We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain dis-honest - be warned and try to confirm what you book !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garni Hotel Jadran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Garni Hotel Jadran to your Saves list
Garni Hotel Jadran
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cesta Svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Bled
England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Plain dis-honest - be warned and try to confirm what you book !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked this hotel through hotels.com where it clearly stated the room had a balcony with view over the lake. Having read other reviews stating they had booked the same but been put in the attic with no balcony or even a window you could look out I decided to email the hotel directly to confirm we had a room with a lake view balcony. The exact email response from receptor Saso was 'of course ' followed by 'a most beautiful room'. Despite this as you have probably guessed by now we arrived to be given the key to a room in the attic with no balcony or window you could see out. I am getting a bit fed up with booking rooms that blatantly don't match the advertised description. I kicked up a bit of a fuss and insisted the receptionist read my email correspondence and we eventually were given a room with an amazing view. It still annoyed me though that he seemed to think he was doing us a favour rather than just giving us what we had booked.

Apart from this the bed was agony and the room did not have the promised mini bar. It did have a fridge which didn't seem to be working and only one socket with a choice to plug in the tv or the fridge. The bathroom had 1970 style brown tiles and a cracked basin.

Breakfast was reasonable except for the usual Luke warm water to make drinks with.

We booked this hotel for the view which was truly lovely once we got the room we booked - without the view I simply would not stay here.

Room Tip: A room with a view is the only reason to stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Garni Hotel Jadran, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,

May I first thank you for staying at the Hotel Jadran and for sharing your experience.
I have checked the situation about your room allocation and would like to apologize because the lake view room hasn't been immediately offered to you. Obviously it must have been a misunderstanding. I also regret if our front staff member hasn't communicated the information properly.

Besides, I am pleased to find out that you were satisfied with a view. As far as the hotel interior is concerned, we are aware of the fact that the hotel hasn't been refurbished for a while. This is also the reason why we changed total flooring and lighting this spring. We plan to continue this way also in future.

Dear guest, I hope to be able to welcome you again and convince you with our services.
Best regards from Lake Bled,

SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, executive director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    35
    19
    11
See reviews for
14
60
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, Staffs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Difficult to rate this hotel ! The views from our balcony overlooking the lake were wonderful and the friendly man on reception was lovely. But, the hotel is VERY dated ( scruffy really ) and badly in need of refurbishment. Breakfast just about acceptable - had much better in other hotels.
Having said that our room was clean, if somewhat small.
Would we stay again ? Maybe not...........

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Garni Hotel Jadran, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Jadran and for your review.
I am pleased to find out that you liked the views and specially friendliness of our front desk staff and cleanliness of the rooms.

Secondly, I would like to apologize as the hotel hasn't been renovated recently. However, we are aware of the fact that it needs some refreshment; this it the reason why we changed whole flooring and lighting this year and will continue with some improvements also next year. I am therefore convinced to improve our guest’s satisfaction with their stay in future.
May I thank you also for your remark about the breakfast – we will immediately add some ingredients and improve its quality.

I wish that we will be able to welcome you again and remain
Sincerely yours,

SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, executive director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Well rather than fill the page with all that's bad I will tell you the good. 1. The most amazing view in Bled from a superb balcony. 2. The very warm and friendly welcome from the man on reception. That is where it stops. The only 2 redeeming features which is why I say 'poor' and not 'terrible'. I will let you imagine the rest but suffice it to say if it's a good nights sleep, in a modern hotel, in a clean room with a decent breakfast you want for your money - stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Beware the man at 6.45 blowing leaves around the car park trying to clear it for 'delegates'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Garni Hotel Jadran, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

May I thank you for your stay at Hotel Jadran.

I agree with you that the views are stunning as the hotel is located very close to the lake. Further, I am pleased to find out that you liked our reception staff services.
As far as the hotel's interior is concerned, we made smaller refurbishment (flooring, lighting) this year and plan to continue with renovations also in future. Of course we wish to keep the traditional character of the hotel. I am therefore convinced, that your possible next stays – which we hope for – will meet your expectations.
Best regards from Lake Bled,

SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, executive director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Jadran for 3 nights in early August. We'd booked a lake view room and had read previous reviews so knew what we'd be getting... namely, a good location with views over the lake but that the hotel overall was a bit dated. Staff we met were all pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was sufficient. Our room on the first floor did look upon the lake, the castle and the hills beyond (once you'd looked over the car park!) - see photos I've added. The double bedroom was quite small and there was no air con but there was a fan provided, which was powerful and quiet (and much needed in the heatwave!) We had a small fridge, wardrobe, dressing table/mirror and old-style television. The bathroom was dated (tiles looked like they were original 1970s ones, which we didn't mind as we like that style anyway!) but well equipped and quite clean, although a bit dark. Hairdryer didn't work though. The balcony looked like it needed a good sweep but it had a pretty view especially with the ivy framing the view (although there were a lot of wasps flying around the ivy, but to be fair they didn't bother us on the balcony itself or come into the room). The hotel was easy to find from the bus 'station' and quite central, being close to, but set back off, the main road and the promenade walks around the lake. Very close to the chair lift/toboggan run (good fun!) Didn't use the facilities of the better sister hotel across the road that were allegedly open to us - there was too much to do in and around the area! Wi-fi was free but a bit hit'n'miss with connection. There was a PC in the lobby that was free to use. General hotel decor is a bit dingy in areas (corridors) but we had no bad experiences so would recommend as long as you understand what you're paying for mostly is the location. For the same price we got a far better quality hotel in Ljubljana city but then, this is Bled - and the scenery is worth it!

Room Tip: A lake view is very much worth the bit extra! It makes up for the hotel's shortfalls ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I arrived with my boyfriend around 7pm at the sister hotel which we had previously booked. However, the friendly receptionist told us due to an overbooking situation we had been moved to the Jadran just 50 metres away. Although wary, he informed us this was in fact a nicer hotel and he was right. We were greeted by extremely friendly staff and quickly given our room key for a room on the first floor with a balcony that overlooked the lake. We could not stop sitting and staring at the beauty of the lake and watching the castle light up at night! The decor is slightly tired as mentioned by others, but we had expected this owing to the cheap price we paid. We also found that combined with the balcony we didn't spend much time inside the room. There was a great free wifi connection and the room had all key features such as a safe and fridge. The breakfast was also good with a range of foods on offer. On our final morning before breakfast we asked the receptionist if she knew of any buses to the station to which she provided us with directions to the bus stop. However, when checking out she had printed off the entire timetable and highlighted all the buses we could get to make our train! We were also allowed to leave our baggage behind the counter all day. The hotel offers drinks if you need, and there is a computer in the lobby which is free to use. We were also provided with passes to a neighbouring 4 star hotel to use the swimming pool which was lovely, would highly recommend doing this! Given free towels here too! The hotel is in a great location with friendly staff and beautiful views! We're going back very soon!

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Encouraged by other reviews describing the fantastic view over the lake and castle from the balconies, I happily paid the extra price to book a room with lake view. Alas, when I arrived I got assigned a fifth floor room, which proved to be without any balcony. Furthermore, the small attic type window, with discolored glass that was partly opaque, couldn't open very far. So the lake view was more of a lake glimpse - though by bending my knees and tilting my neck, I could at least see part of the castle through the crack.

I am sure the lake view is as fantastic as described by others from the balconies below. If you want a true lake view for your money, make sure the hotel guarantees you a room below the fifth floor when booking, or you might end up disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Garni Hotel Jadran, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Hotel Jadran.
I am sorry to find out your experience about a lake view from the room. Hotel Jadran is an old hotel with very different rooms therefore they are not of the same type. Rooms in the top floor don't have balconies. Unfortunately it also wasn't possible to offer you another room as the hotel is more or less fully booked through the summer season.

Please accept my apology if the view hasn't met your expectations. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again and offer you accommodation in another type of room.
Sincerely yours,

SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, executive director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As with all budget hotels, there are always some parts of the offering which are less attractive ... the decor is a bit tired .. the breakfast choice is quite limited ... the car park is very cramped (and if a coach party visits and the coach parks up there, moving your car becomes 'interesting.'). On the positive side, the front rooms give you great views over the lake and Bled castle which makes up for a lot of imperfections, the staff are lovely, and you are within minutes of the centre of Bled.

Room Tip: I had a first floor room and it could be quite noisy as it was above the front door and people would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savica Hotel
Savica Hotel
#9 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Lovec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gorenka
Vila Gorenka
#16 of 23 in Bled
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Hotel Jadran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Hotel Jadran

Address: Cesta Svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Hotel Jadran 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jadran Hotel is located close to the shore of Lake Bled. Most of the 45 rooms have a balcony, en suite bathroom, direct dial telephone, cable television and mini bar. In addition, half of the rooms have a beautiful view of the lake and castle, while the remainder look across the peaceful greenery of the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Garni Hotel Jadran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garni Hotel Jadran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.