We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kompas hotel kranjska gora” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kompas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kompas to your Saves list
Hotel Kompas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borovka 100, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“kompas hotel kranjska gora”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed at this hotel in may we found it very good although having stayed there previously we found that standards seem to be slipping especially in the dining room where we found the food to be only luke warm and served on cold plates which meant by the time you got back to your table the food was cold this needs to be put right it looks as though the food will be hot but it is not we complained about this and it did improve for a while but did not last long then it slipped back to cold again such a pity as the rest of the holiday spent in this hotel was good but be warned about the food rooms were excellent and the hotel was clean

Room Tip: pay the supplement for a mountain view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    47
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
42
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. Our room was immaculate with stunning views from the balcony. The food was varied and good quality with self serve buffet at breakfast and dinner. Although it was just the two of us, the packed lunches could have satisfied a family of four!
Staff were always pleasant and helpful
The location makes a good starting point for the many walks and cycle rides from a village which was very quiet at this time of year.
Just a couple of negative points when it came to dining. If your visit coincides with a large coach party, then things get a bit hectic with only two coffee/tea machines and a go slow toaster. Just time your entry and it will be fine!

Room Tip: Each wing has good views, but add a balcony. We stayed in room 215 which was quiet and had views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Maybe the best located hotel in Kranjska Gora.
Big parking, swimming pool overcrowded...
Food is very good quality and tasty.
Kranjska Gora is nothing special, but if you like it, the Hotel Kompas is very good value.

Room Tip: I had a great view on a ski center from a very big terrace. Especially in night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel was very comfortable, located only 200 m from ski lifts. The room .and food very good, and all the staff very nice. Will i stay there again, yes cannot wait until next year.

Room Tip: chose a room with a balcony for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We have just come back from a weeks holiday at this hotel. I booked it based on the reviews on here. We were not disappointed , in fact it was even better than anticipated! I travelled with my husband and two children age 3 and 6. We had a quad room which was huge, modern , two single beds at one side of room with a bigger than king size bed at the other. Very clean ( cleaner came in every day ) free wi fi in room and satalite tv with cartoon network which kept the kids happy for half hr here and there ! Room was quiet with a lovely view of slopes. We had a shower room ( again big) I guess if you wanted a room with a bath you may need to request this. There is no kettle in room but we had taken a travel one.

Food was really nice with an excellent choice, breakfast there was every thing you could want, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, ciossants, rolls, pancakes, cheese, ham and hot food sausages and selection of eggs etc, selection of juices and teas and coffee. Dinner was just as good with a good choice, kids always found something they liked always at least 3 meat dishes, vegetables and a couple of pasta dishes, salad , cheese and cold meats. The food is traditional. Dessert was good too with a selection of cakes, fruit and ice cream. ( My only negative was that you had to pay 2.80 euros for a bottle of water when tap water in Slovenia is drinkable).

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and even allowed us to stay in our room till 12.30 when check out was 11 am.

The hotel is in a great place just a walk over a small road to the slopes ( literally a minute ). Crystal told us that they were the cheapest for lift pass and skis - they are not !!! Get your lift pass from the hotel ( someone previously mentioned on here ) and get your skis from Sport Point ( its on the right looking at the slopes with orange tent at side attached to sporty bar - great for hot chocolate and hot wine ! ) Really friendly blokes in there and we also arranged a private lesson for myself and one for my sons through them. They will do you a good deal and most days gave us a sledge for free. Kids skis, boots and helmet were just 10 euros for both of them , we just had them a day at a time when we wanted them.

Kranjska Gora is great for families , there is lots to do ...nursery slope with a magic carpet , slope just for sledging, ice rink, hike to see reindeer for kids ( hotel puts this on) , inflatables at the bottom of the slopes which kids sit in and get pulled round. This isnt the place for apres ski as most locals seem to drink fruit tea after a day on the slopes , Vopa Bar was probably the only bar with some life which was a nice place and just over 2 euros for a large beer.
Hotel puts on a mini disco twice a week at hotel 8 till 9 o clock.

Hotel has lovely pool and they even give the kids bath robes - just ask at reception.

We would love to go back ! Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: You probably have to ask for a room with a bath as I think most have showers ( showers are big thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Recently stayed in this lovely hotel for our childrens (ages 8 & 6) first skiing holiday.

A stones throw from the nursery slopes, we couldn't fault it in any way.

Sizeable clean rooms, brilliant swimming pool, a large selection of different food at each meal, friendly staff, all in what seems like a recently refurbished hotel.

Would definitely return if we decide that there are enough slopes for the kids to progress on, as it is quite restricted on variation of slopes.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rada R, Manager at Hotel Kompas, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Dear Sir/Madam
Many thanks for your positive comments, and welcome anythime in our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Have just returned from a skiing holiday at this hotel through Crystal / Thomson. For what we paid I cannot believe the value. Our room was large, very clean and lovely views. The hotel is quite modern and spacious with a very nice free swimming pool and hot tub and a lovely sauna area with 3 types of sauna, plunge pool and rest area although there is a 13 euro fee for this. Breakfast catered for every type of palate from cereals to cauliflower! The bacon was not best back but edible. There was fresh fruit and the usual cold meats and cheeses, eggs, waffles, pancakes etc, in fact something for everyone. Dinner was the same, buffet style. Shark was one dish on the menu the first night, I think something got lost in the translation there. The hotel is a two minute walk to the slopes and ski hire and the Vopa pub is also two minutes away with a large beer at two euros, wine at one and coffee at one. Like all hotels they charge more for drinks in the hotel, but coffee was only fractionally more expensive and the wine and beer cheaper than home. Staff all spoke English far better than my Slovenian.The locals tended to eat dinner and breakfast in a range of track suits, so quite informal.
My only complaints, you had to pay for water with your meal and when you showered it would occasionally change temperature quickly so be prepared to push the head away.
As far as skiing goes the resort is really only ideal for skiers up to 3 years, after that you will not be challenged, although the reds and blacks on Podkoren were good but limited. However the night skiing adds a new level. We skied from ten till two when the sun sent behind the mountain, ate, swam, slept, had dinner and skied again.
So very good hotel, lovely resort, ideal for beginners and you will not be ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kranjska Gora
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#5 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Kranjska Gora
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Klass
Suite Hotel Klass
#4 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kompas

Address: Borovka 100, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kompas 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hotel in Kranjska Gora lies just off the village centre and right at the foot of the ski slopes, surrounded by a vast hotel garden and green meadows. In addition to the accommodation facilities, this hotel is praised for its rich culinary offer and the possibility of relaxing in the wellness centre, while its meetings and events offer allows the organisation of various events. The hotel offers 149 comfortable, modern-style rooms of various sizes and 5 suites. All rooms are equipped with cable TV, direct phone line, safe deposit box, bathing tub with shower and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kompas Hotel Kranjska Gora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kompas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.