We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Pod Voglom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Pod Voglom to your Saves list
Hostel Pod Voglom
Ribcev laz 60, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I came to this hostel with a group of friends before and after climbing Mount Triglav. It was such a chilled place, with young people and families. The staff were friendly and there was so much to do there - canoeing, rock climbing, high ropes, cycling, paragliding....

The food was decent and the alcohol very cheap.

I had a super time her at Lake Bohinj and didn't want to leave! I will definitely be back, and when I return, I would come back to this hostel.

Room Tip: The rooms with paintings on the wall are very fun, but all rooms clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I'm really pleased to have found this hostel - the hostel itself and it's location are excellent. I stayed at this hostel twice, using it as a base before and after a trek up nearby Triglav.

This is a large hostel - but it retains a homely, friendly and very welcoming feel and comes complete with an excellent range of facilities. There appeared to be a wide choice of accommodation including dorns and en-suite private rooms. We stayed in a private room, and whilst the furnishings were a little basic, it was comfortable and excellent value. The balcony with direct views of the lake was an added bonus, and there was pleny of storage space in the room. The bathroom was clean and hot water always available, although the shower could have done with a shower curtain or screen.

The hostel offers an excellent value dinner, and a free buffet breakfast was available between 7 and 10am. There is also a bar on site, plenty of information about trips and acitivities, and the staff were consistently helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. We arrived late on the first evening, but the staff were very willing to prepare a simple meal for us, and another day we had to catch an early bus - again the staff were really accommodating and made breakfast available early.

There are other activities available on site including a high ropes course, bike hire etc, although we did not try these and they appeared to be a popular with school groups etcThe excellent location means that you can swim in the lake direclty on the hostel doorstep - and you can catch the bus outside to take you into Bohinjsko Jezero, elsewhere in Triglav national park or onto Ljubljana.

Overall, very highly recommended - thanks to the staff and management for a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer building offer private bathrooms and those to the front of the building have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

While the staff were very helpful and friendly when I asked for information, I felt quite lost in this giant, run down hostel. They seem oriented to large groups of travellers and team building outings. There was a lot of noise for what I thought would be a quiet, next-to-the-lake experience. I stayed one night and then switched to the far superior and slightly cheaper Studor 13 in the village of Studor about 3 km away.

The night I was there there was lots of cheering and singing as groups celebrated their achievements.The floor boards were louder than loud and there was only one washroom (with one toilet and one shower) for men and one for women on my floor which was shocking because there were at least 10 rooms with 4 beds each. The place is run down but at least it is very clean. I had a room to myself and the room was spacious with a dresser and its own sink. But the noise from downstairs with people playing what sounded like pool or something and the loud music was too much for me.

A tour of the facilities would have helped. No one showed me around even though the place was sprawling so I didn't know what facilities they had. Also no one let me know about what type of activities were on offer which was strange because they are linked with Pac Sports, a tour operator. I did end up going paragliding with them and definitely overpaid for a short, basic jump. I did a far superior jump from Kobarid for less money.

They do offer a pretty comprehensive breakfast which I really enjoyed.

The location next to the lake is great if you want to do a lot of lake activities but really the hostel is on the main road which was full of loud motorcycles all day and I felt that the north side of the lake was the nicer side to explore and swim from anyway. The campsite at the southwest end is probably the best lakeside place to stay and they are connected to pac sports as well.

Even though they are on the lake, they are still far from everything. I think the Studor 13 location is much better (quieter, prettier, closer to shops and restaurants etc.... see separate review).

I would not stay here again but if you are a group of people who want lots of activities, games, music, drinking etc. then this might be for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Super service w. very nice guides and good value for money. would recommend to anyone!
we trie canyoning, rafting an moutin biking.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bohinjsko Jezero hotels
1.3 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#6 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#1 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake
Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohin...
#4 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bohinj
Hotel Bohinj
#7 of 10 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pension Gasperin
Pension Gasperin
#1 of 13 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pod Voglom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pod Voglom

Address: Ribcev laz 60, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Pod Voglom is situated at one of the most beautiful locations in Slovenia - in the middle of the Triglav National Park by the lake Bohinj. As such it is ideal for all the outdoor fans, who like to spend active holidays in contact with nature. Hostel Pod Voglom is a member of YH International. It offers 3 kinds of accommodation (rooms with private bathroom, shared bathroom or dormitory rooms). Therefore, every year not only the young people but also many families visit the hostel and explore the surrounding which offers many possibilities for spending active holiday in the Triglav National Park. Hostel has 129 beds. In the yard of the hostel is located Pac sports outdoor centre and the high ropes course. You can also rent boats, canoes and kayaks or mountain bikes. An interesting challenge for those who want more adrenaline is participating in rafting or canyoning or experiencing a paragliding trip with a tandem above the Bohinj lake. Meanwhile, there is a garden near the hostel with the playground for children and it is also perfect for relaxing and reading a book in the shadow of the trees. Another part of the hostel offer are concerts, photo presentations and organization of barbecues and teambuilding programs for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Pod Voglom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pod Voglom Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Pod Voglom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.