We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a comfortable place to eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Kotnik

Restaurant Kotnik
Borovska cesta 75, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
4 588 15 64
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Slovenian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Good food and a comfortable place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The restaurant is attached to the hotel that we were staying in so we ate there the first evening for convenience. Sitting on the pretty terrace in the evening sunshine eating really good quality food served with courtesy and good humour, no surprise we returned the following evening to sample the Italian food. The pizzas were enormous and we should have probably just ordered one between the two of us. We did look around the town for other options but decided to eat here the final two nights of our stay. We sampled a number of the dishes from the extensive menu and each had good fresh ingredients and was well cooked. It was good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited in May. They have a wide selection of pizza to choose from and they are excellent. Staff was nice and interior is very pleasant, although we sat outside because the weather was nice (and you can smoke outside :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really enjoyed the food, wine and the service is excellent.
Try also the pizzeria. The anticleroza is perfect for garlic lovers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A must visit Pizzeria! wether it's a big lunch or an evening meal you won't be dissapointed. it gets very busy so make sure you are there early for lunch or book for an evening sitting, especially if you are in a group.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The menu was expansive so it was difficult to choose, although the waiter was extremely helpful. We were able to book which was good as there was 7 of us. The steaks were delicious and the seabass was beautifully cooked. The portions are v.generous so careful you don't over order! The highlight for me was the DIY garlic bread (which wasn't even on menu we jist asked for it) although beware of the potent breath it causes!!!! The house wine is also very drinkable and is extremely good value - €8 for 1 litre!! The complimentary blueberry schnapps after was also a nice little touch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kotnik also viewed

Kranjska Gora, Upper Carniola Region
Kranjska Gora, Upper Carniola Region
 
Kranjska Gora, Upper Carniola Region
Kranjska Gora, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Restaurant Kotnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Kotnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.