We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jezero Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jezero Hotel to your Saves list
Jezero Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ribcev Laz 51, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As others have said, this is a large hotel which takes multiple groups on coach/package holidays or tours and therefore is a fairly impersonal place, but that said we had no problems and found the service just fine. Room was very clean, decent size with a balcony looking out to the river and lake beyond. Breakfast was a standard buffet affair with hot and cold options, only slightly bizzare aspect being that despite the restaurant having plenty of space it seems that some guests insist on reserving a table for breakfast (!?) and the large coach parties are incapable of eating unless they're all sat on one massive table, so on occasion it was a challenge to find a table that we were 'allowed' to sit at. Only briefly used the pool/leisure facilities as the staff kindly allowed us to use the pool showers to freshen up before our departure as we'd been out hiking in the morning after checking out, but they looked nice.

Main attraction of the area is of course Lake Bohinj and the surrounding mountains, which are stunningly beautiful with plenty of activities to do, so the chances are most guests will spend most of their time and and about rather than in the hotel. The village of Ribcev Laz has the usual facilities you'd need nearby: several places to eat and drink, post office, small supermarket, ATM, tourist info office and various outdoor activity operators all within a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front (particularly the western end of the building) get lake views. Road noise is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    64
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
35
82
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A large hotel near the lake and also near local shops and cafes. It caters for coach parties as well as individuals. There is a buffet every night but we chose to eat off the al a carte menu and the food was good. The room was clean and well equipped. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our second visit to this special hotel. The first was 2 years ago when we were part of a Swimtrek holiday group, but decided to stay on at the Jezero for a few days more, the staff are the biggest asset to this hotel, nothing is too much for the reception staff, who are also so knowledgeable and helpful.
Our return visit last week was as "independent travelers", accompanied by our friends who had last stayed 17 years ago (!) and were pleasantly surprised to find little had changed in this beautiful area. We booked the hotel online directly with the hotel as we had some "special needs", staying 2 nights, then trekking in the Triglav National Park for 4 days and the returning to the Jezero for another 2 nights. They were more than happy to look after our luggage while we were away and let us leave our car in the car park. They were also well informed of the conditions on Triglav and the last thing Irvana said before we left was "know your limits!" which in the unusual weather conditions were very wise words.
The hotel rooms are very clean (as is the whole of Slovenia), the location could not be anymore stunning and all in all the experience makes you want to come back again.
The locals say there are fewer and fewer people visiting due to the Slovenian economy and the hotel and restaurants did seem quieter that 2 years ago, so hopefully this will remain an unspoiled gem.
The fact that we did not make the summit of Triglav this year means that we have to return!!
Thank you again to all the staff at the Jezero!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are stunning, every morning the lake looks different
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I have visited the Jezero Hotel on five occasions and will be returning again (with friends) at the end of the summer. Staff at the Hotel are delightful: helpful, personable and welcoming. The restaurant is excellent. Ribcev Laz is a great base for hiking, fly fishing, kayaking and other outdoor pursuits.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Lake Bohinj have really scenic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

As always we were made to feel very welcome. Reception staff greeted us like long lost friends. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.
Good food.Plenty of choice. Rooms very clean. However busy the hotel is the staff always have time for you. We had a large group of bikers in whilst we were there.You really were not aware of them. Looking forward to our next stay at Hotel Jezero. Roll on 2015.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is centrally situated just across from Lake Bohinj.
The resort suffers from many day trippers and can be busy at times. Similarly the hotel
seems like a transit camp at times with an influx of tourist coaches off-loading 50+ people
for a one night stay. .
RECEPTION - reception staff were wonderful. Always cheerful and helpful. Nothing was too
much trouple. Their English was excellent.
FOOD - was average international buffet. Some days it was better than others. Mostly hot but
some days it did seem as though food had been prepared hours in advance. Soup was always hot and good. The buffet area was inadequate, especially when two coach loads of tourists were stopping overnight, also when 50+ motorcycles were staying for the weekend.
ROOMS - We stayed in the 'newer' part of the hotel overlooking the indoor pool. The temperature during our visit was 32 -36 degrees. No air conditioning. Our room was a good
size, as was the bathroom and it was kept spotlessly clean. Bedding and towels were changed
regularly. The bath was high-sided and combined with the shower. I personally found it difficult
to get in and out of the bath/shower, especially after shower or bath. The beds were good and we had a good night's sleep. I always take ear pugs when I go on holiday.
INDOOR POOL - the pool is open from 2p.m. to 8p.m. I would advise you to take your own
pool towel as the hotel towels are thin and only one bath towel is supplied for each person each day .
It is a good base for walking/hiking, trips round the lake and the cable car. A tourist
card is available from the tourist office just round the corner from the hotel. It cost 5e
and gives you a discount on boat, cable car and local buses. Supermarket and post office are also situated just round the corner from the hotel.
If you like a relatively un-commercial area then I would recommend Lake Bohinj. Transfer from the airport was around 1 hr. The flight from Manchester Airport with Adria Airways was excellent. A small plane, no food, good seats and luggage was off-loaded quickly.

Room Tip: Our room was in the 'new' part of the hotel. I cannot comment on the rooms in the more tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

As an active family we wanted an affordable holiday with the quality still being there and plenty to do. This was definitely not that. The hotel was shabby, the food was disgusting, rude staff and there wasn't that much to do. The beds we stayed on were particularly uncomfortable. The lake was nice but very cold, hiking was also nice but the kids became very weary of doing the same sort of stuff again. Also there weather wasn't great. Would recommend this to anyone please go to somewhere like Italy, Greece and Switzerland you will get you money's worth and have a much better time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.5 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#6 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#1 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bohinj Park ECO Hotel
Bohinj Park ECO Hotel
#2 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bohinj
Hotel Bohinj
#7 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake
Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohin...
#4 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jezero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jezero Hotel

Address: Ribcev Laz 51, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jezero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jezero is located centrally by the lake Bohinj and has 71 rooms and five suites. Rooms have direct telephone link, cable TV, mini bar, safe, hairdryer and balcony with seats. Hotel offers: restaurant Vrtovin with covered and summer terrace, a'la carte restaurant Zlatovcica with covered terrace, cafe, conference room Vrotovin, wireless internet, indoor swimming pool with garden, fitness room, saunas, massages, ski storage room and parking in front of the building. Distance from ski resorts: Vogel 4,5 km. Transportation to ski slopes provided by ski bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Jezero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jezero Hotel Bohinjsko
Jezero Hotel Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jezero Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.