We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vogel Ski Center

Vogel Ski Center
d.d. Ukanc 6, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
+386 4 572 97 12
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Vogel is one of the most beautiful and popular ski resorts in the winter, and the most popular high mountain centre in other seasons. Our slogan “Vogel. Like a Fairy Tale.” is the perfect description of our resort in every season of the year, and we plan to increase our profile with it and give our visitors this fairy-tale feeling. We are determined to seize the opportunities offered by our location in the heart of the Triglav National Park (TNP). Vogel cable car takes you to 1535 metres above sea level throughout the year (except during the maintenance periods). In this way viewpoints high in the mountains are easily accessible and also make an excellent starting point for hikers. You can choose from single or return cable car tickets. The cable car can transfer up to 950 people per hour. The Orlove glave quad chairlift also operates during the summer season (mid-June to end of September) and provides a single or a return ride in the pleasantly refreshing summer climate. It stops at the top of Orlove glave with a paragliding take-off point close by.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
351 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The view from up there was really cool but the place itself not so much. Maybe it wasn't the season anymore when we came, but the only thing we could do there is drink a beer and then wait for our ride back down.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place to start walks in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Vogel Ski centre is accessed by a brilliant cable car ride taking you from the valley floor and up to the mountain. It's a 4 minute journey but quite breathtaking as the height increases and the views become ever more impressive. From the ski centre which houses a cafe, another chair lift takes you further up and from that point many walks are available to the mountains. For those feeling really adventurous you can walk along the ridges back to Bohinj Bistraca which takes about 9 hours, (we didn't do it!) or just try and bag a couple of the local peaks. The views are stunning in all directions. The cable care is quite expensive with an adult return being E13.50 or E10 one way, but the chair lift is just E4.00 return or E2 one way. meals and drinks are avilable at the ski centre and the cable car appears to run every 30 minutes though when we were there it was running on demand.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I hate cabel cars but this one is brilliant and has you up to the top in under four minutes. I loved it .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view on Triglav and his friends - mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

You could take a gondola, and than just enjoy the view on Triglav and his friends all around him .
Take a slow walk to Orlove glave, have a few minuts to rest, than going down to Planina Zadnji Vogel, visit cheese house and than continue your journey to the valley thru Žagarjev graben.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chotebor, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful view to the valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Parking is free at the cable car, it is best to go around 10 in the morning when the buses have arrived with tourists. The view is truly magnificent, it just wants beautiful weather. Price for return ticket is very high.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vogel Ski Center also viewed

Slovenia, Europe
Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Vogel Ski Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vogel Ski Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vogel Ski Center to your Saves list