We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and fiendly penzion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penzion Mayer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penzion Mayer
Save
You added Penzion Mayer to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zeleska c. 7, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent and fiendly penzion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very comfortable and large rooms, perfectly clean. Very helpful staff, really quiet surrendings. Beautifull view of the lake and castle. Delicious breakfast. The penzion value for money. Good restaurant inside, nice wine cellar as well. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    52
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
154
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 7 nights at the Pension Mayer in early September 2013 on a Thomson/Crystal ‘Lakes and Mountains’ half board holiday.

It is very difficult to find anything to add to the already glowing reviews, other than to say: they are all very true and factual.

The food choice is excellent in variety, quality and service; the breakfast being self service and the evening meal waiter service. The rooms and the general hotel accommodation are extremely well maintained and very clean throughout. The bedroom and bathroom with the exception of not having tea / coffee making facilities were thoroughly cleaned daily, well provisioned and meet our entire needs.

I can not close without adding however:

The staffs throughout, including the owners, who all work tirelessly were excellent, friendly, and helpful; each possessing a command and fluency in many languages that we and others found amazing, relaxing and helpful.

Therefore the Mayer is highly and confidently recommended; in fact we have already recommended it to friends as a must if they ever visit Bled.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms and view are worth the extra See more room tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful seven day holiday at Pension Mayer in August/September 2013. It is a charming timber cottage with approx. 13 bedrooms - you can imagine Hansel and Gretel living in a place like this!
It is ideally located, nestling adjacent to the Hotel Golf, with the centre of Bled only a five minute stroll away.
We were here on a two centre Thomson ‘Lakes and Mountains’ holiday (the second week would be in St. Wolfgang staying in Hotel Peter which I have also reviewed).
The food choice is excellent and the continental breakfast, taken in the room opposite the main entrance, is a great way to start your day.
The evening meal is taken in the Pension’s restaurant and the three course set meal can be varied according to your taste (just discuss this with the friendly waiters). There is also a salad bar where you can help yourself to fresh produce.
Please note that the restaurant is closed on Mondays but do not despair! The guests on half board are treated to a ‘Wine Tasting’ evening meal in the Pension’s cellar. The food is prepared and served by the owners and wine flows throughout the whole evening – it makes for a truly enjoyable experience – it is an evening to remember (assuming you don’t drink too much wine). In such a small hotel, you will hopefully make many new friends as we did, adding more enjoyment to a great holiday.
This Pension is highly recommended and we will stay there again if we return to Bled.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but try and choose one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved our stay at the Penzion & wish we could have stayed longer. We had a view of the lake & castle from our room. Our GPS found the Penzion perfectly! We would definitely stay there again.

Pros:
Well worth the price
Elevator!
Very small balcony but nice enough to sit out on
Beautiful grounds
10 minute walk into town
Good breakfast
Owner Dieter & his wife were very helpful

Cons:
No AC
2 single beds pushed together for married couples
No refrigerator in rooms

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First visit to Bled and Penzion Maer. We arrived late and it was already dark and pension a bit difficult to fine. However it was worth to. We had lovely dinner at the hotel restaurant with nice local specialities. Very warm wellcome after a long trip. Cottage was spacy and comfortable. Small stairs upstairs were a bit difficult for the elderly lady. Even the weather was chilly there was nice and warm inside, except floors were a bit cold. Altogether a very pleasant visit both in Bled and Penzion Mayer. Recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Penzion Mayer in August in the cottage on the property. It was very clean and comfortable. The cottage is roomy and a small kitchen, dining room and sitting area. Upstairs there are two bedrooms. It sleeps at least 4 or more people. The garden and surroundings at the Penzione are lovely. Since it is up above the main road on the lake, it is a very quiet location, yet everything in the resort area is within walking distance. The hotel has a good parking area across the street. To our delight, the restaurant is an outstanding place for dinner--the best in Lake Bled that we tried. It's a treat when it is right out your door! Breakfasts were abundant and good also. The customer service at the front desk and restaurant were excellent. This Penzion is an outstanding value. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here during our first visit to Bled. It is very central 5 minutes walk to the lake, but most of all it is a beautiful place to stay at while on holiday. It feels very homely and you are made welcome from the moment you arrive.

The room we stayed in was spotless, the towels were so soft and linen was immaculate. The room is of decent size, nice modern furniture complete with a garden view balcony. Breakfast consisted of a choice of cereal, yoghurt, fresh bread, cold meats and a choice of fresh fruit every day. There was always plenty to choose from. Dinner was served by very friendly and efficient staff. Menu at dinner was different every night and food served was of good quality.

I recommend anyone staying at this lovely place, however it is situated on an incline which you can get to either by road up a small hill or by steps right from the lake front.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#3 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#5 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Lovec
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Mayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Mayer

Address: Zeleska c. 7, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#4 Family Hotel in Bled
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Mayer 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Penzion Mayer Bled
Penzion Mayer Hotel Bled

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penzion Mayer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.