We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alp Penzion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alp Penzion to your Saves list
Alp Penzion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankarjeva c. 20a, Bled SI-4260, Slovenia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

What a great find! I have to agree with everyone else who's already reviewed the place. The food was phenomenal, my only advice would be to make sure you don't eat too much of it because I was so enthusiastic that went to bed with a stomachache almost every night.

The staff are very kind and helpful.

While the hotel is a bit out of town, don't let that deter you, because the town is so small that it's still only a ten minute walk to the center.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    40
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
108
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Bled was supposed to be the highlight of our stay in Slovenia. The weather was not the perfect kind, it was raining in Bled and snowing further up in Bohinj. But one thing we were truly impressed with was our stay at Alp Penzion. It lived up to everything I had heard in advance and a lot more. Nice spacious rooms, large balcony. Its a beautiful typical Slovenian style, warm inside and the warmth of the hosts were touching. The breakfast, so beautifully decorated was the best we had on tour,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Guys.... this place is a really a not miss one... I've booked one night for our family with half board for 130 EUR ... once in I've found a fantastic apartment with two rooms and a great bahroom... all perfectly clean and with a lot of space in the main room, I think it was about 40 sq. mt. ... The dinner was with a buffet, plenty of great food and beer... as a final things I mention: free internet, free bycicles, very friendly staff, quiet place, fantastic garden ...
This is the first time I give 5 stars in ALL categories.
The only complain is that we stayed ther for only one night !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The meals are unbelievable. And entire cake for each table. Salmon souffle in puff pastry...as an appetizer. Someone really likes to cook! Great location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

we stayed here sept 2010 for 4 nights and were pleasantly surprised at the location a 10 minute stroll to the lake and set amongst fields with views of mountains. The room was a decent size spotlessly clean with a small balcony with table and chairs. Just the thing for an evening tipple!!! There was a lovely garden with a small bar .The owner was aided by a fab staff who were very helpful and served the most fabulous food we have had in a long while. I would recommend this small hotel to anyone wanting a restful stay away from the sometimes busy lakeside scene.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This hotel is outstanding. We travelled with three young children and had the family room (which is really a suite of several rooms). We have stayed near the lake before and being seven minutes walk away from the lake is much better - the traffic noise near the lake can be intolerable in some hotels. The free bikes and tennis court were a bonus and the food was excellent. There was some trouble with flies on some nights (see previous review) but it is difficult to know what the hotel could do about it as it is nicely located between the lake and a farming area. Half board at Alp Penzion is about half the price of bed and breakfast at a lakeside hotel and yet many aspects of Alp are at least as good as some of the best hotels in the area. The hostesses were wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The staff at this hotel work incredibly hard and the attention they pay to detail is enormous, but trying to be like a posh hotel with sweets on the pillow and packaged toiletries didn't quite work for us as our rooms were so tiny and dark and dated with small windows, no view and no air con. The breakfast was ok BUT everything was covered in large flies everyday which was really off putting, and we had flies in our bedroom that we had to keep on trying to swat. Saying that, evening meals were great and we had a barbeque on the Sunday which was outstanding with an amazing icecream swan dessert that was a show stopper. Mateja is a wonderful hostess, and the staff are delightful, but the hotel does need some work. Excellent value though - I think other rooms may have been nicer. I can see why people really love it but its not for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#5 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Lovec
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#7 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alp Penzion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Penzion

Address: Cankarjeva c. 20a, Bled SI-4260, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bled
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#2 Family Hotel in Bled
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alp Penzion 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alp Penzion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alp Penzion Bled
Alp Penzion Hotel Bled

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alp Penzion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.