We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Might be Able to Do Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kristal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bohinjsko Jezero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kristal
Save
You added Hotel Kristal to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ribcev laz 4/a | 4265 Bohinjsko Jezero, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You Might be Able to Do Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This family owned hotel was one of two recommended by Helia Tours as part of our bike excursion. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Front desk staff are often helpful. The restaurant food is mediocre. Lake Bohinj is spectacularly beautiful with excellent biking and hiking opportunities. We shall likely try Hotel Bohinj if we visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    31
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Based on my experience with this hotel I would rate it a 2 star not a 4 star hotel that they claim.

Here is my experience at Hotel Kristal.

My hiking buddy and I arrived on September 13th around 4:00 pm. We entered the lobby and no one was around. We waited for 5 minutes by the reception desk. I noticed the computer was unlocked and anyone could access the hotel information. Behind the desk were randomly placed pictures of kids coloring. After waiting 5 minutes we went to the restaurant and found someone to help us. We had requested 2 twin beds. We arrive at our room and find a double and a pull out sofa made up. We dropped our gear and walked into town. Upon returning I laid on the sofa bed. It was not the least bit comfortable. I decided I wanted to change rooms.
Back down to the lobby. Again it's deserted. I wait a good 5 minutes and then make my way to the restaurant. I find the same person who helped me before. He said he would be right with me. 5 minutes later he showed up at the desk. I explained I wanted 2 twin beds. He scratched his head and gave me another key. Off he went back to the restaurant. I proceed to the new room and found it was exactly like the room I was in. Back down again to the restaurant and chased the guy down again. He picks another room and this time accompanies me
to the room to make sure it's OK. This one was acceptable. It had a double bed and 1 twin bed.

The room looked straight out of the 80's. Some of the unusual attributes of the room are:
o In the room there was one wine glass and one rocks glass. What if both of us wanted wine?
o A key on the ring for a mini-bar, but no mini-bar. There was a 3rd key on the ring which I
never figured out what it went to.
o A 15 inch tube TV. The remote control was missing the battery cover
o The bathroom had not been updated in a very long time
o The medicine cabinet had two exposed bulbs. One clear and one frosted.
o There was only one drinking glass in the bathroom as well
o There were two dispensers attached to the walls. Neither one was being used. I think one
used to be used for toilet paper. Now they just put a roll on top of the toilet.
o Areas of the bathroom floor were ungrouted and it looked like mold was growing.

Check out day was like the day we arrived. No one was in the lobby. I just left my key on the
desk and was glad to be leaving.

P.S. Be sure to check out the room beside the front desk. It's an homage to dead animals. The walls are filled with skulls of assorted dead animals. In addition you can enjoy some pelts of other animals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and right from the outset we were impressed. After booking in the lad who we assumed to be the owners son took all our luggage upstairs to our room and made sure that everything was to our satisfaction.
The room was a reasonable size spotlessly clean and the bathroom had everything including a great power shower. The only downside was that we were at the rear of the hotel and although there was a very good balcony you could see absolutely nothing because there were huge fir trees blocking the view. One other thing is that you cannot get the free WiFi from these rear rooms, it's only available at the front of the hotel, weird!
For an extra €10 per person per night you can have half board which is recommended as there are no restaurants in the area and the food is good basic tucker.
Only one small complaint, if you are a little late in coming down for breakfast most items on the buffet bar have disappeared and we noticed that they are not replenished. Other than that this is a good solid hotel at very reasonable costs. If you are travelling by car there is plenty of free parking space.

Room Tip: Take a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were fortunate enough to be in Slovenia during the heatwave from mid August onwards. This hotel is family run and it shows, with care and attention shown in every aspect from the friendliness of all the staff to the food to the cleanliness and the décor. Everything was excellent and Alenka is so charming. Our room was fine, not special but good enough for sleeping and storage and kept exceedingly clean. The restaurant is great both inside and al fresco, food was lovely, you choose your evening meal at breakfast and that works really well as there is no delay when you're hungry in the evening. The hotel is also a great base for the Lake, you can walk through the village, avoiding the busy road. We did several beautiful walks from the hotel, you can also hire cycles and there is a great cycle path, nearby.I would throughly recommend the Apricot Brandy which is homemade by Alenka's Mum - it's a bit special.
Along with another reviewer, we were there when the Slovenian President came for a meal - a special occasion indeed, great atmosphere and shows what a good reputation this place has. If we come back to Slovenia, we would definitely stay at the Kristal again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road as if it's hot, there is no aircon, so we needed the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenska bistrica
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Kristal Hotel is a family hotel in Bohinj, not far from the lake, on the outskirts of the Triglav National Park.
We stayed at the hotel Kristal only a 2 nights, from 20.september to 22.september.The hotel is not big, but our room was large, spacious and very clean,also bathroom.View from the room was beautiful( nice garden and mountains).The food was very tasty and beautifull decorated,honestly just like at home.Staff was very very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Bohinj and hotel were recommended to me by a friend who stayed there last year. I have to admit, being sceptical at the begining, not knowing much about nor Bohinj , nor Slovenia, i was more than pleasant surprised. And then.. staying at Hotel Kristal.. this was just a cherry on top!
It is family run hotel and they definitely do treat it like a family member. Staf was more than excellent, very helpful, from the warm wellcome, help with the luggage.. etc etc they made us feel like a king and queen.
It is not a big hotel, but it is very charmy, warm, friendly, pleasent.. It makes you feel very good and wellcome there, you can feel the positive vibe and "wellcomness" in the air.. which i can not say for the bigger hotels even higher star rating.
Great experience started with eating in the restaurant. Breakfast is pretty much standard, but the fact is that the portions are big and freshly made, so food is not being there for ages, and there is good variety of it... then dinner.. this defintiely is a must a the hotel. Various options of 5 course meals!!! simply amazing. I would call it "gastronomy made with amor".. extremely delicious. Vines, normally suggested by the young and extremely friendly and "simpatico" waiter Jan were more than excellent choice. Great quiality and great matching with food. Well, my girlfriend might be pain in the neck sometimes regarding food, so friendly staff did costumize some dishes for her, although they were not on a menu. So, restaruant experience and food deserves higher grade than A+
Rooms, very spaceous and clean. Very very very comfortable bed.. i finally manage to get some proper sleep and rest in a hotel. Equipment in the room was more than sufficient, did not manage to use all it offered. Honestly, we also didnt spent much time in the room, but it was always a pleasure going to the room. Somehow .. we felt like at home.. although style is completely different than we have.
So short summary:
superb staff, speaking various languages, so nobody should experience any communication difficulties staying there
restaruant: can't describe it with words.. you simply have to try it...
hotel itself.. charmy, friendly, nice, clean .. actually spotless, ...
in total: i dont know enough superlatives to describe my satisfaction as it was more than just great.. and will definitely be back again. Maybe even in the winter as there is skiing resort very nearby as well!
Thanks to Dobravec family and the rest of the staff for unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Kristal for 14 nights from the 18 August in room 208.We were greeted on arrival and offered a 5 course meal even though we were late (it was 9.45 pm) When we entered the room we were surprised by the amount of space,not only room for a double bed with side cabinets,dressing table and 2 lounge chairs and still lots of room to walk around but a spacious balcony with table and chairs(the table even had a tablecloth on it) overlooking the pond and water feature and finally a reasonably spacious bathroom with a shower cubicle rather than one of those ghastly shower curtains.
The whole place was extremely clean and comfortable and the staff were marvellous,nothing was too much trouble.The food was well prepared and plentiful with a good choice but if you didn't like what was offered they would provide something else to suit.Credit must be given to the chef and his team,likewise to the cleaners who somehow managed to keep the whole place spotless,Slava the waitress who was always on hand to serve your needs to Alenka the owner whose customer service skills were second to none whether you were English,Slovenian,German,Italian or any other nationality.She moved from one language to another with relative ease.
Halfway through our stay who should arrive for a meal but the President of Slovenia with his entourage and as an added bonus a world famous opera singer who gave us a rendition of a couple of tunes.Fantastic!!!
I asked Alenka if she was expecting them and she said yes and then added that past Presidents had been for meals before so the place must be good!! As I titled this review if it's good enough for the President then it's good enough for us.
I've got to say a big thankyou to Alenka,her family and all her staff for really making our 2 week holiday one to remember.We never go back to the same place twice as there is so much else to see in the world but were so impressed with the whole country and the hotel that we are going back next June so look forward to seeing Alenka and all her team.
Thanks for a splendid never to be forgotten holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.5 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#1 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#6 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bohinj Park ECO Hotel
Bohinj Park ECO Hotel
#2 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bohinj
Hotel Bohinj
#7 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Address: Ribcev laz 4/a | 4265 Bohinjsko Jezero, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming alpine family hotel is located in the natural paradise of the Lake Bohinj area with its stunning mountains and alpine forests. The bedrooms are bright and tastefully furnished. Lake Bohinj is a pleasant 500m walk from the hotel. Hotel Kristal is a family hotel in Bohinj, situated close to Lake Bohinj, on the outskirts of the Triglav national park. The hotel was built and renovated in line with local tradition and gives its guests the homely feeling, characteristic of the region. Hospitality, delicious cuisine, unspoilt nature and abundant possibilities for an active holiday await you at this excellent starting point. - ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Kristal Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.