We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably good hotel at good value - what a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penzion Mayer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penzion Mayer
Save Saved
You added Penzion Mayer to your Saves list
Zeleska c. 7, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good hotel at good value - what a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised at every stage. The location is fantastic, just 3 min walk to Lake Bled and the center where you find cafes, rentals etc. The hotel itself is really pretty housed in a really old building but renovated and modern. The room was huge, well decorated, warm and super comfortable. The breakfast is outstanding in quality and range - it has the works, and the service and hospitality of the team is fantastic.

They call it a Pension but it is comparable to a four or five star. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    46
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
128
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This small hotel is charming with flower laden window sills and garden. My room was very comfortable though did not have air conditioning (it was hot) so the owner supplied a fan which worked well. I had a balcony which overlooked the garden and outdoor seating for the restaurant. Everything worked well including the wifi and the bed was comfortable. The only thing I would change is the bathroom hairdryers...they do not function well at all. The restaurant is quite good and the waiters very friendly. The breakfast served was fantastic and included everything you could want. It took about 5-10 minutes to walk to the lake and plenty of other places to eat or drink. I would stay here again if in Lake Bled!

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved our stay here, we were lucky enough to get the cottage for a week. Although we had seen the cottage on the website, we thought we would be offered an apartment in the cottage, however we got the whole thing! It sleeps 8 people I think, maybe more, we were just two so had the whole place to ourselves. We could come and go as we pleased, cook our own food etc whilst literally falling out our front door and into the bar for beers or a carafe which we could take back to our cottage. Great memory of the love of my life teaching me how to play poker outside our Hansel and Gretel cottage at night with a lovely starry sky above us, friendly staff around us, two massive steins in front of us and a gentle hum of conversation floating from the restaurant. The breakfast is great, a lovely breakfast buffet every morning with little surprises every day. Try the blueberry muffins if they're available. The hotel has its own bikes which you can take whenever you want, you don't have to pay or book. The restaurant is definitely worth a try, the menu is great - can highly recommend the Deer Goulash. From Bled we went to Salzburg for two nights at the end of our trip, but rather than cart our luggage to Salzburg with us Dietmar let us leave our luggage here and when we returned two days later to collect gave us a gift of a bottle of wine. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Penzion Mayer and were married on the island on the lake. Fabulous setting. We loved the Penzion and agree with what others have said about the location, cleanliness, food, friendliness, etc.
There are people from all over the world that return year after year, so that tells you a bit about the place.

Just a few suggestions if you stay here.
1. If you like to sleep with the windows open, bring ear plugs. The Penzion is next to the Golf Hotel and if your room is on that side of the building, you'll hear a lot of coming and going. Also, people in the restaurant who are up late can be a bit loud.
2. If having a good blow dryer is important, bring your own.
3. Reconfirm your reservation and specifically the room type. Dietmar quickly admitted there was a mistake on ours, and was able to move us for nights 2 and 3. Our friend never moved to a room with a balcony, although she didn't seem to care. I'm sure it doesn't happen often, but it was a bit disappointing to start with that, especially after we'd had our rooms booked for about 8 months.

I can't wait to go back. Such a magical place and wonderful for a wedding.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very friendly owners and staff made our first holiday in Slovenia a real pleasure. The hotel is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and with everything we wanted and needed. It is very close to the lake and the centre, but quiet. The grounds and gardens are beautiful so much so that visitors from a nearby ugly hotel complex came here to have their pictures taken! I find it difficult to say something negative, so I won't! If ever we return to Slovenia, this is the establishment we would choose.
The restaurant and the wine selection are very good indeed, The breakfast spread is very extensive, with mouth-watering home-made morsels and good selections of fresh fruit to complement the usual breakfast items.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have today returned from an 11 day holiday at Penzion Mayer, and it certainly did not disappoint. The hotel is spotless from top to bottom, we were in room 101 which is a spacious room with a large balcony overlooking the very neat and tidy garden. The bathroom is huge with a large corner bath and shower. The whole place is tastefully furnished. The food was amazing, during our 11 night stay the dinner menu was different every night, with everything prepared and presented perfectly. We were staying half board, but if the menu was not to our liking we were able to choose something else. The waiters were charming with a great sense of humour!! Breakfast is a buffet with a huge choice carefully prepared and beautifully presented. This is the best place we have every stayed and everyone works so hard to ensure that guests are happy, nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended. Bled is a beautiful resort in a lovely country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panania, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We certainly picked a good one when we booked this little beauty.Ideal location close to the lake we were impressed with the reception and hospitatility of the hosts of this establishment. The room was perfect overlooking the Lake and was very comfortable. We dined at the restaurant and found to have had the best meal (wild boar) - delicious, during our time overseas.
Free loan bicycles were also available we we put to good use aound the lake. All in all a great addition to the experience we enjoyed in this idyllis setting. Could not recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Try to get one with the lake view. Its not critical but adds to the atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penzion Mayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Mayer

Address: Zeleska c. 7, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#3 Family Hotel in Bled
Also Known As:
Penzion Mayer Bled
Penzion Mayer Hotel Bled

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penzion Mayer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.