We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ski Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lek to your Saves list
Hotel Lek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vrsiska 38, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Ski Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our families first ski trip, I would definitely recommend Slovenia and the hotel Lek, ski instructors at inter sport Bernick were fantastic very good with my boys age 7 and 9 even with me and my wife first time adults lol. The hotel was less than 5 mins from ski school when you found the short cut ask the reps! We travelled with Crystal who were fantastic we booked full package so everything was included we even booked a huskey dog trip which was also a fantastic experience.

The hotel was excellent very clean with rooms fine for a week, food and drink were great, both breakfast and dinner, something for everyone. One thing we found great was the pool as the pistes close at 4pm and dinner is not till 7pm so the pool is great to keep the kids entertained and the whirlpool bath is great for the parents aching muscles lol.

If I was to have one minor issue it would be the fact that dinner starts at 7 finishing at 9 meaning night skiing is difficult as the lifts are open 7-10, we done it once but to squeeze in dinner and skiing by the time you change etc is very tight, especially with the children, it would be great if dinner started at 6 as 7 is also quite late with families with tired smaller children.

We loved it that much, learnt so much have rebooked same hotel for the 21st Feb in 2015 - cant wait!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    82
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
64
91
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great hotel to stay at, food is good and plenty of it. Staff are always happy, friendly and willing to help. The whole town is great value and certainly worth a visit. Rooms in the hotel are spacious, very clean, and the pool is awesome, warm and clean - something you don't often see in the UK.

Will certainly be returning

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed with Crystal and had a 5* Holiday at a 2* price. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff very friendly. There is a leisure club with two pools, which is again very clean. During the ski season the pool gets quite busy around 5pm with families. The food is very good and all local fare, so if you're looking for fish and chips or chicken nuggets for the kids forget it. Dinner is a little late if you've got a young family who have been skiing all day - the kids were usually famished by dinner time.

The rooms are clean and well presented. The only negative points are that the third bed is a bed settee and the mattress was quite hard. The shower in the room came out in a high velocity fine spray that seemed to sting and my daughter found it too uncomfortable to shower, but she was quite happy using the shower at the pool.

These are minor points, and providing you are a "When in Rome..." type person it is not far off perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Definitely a good place to stay. We stayed here for our 1st family ski holiday - with a 6 and 3 year old plus a 6 week old baby. The hotel staff were accommodating and very friendly always making a fuss of the children. As a family though be aware dinner is served from 7pm to 9pm, so we found nibbles were necessary to keep ours going. Pushchairs aren't allowed in the dining room, this wasn't a problem as we had a detachable carry cot which our baby lay in whilst we ate. It is more of a 10 minute walk to the slopes with children in tow but ours mainly found it fine, although the occasional up on shoulders was needed for our 3 year old. We had 2 separate rooms next to each other which worked well as we brought a monitor so could put kids down and sit. Food was very good, always plenty of choice and always something the children would eat, though more choice of cereal would have helped our fussy breakfast eater!! The drinks were very reasonably priced and a great selection for the whole family which was a relief since we found ourselves in the coffee room in the afternoon every day. The kids club with Franja was excellent, she had a variety of different activities planned and toys out if the kids didn't want to join in - though ours loved everything they did! The swimming pool facilities were very good, with something for everyone and we were in everyday. Overall a brilliant stay and we would definitely return ourselves and recommend to other families.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Another stay at the Lek for our two daughters (8 & 4), my wife and myself. Booked again through thomson.
Staff were helpfull and friendly and I cannot really find any fault with anything that the hotel provided.
My only small concern was that when we booked we were given 50 euro credit for my wife and myself to spend at the hotel during our weeks stay, but what was not clear from the start was that it was only for use during dinner and only food and hot drinks at the bar could be booked to it, this resulted in us having approx 40 euros left that we didn't spend but a 30 something euro bill to pay!.

Allways hot in the hotel so you will need to adjust the thermostate and open the windows and allways loads of hot water.

We are looking to book again for next season and will have no problems in returning to this Hotel.

We stayed her from 22.02.2014 to 01.03.2014 and had fabulous conditions with loads of snow and bright blue sky!!

Room Tip: We had one of the large family rooms and it was perfect for us with one bed that was massive and a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Lek for a weeks skiing holiday. Keeping our expenditure to the minimum we choose eaves rooms for ourselves and our family. Although they did have a limited view, we found these rooms spacious and comfortable, finished to a good standard and with good facilities.
As our daughter in law found that she was pregnant after we had booked, we contacted the hotel to see if she and our son could have an upgrade as she was not able to ski with us. The hotel relocated them in a really lovely room. It was even bigger than ours and had a comfortable, double sofa-bed, which would make it suitable for a small family. The best extra in their room was a large balcony overlooking the mountains. We very much appreciated this kind response to our request.
The hotel is a lovely quiet location, it has a beautiful river opposite and a lake 20 minutes walk away, but is only about 5 minutes walk from the village centre and the pistes.
There was a good variety of food in the restaurant, and service was efficient and very friendly. Snacks and drinks are available and prices reasonable. We would definitely return!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was out first snow holiday. We decided on the hotel lek as we heard good things about the hotel. We had a long journey to get to here from Salzburg and arrived late at night but they still had some good waiting for us which was very good same when we left early the following week. We really loved the hotel location was perfect don't know where some reviewers were going saying it was out of the town it's a min 5 min stroll away.

Room was perfect we went with a balcony room perfect size.
Rooms very warm had to keep door open most nights but didn't bother us. Hotel had the best channels on the tv we have ever seen was great when you were tired and just wanted to relax.
Hotel has free wifi which we found very fast.

Staff especially were the most helpful staff we had ever seen.

Our only fault was the food. Although what was there was lovely not enough selection. Don't like the staff serving it to you they either gave too much or not enough. Mornings ESP was annoying if you wanted any more of eggs they cooked them for you. It took me 5 mins one morning to get the attention of one of them 3 of them were having a chat in the kitchen.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lek

Address: Vrsiska 38, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lek 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek Hotel Kranjska Gora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.