We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, friendly hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lek to your Saves list
Hotel Lek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vrsiska 38, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just finishing a week's stay as part of a Crystal Ski package. The Hotel Lek is excellent in every way. We have been made to feel very welcome, the facilities (swimming pool, fitness room, sauna) are great, breakfast and evening meals are varied, well cooked and tasty! We were also upgraded as other Crystal guests appear to have been. Our room is large and warm with cable TV (about 40 channels including Eurosport 2), the bed is big and comfortable and the ensuite bathroom is fab with all the little luxury bottles! There is a minibar but we have tried not to use it. A selection of "special" alcoholic drinks is available in the restaurant every evening at very reasonable prices. We would highly recommend the Lek Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    73
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
57
82
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I went with another couple for New Year and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is extremely comfortable, warm and clean. Our room was the full access room and was huge so we were quite lucky. Our friends' room was not too small even though it was advertised as an eaves room.

We stayed on half board and there was a wide variety of food available, buffet style. Breakfast included continental and cooked and there was plenty of fruit, hot drinks, pastries and meats to choose from. Evening meal offered three courses and we counted around six different hot options each night, let alone the cakes and ice-cream for dessert! (If we hadn't been skiing, we'd have been our own excess baggage!) We were impressed with the effort that the hotel went to on New Year's Eve. They put on a gala dinner - 7 courses and music and we enjoyed a most entertaining evening. We all received jars of honey as gifts and a bottle of champagne per couple which we thought was very generous. We had a few drinks in the bar but this hotel is so close to the village centre where prices are cheaper so we often went out.

Although we booked through Crystal Ski (via Igluski) we chose not to take their package after researching on tripadvisor as to the best ski school in this area. We signed up at the SkiSchool.Si and were not disappointed. The equipment was of a good standard, we were given this quickly and despite signing up for group lessons (I'm Intermediate, my friend was beginner) we ended up with 1:1 lessons for the same price due to everyone else learning in big groups with Crystal!! We did get our passes through Crystal to avoid queuing up - they do this for you. It is only located about 5min walk from the hotel, but do look for the back door from the locker room and head through the back of town up the Alpine as it's an easier walk.

We were really impressed with the value for money and comfort that this hotel offered and very much enjoyed the whirlpool in the pool area at the end of each day to relax. (We didn't go in the Sauna)The hotel offers free wifi throughout and has ski lockers in the basement which is useful.Everyone on reception was incredibly helpful and even though we had a late arrival and departed before breakfast, they laid on platters of food for our arrival and packed a breakfast bag to take on the coach return.
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel but make sure you look for the deals as the rack rates are quite high.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked this via Crystal. A bit concerned as to the reviews, we upgraded to a larger room with balcony.
The week was just perfect! The check in was smooth, the room was facing the road and mountains, had a lovely balcony and big windows. The room was clean, comfy and warm. Infact we did sleep every night with the balcony door ajar so that we could get all that fresh mountain air in our lungs. It was quiet, no loud noises and as it was over xmas, i pitied the people who were staying near to the church as we could hear the bells on xmas day and they were loud and we must have been about 500 mtrs away. Any one staying near the church must have had no sleep that night!
The bathroom was warm and plenty of hot water for each of us to have a long hot bath after a day on the slopes. We decided to leave our skis at the hotel larix for a charge of 25Euros - a bit steep but we were too lazy to carry them. its not far and if there was snow on the ground the majority of the distance is skiable but we had little snow so we used the larix.
Food and service at the hotel lek was great for the price that we paid. Plenty of choice and we had a lovely table near the window so that we could really appreciate the views.
We used the swimming pool once. My partner suffered from a cold afterwards but I think that was more about a cold going around than the pool itself. They hydro pool was great for relaxing the muscles and the main pool was not too busy to do a few lengths.
All in all a really nice, friendly hotel and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: we had a front room facing the road and river - 1st floor over the main breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this skiing holiday through thomson's last feb for my wife two daughters (6 and 3) and myself and traveled with friends so there was seven of us in total. Having read some of the reviews on here about the rooms we were a little apprehensive about how ours would be and when I noticed that our room description on our first invoice said "Family Room" and on our final comfirmation letter which arrived in November it had changed to "Small Family Room". I enquired with First Choice who we had booked with and they checked and discovered that the rooms available had changed mid way through the year so instead of the double bed pull down double and single sofa bed which we had booked we were now being put into a room with twin beds and two single sofa beds, in fairness to the staff at first choice they kept me informed and told me that we would in fact have the larger room that we had booked, I wonder if I hadn't noticed would they have put us into the small room?
We took off bang on time from Bristol and thanks to a tail wind arrived 30 mins early in Salzburg. When we reported to the Crystal rep they had no record of us and what bus we should be on for our transfer, We went to their desk in the arrivals hall and were told that the bus was not yet there and could we come back in 30mins. Fair enough we all thought as we did arrive early. we had a hot chocolate and looked around the shops and returned to be told our bus was waiting for us and we could now go and get on it. When we got to the bus we were told that due to fog in Innsbruck airport 12 additional flights had been transfered to Salzburg and this had caused some problems with the scheduled flights and we should be on our way as soon as possible, TWO HOURS later we finally got on our way for the 3 1/2 hour transfer. Talking to some of the passengers that got on the bus last they had also been told to go and have a coffee when we were obviously allready waiting on the bus for them, I think the crystal reps had got very confused with the extra customers that were arriving and did not really know who was on what bus.
We had a 30min stop half way through the transfer and had some drinks and a toilet break and finally arrived at the hotel at approx 11pm. The welcome that we recieved when we arrived was great with a cold platter left out as the restaurant was closed.There was no need to be worried about the room it was a lovely sized room with a bath and shower and great views of the mountains and very comfortable beds which were now much needed after a long day.

We were told by our rep on the transfer that we had to go to another hotel in the morning for 08:30 to collect our lift passes and vouchers for the ski hire!!!! then a welcome meeting at 09:30 which was very informative and not the usual excuse to try and sell you some of the trips!

Now we start to have some problems! we are not taken to the hire shop as we had been told but just told where it was and to go and get our gear, we found the shop and of course so had every other customer that had arrived the night before, the result was just shear mayhem and there were boots and ski's everywhere and only limited space for you to sit down and try your gear on! From there we had to get to the slopes and the meeting point for my wife's and 6 year old to have their first lesson at 12 midday, was any rep their to show us where the easiest way to the slopes was NO! so carrying three sets of skis and boots we walked up the wrong street only to have to retrace our steps and ask for directions which in fairness when you knew the way it was only a five minute walk.
Lessons began and I had my 3 year old, a bag and my own ski gear and tried to find where the ski lockers on the slopes were located, problem number two. two different crystal reps telling me two totally different places resulting in me and my daughter walking back and fourth across the bottom of the slopes for about an hour. First impressions were what a wonderfull place but our first experience could have spoilt the whole trip as if I'm honest after what was a very disorganised first morning we were ready to pack up and come home! Why do crystal not stagger peoples time to collect their gear so there is not one mad rush and actually acompany there customers as was promised! If we had been shown and given some help the first impressions of the holiday would have been much better.
Once you knew where you were going the resort and facilities are great and we had an amazing time!
The food, Accomodation, pool and staff at the hotel lek are great and i think some of the previous reviews may have exagerated some of their problems as when we reported that a bulb had gone in our room they repaired it within a few minutes and all of the staff would make a point of saying hello and making you feel very welcome.

In conclusion I would have to say that the holiday was great but I think some of the crystal organising needs to be looked at. As we only dealt with the reps on the first day I can only comment on that and unfortunatly my expierience of them was not a good one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week c/o a Crystal ski trip. The room, facilities and service were excellent we had a room with balcony and mountain views. Well laid out and clean. Staff very helpful. We are both vegetarians and the kitchen staff went out of their way to ensure that there were several different vegetarian choices available for us, in addition to selections from the very extensive buffet. The food was great - just what we needed after days of high activity. So highly recommend for a family with one or more vegetarians - but do let the hotel know in advance.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First let me say this Hotel is really lovely with excellent facilities, location and food. BUT this is severely compromised if you are booked in with Crystal Holidays. We, and my sister and husband, booked our holiday through Crystal Holidays and we were allocated one of the older, dark tiny rooms, even though we had paid extra for superior rooms. These Rooms were classed superior only because they had a minuscule balcony. Our bed (4'6") screeched with every movement making it impossible to sleep but this proved to be a blessing in disguise as we were moved to a different room which was faultless. Clean and bright with a large balcony, albeit no view.

Having spoken to many English guests we found that all those who had booked through Crystal Holidays had inferior rooms (some in roof space with high windows) but still deemed superior but those booked through INGHAMS had the better newer rooms.

I would highly recommend this a hotel but avoid booking this through CRYSTAL HOLIDAYS.

Room Tip: Don't book through Crystal and ensure you get one of the new extension rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited this hotel as part of a package tour through Blakan Holidays. Having read the tripadvisor reviews we paid the extra for balcony rooms and steered clear of the attic. If truth be told the upgrade wasn't a lot of money and more than worth it. Although situated on the edge of Kransjka Gora the village isn't big so it is only a short walk to the centre. Nestled amongst the Julian Alps there are some stunning views to be had and as such the location is ideal. Our room was spacious and comfortable with plenty of storage space which I guess is useful for the winter sports crowd. The bathroom didn't have a bath but was otherwise perfectly decent although the shower head had a life of its own and occasionally would fly off the bracket and soak the bathroom. Our room was at the side and didn't have particularly good views but it was close enough to reception for us to take advantage of the free wifi. We had a bit of a noise problem one night from an adjacent bedroom where a party seemed to be being held but otherwise the room was quite a relaxing place.

All the hotel staff were helpful and very friendly. They all spoke English to a good or fluent standard. We were on a half board deal. The food was very good. Don't expect haute cuisine. You get a buffet which is heavy on the carbs, just what you need after a day's hiking or skiing in the mountains. Slovenian specialities and more international dishes are on offer, nothing fancy but all fresh and tasty. There was a red and a white wine on special offer each evening along with one of their range of beers. The prices were good and we availed ourselves of the offers each night. A buffet breakfast in the morning also hit the spot. Once again nothing fancy but perfectly acceptable.

There is a small bar area downstairs where prices were reasonable. Other facilities include a gym, pool (a bit on the cold side) and spa.

Happy to recommend the Hotel Lek!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lek

Address: Vrsiska 38, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lek 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek Hotel Kranjska Gora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.