We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aims to please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jezero Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jezero Hotel to your Saves list
Jezero Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ribcev Laz 51, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Aims to please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Excellent reception staff. We asked about places and activities and they were always helpful. At the end, they found us a good affordable driver to get to Bled for an early train. As we were leaving, the man/manager at reception handed us a generous packed breakfast. It proved a savior on the long trip ahead.

There's a slick, fast lift to the upper floors. Our room was fresh, bright and clean, and was well heated. Windows reached right across and a balcony overlooked the street. We could view part of the lake and a church, bridge and tree decorated with lights across the river.

We did not notice road noise, even with buses outside - good double glazing or perhaps less traffic in winter?

Furnishings included a table with two chairs, as well as the desk along one wall, with another chair. This allowed both of us to get on with writing at the same time.

The free wireless worked well on our laptop computer but not on my ipad - a problem not just here, but at many places this trip.

The bathroom was clean with heated towel rails and a well-lit mirror over a roomy hand basin. The shower was the pod type with a hanging up shower-hose. Water came hot with good pressure.

The toilet looked new and accompanied by the prettiest of loo paper - various coloured pictures on each square. The soap was good and usual shower gel provided. My only, and trivial, whinge was the lack of flannels and complementary tissues - but it is not supposed to be 5 stars and there's always the loo paper.

Breakfast had a fair choice - several types of hot cooked meats, grilled mushrooms and scrambled eggs. There were varieties of pastries, breads and a toaster, and usual cereals with additives, spreads and toppings. Coffee was self-serve from a machine, as were juices. The breakfast room was spacious, pleasant and simply decorated, with a sunny outlook. Everything had a quality, solid look.

This location is ideal. Perfect for walking out and around the lake. We reached a variety of places on foot - made it easily to several villages and to Studor for pony riding. From bus stops outside you can go to the cable car for the snowfields in 5 mins, the falls, or further afield such as Bled and Ljubljana.

There are many choices for dining out if you don't eat at this hotel. Just stroll down the street, or take a 10 mins walk to the next village. There is a postal agency just next door.

I'd like another ride on the Icelandic pony and explore more trails. If I get back I will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near "Dave" (yes I heard too!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    64
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
35
81
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our visit in mid-winter was definitely out of season for Bohinj but the three days there were idyllic with fine but cold weather. We weren't there for the ski resort on the mountain down the road but enjoyed walks about the district. For this it is well located.

The staff at reception were friendly and helpful with advice. The actual room was plain but clean and solid. Wifi was free and worked. We ate in the front restaurant which was plain but adequate but can't comment on the more inviting fish restaurant. The breakfasts were adequate but not startling.

The unfortunate intrusion, and this was beyond the hotel's abilities, was the raucous (sometimes hysterically) sexual antics of Dave and his woman friend in the room next door. We could have asked for a different room on subsequent nights although we didn't expect Dave and his friend to last beyond one night, the rate they were going.

Room Tip: make sure Dave hasn't booked a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I like this hotel for its peaceful lakeside location and I would always choose it over the more popular and over-developed Lake Bled. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need (except tea making facilites - sorry English visitors). Dinner is ordered the night before from 3 or 4 main courses with a buffet for starters, dessert etc. Breakfast is also a buffet with a wide range of cereals, fruit, hot and cold dishes. You can eat inside or on the sunny, glass- roofed terrace. There is a pool large enough for doing laps. The hotel is a great base for walks in Triglav National Park - such as via the Mostnice Gorge to an upper valley, waterfall and a coffee shop with the best home made apple strudel. You can walk right around the lake or walk the northern shore and take the boat back. You can also take the cable car and do a short walk from the top station. Much longer walks go to Dom na Komna hut, Triglav Lakes Hut or even right over the mountains to the Soca Valley.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

It is not 5 star, but after having read other reviews, I wasn't expecting much and found much more than expected with larger rooms as well. It was simple and clean, provided free WiFi in the lobby and a couple of complimentary computers. The food was decent and if the linens were a little coarse, the location is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed in what appeared to be a heat wave that was all over Europe, which meant that we had the advantage of being out of tourist season, with the fantastic weather than would have been expected over summer. This meant that the hotel wasn't exceptionally busy, and was probably winding down for the season..

Which had no impact at all on the service from the front of desk to the restaurant area. Slovenia is a tricky language - I can mumble a few words - but fortunately the staff all speak excellent English, which truly does appear to be the second language of the country. I had previously emailed asking if we could have a balcony overlooking the lake, and this request was dealt with perfectly.

The reception area has a few sofas and wifi seemed strongest in this area. A number of maps of the area are dotted around, along with various tour operators folders - these were useful when scouting out things to do in the area.

The rooms themselves are what UK travellers may consider to be a bit like a Premier Inn, and therefore clean, functional and with most of the amenities you need. In our case, we need tea on a regular basis so we took a travel kettle. The rooms have a mini bar in which provides ample space for your own bits and pieces, and a bottle opener is provided to assist in buying bottles of wine from the local convenience store. The bathroom was very nice, with a great shower and a bath big enough for two, possible three if you're all on the thin side.

In terms of food, breakfast was a standard affair and it was possible to stock up on enough to power through the countryside until late afternoon. Dinner was a most bizarre affair, requiring you each night to choose from a list of four things for the following night. We got used to this towards the end of the week, and it should be said that the menu rotates - providing plenty of choice over the week, and presumably not pushing chef too hard. Highlights of the week were bohinj trout, a fantastic steak and some local dishes. We booked as a half board option, working out to about £3 a day for breakfast and dinner. For those that have complained about the food - you won't get value like this anywhere else, and we never went hungry. Some nights were less than impressive, but the starters and desert would always make up for this.

The sports facilities are very basic, but when you've got everything that is outside, what need is there to be in the pool? There's a couple of saunas if need be, but they were the highlight of the facilities. That said, the mini-golf annexed to the hotel is good fun, though why it's only 17 holes is a mystery - perhaps they ran out of space when building?

The hotel also has a cafe on the terrace, which is very nice for sitting out on in the sun with a drink or lunch, which overlooks the mountains and lake. Opposite the terrace is a sports place, which offers 10% discount to people staying in the hotel, get a canoe and head out onto the lake as an ideal alternative to going in the swimming pool.

Overall, the hotel is a base for the area, but it provides a very comfortable and well located base. Food is plentiful on the half board option and the hotel backs onto the bus stop, providing access to Bled and Ljubljana on the local buses. For those seeing that the timetabled journey to Ljubljana is two hours, rest assured that a Slovenian bus is actually a coach.

Well recommended, and somewhere we wouldn't hesitate to return to.

Room Tip: Email in advance to try and get a balcony with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We spent three nights here. The setting is beautiful, with the bridge and lake across the road--a wonderful location to explore this part of Slovenia. There is some street noise and at one end is a park / beer garden that can be a bit noisy at night. The room are simple, modern and clean. The hotel food is unexceptional. We didn't have time to try the Restavracija Zlatovcica

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Having just returned from our 18th holiday at Hotel Jezero it never ceases to amaze me how pedantic some travellers can be in their assessment of a hotel.It would appear that some people go to hotels so that they can complain afterwards.
The hotel is beautifully situated and is the equal of any hotel we have stayed at abroad and better than most we have experienced in the U.K.The Staff are outstanding,the service is exceptional,the rooms and public areas are clean and comfortable and the ambience of the hotel is one of friendly,relaxed efficiency.The food is very good,with a wide choice at breakfast and a good,imaginative selection of dishes each evening.It is difficult to leave the Dining Room still hungry! The wine list is fairly priced and the House Wines are very good value,as are all prices in the hotel.Guests with dietary problems( my wife is a Coeliac) are readily catered for on request.The indoor pool is well maintained and my wife can vouch for the benefits of paying for the hotel's massaging service,provided by one of the Staff who is a trained Masseurse.
No hotel is perfect,but if you want a friendly, comfortable,well appointed hotel,set amidst stunning scenery,yet close to good local transport links,then Hotel Jezero is the place for you.We,and many others,are already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
2.9 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#1 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#6 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bohinj Park ECO Hotel
Bohinj Park ECO Hotel
#2 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bohinj
Hotel Bohinj
#7 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake
Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohin...
#4 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jezero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jezero Hotel

Address: Ribcev Laz 51, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jezero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jezero is located centrally by the lake Bohinj and has 71 rooms and five suites. Rooms have direct telephone link, cable TV, mini bar, safe, hairdryer and balcony with seats. Hotel offers: restaurant Vrtovin with covered and summer terrace, a'la carte restaurant Zlatovcica with covered terrace, cafe, conference room Vrotovin, wireless internet, indoor swimming pool with garden, fitness room, saunas, massages, ski storage room and parking in front of the building. Distance from ski resorts: Vogel 4,5 km. Transportation to ski slopes provided by ski bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Jezero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jezero Hotel Bohinjsko
Jezero Hotel Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jezero Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.