with other ski resorts we found this to be great value and an ideal location for families and ski beginners. The food was good with different choices of meat and fish dishes each night and different kids food each day. Breakfasts were the same each day ( what big hotel is not?) but never the less lots of choice. Rooms were clean but did lack a bath and tea making facilities, we had room with great view of the slopes. Looking at other hotels the Larix is the best placed in the town as is right at the bottom of the slopes and you can literally ski to the hotel back door. Quite a few children ar resort but we went at half term so was to be expected. Boot room was downstairs, bit of a pain but soon got used to going up steps in ski boots and compensated by the fact that there was no walk to slopes as right outside of door. Friendly helpful ski instructors, snow machines, helpful staff in hotel.
Lovely pool and jacuzzi looking out on slopes but busy between 4-6pm when slopes closed for maintanance.
would recommend the husky riding although quite pricey but excellent fun.
all in all a great resort for families and beginners but perhaps not for more advanced skiers although there were some black runs (not that i was ready for them!)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Just got back from a fantastic skiing holiday in Kranjska Gora staying at the Larix Hotel. I had read a few bad reviews about the Larix on Trip Advisor so was not expecting much but how wrong could I be. I found the hotel to be very comfortable with modern furnishings, lovely log fire and very clean. The location is superb, right next to slopes and across the road from the shops and bars. We had a room overlooking the front road but never found it too noisy. The only small complaint we had was one of the bedrooms did smell of tobacco smoke but we were offered another room with no trouble. The bathroom in our room was slightly on the smaller side with not a lot of space to put toiletries but super shower and loads of hot water. The food was excellent and there was always something really good on the menu. We are definitely going to book this hotel again in December. We have previously skied in France, Italy and Andorra but found this resort so friendly and accesable although for hard core skiers there is not enough kilometres.

If anyone is thinking of having ski lessons I can recommend the Kekec ski school which is located next to the 4 man chairlift outside the Larix. Ask for Roc, he is the best teacher I have ever had and has got me skiing from snowplough turns to carving on red runs in 4 hours. He has the most lovely manner, very calming and easy to understand his instruction. You can hire equipment from here too and they also have a snack bar next door.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Initially the 3 of us were placed in a tiny room, overlooking the pub with the late bar. The helpful desk manager spontaneously knocked on our door and offered us a larger room. This was an improvement, but reeked of smoke. The desk manager promised a better room for us which would be the following day and was as good as his word.

The evening meal was a shocker, not helped by the refusal to offer us non-bottled water (in spite of the potable tap water, provided for by the considerable annual rainfall). There was no wine list, although we were assured that the wine was "very nice". The food was poor (and I have to say that I am accustomed to e. European food). I slept badly due to the pub and looked forward to breakfast, which is difficult to get wrong!

Oh dear! Powdered coffee from a machine and none of that nice crusty baguette/semmel that we so like. Really undercooked bacon every day and gristly sausages. The fried eggs were ok. Did I mention the coffee? It was awful! Dining room staff were sparse and a tad brusque, but that may be due to being under staffed.

Our new room was a great improvement, but still overlooked the pub and it's vociferous patrons!

4 stars? Absolutely not (no end of minibars pools, dressing gowns and slippers can turn this into a 4 star!) Get some coffee beans and do a deal with the local baker, please! The it might be 3 stars. Perhaps standards are higher for the winter season? Who knows? I'll not be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora

Address: Borovska 99, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Larix)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the bottom of a ski slope, which is the starting point for all the Kranjska Gora trails, you will find Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora, totally renovated two years ago. Its nicely furnished rooms with their view of the slopes are a promise of a cosy and beautiful holiday, whereas bathing in the water park offering a panoramic view of the surrounding snow-covered slopes is an unforgettable experience, especially in winter.The hotel is only 100 metres away from the centre of Kranjska Gora and its 118 four-star rooms provide everything you need for a relaxing break (shower/ WC, cable TV and radio, mini bar, direct phone line). The beds can be separate and most rooms have a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larix Hotel Kranjska Gora
Hotel Larix
Larix Kranjska Gora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.