We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gostilna Mihovc

Gostilna Mihovc
Stara Fuzina 118, Bohinjsko Jezero, Slovenia
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Slovenian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Toronto
Level Contributor
472 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“A Very Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A good choice if the authenticity of a place means more than the quality of the food. The food was good and utterly reflective of the local culture. More locals eat here than tourists. Service was very good and the music was local folk, without apology ( no Nickleback nor Madonna). Stara Fuzina features real rural Slovenia, without compromise. Keep walking into the village after your meal and you'll find a man who speaks no ther language than his own selling cheese, bread, honey and baked sweets from the (very basic) front room of his home. We love these kinds of eateries such as Mihovic. They are why we travel. I am done. The end.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible Slovenian eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

As far as I can tell this was local, authentic and delicious. The place was filled with a mix of tourists and locals and just across from the starting point of some excellent hikes in Bohinj. We're so fortunate that this restaurant was recommended to us. We started off with a massive salad and then had the mixed meat platter, which had surprises in every bite. Plenty of great beer choices too.

Overall a fantastic restaurant option in Bohinj.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Typical Slovenian food for tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We were there for lunch on a holiday and it was busy so I suppose that's why the waitress was in a hurry and not too helpful. The menu looked great but I've had better žganci and mushroom soup before. If you're not too picky and demanding about your traditional local cuisine this is a pretty nice place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“bad service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Mihovc has never been my favorite among Bohinj's restaurants, but since the last time I went there almost a decade had past, I thought I give it another try. Although the terrace looks a bit nicer now, not much has changed. Slow service by two moody girls and the food just average to bad. We had an apple strudel which was ok and a Sopska solata (sth like a Greek salad) which was aweful due to the bitter cucumber. I had to spit out the cucumber because it was so bitter I could not swallow it. Cheese and tomatoes in the salad were ok. There is definitely better traditional food to get, but yes, you can eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Where wealthy farmers would eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting this restaurant for nearly 20 years. Through the years the restaurant has changed from a local hangout with delicious food and a nice variety of home made schnaps to a tourist more tourist orientated place. The atmosphere is still there. You still see the locals hanging in front of the place, but the prices have soared.
It is getting expensive.

I would recommend you this restaurant to get a genuine taste of our cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostilna Mihovc also viewed

Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Gostilna Mihovc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gostilna Mihovc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.