We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria Bled

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria Bled to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria Bled
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Presernova 44, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here last week and were very impressed. The food was very good and varied. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We had a good buffet breakfast and evening meal, a packed lunch if requested and free afternoon tea and biscuits. The hotel was central to all activities -the lake was a 2 minute walk and the main bus stop was right outside the hotel. The rooms are very clean and comfortable if a little uninspired decor wise. There is still a little building work going on out the back as they finish the spa facilities, which weren't open when we were there, but at no time was there any intrusive noise. All in all we found it excellent value for money.

Lorna H

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have balconies, but are slightly smaller unless you pay a bit extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
87
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This Hotel was superb and to a very high standard throughout. An excellent service was provided by all the staff. I personally found it very easy to relax and unwind.

When taking a trip out the provision of a packed lunch was excellent. The catering staff were very good in providing that "extra something" for special dietary needs.

Both my husband and I COULD NOT fault anything and we would certainly come back to this hotel on our next trip back to Bled.

Room Tip: Would recommend to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a choir tour with 50 other guests for a week. Everywhere had been refurbished, with everything in the hotel being brand new. In fact, some of the facilities were yet to be finished. The rooms are to a high standard. It lacks a little soul, with quite a corporate hotel feel, but the staff are friendly and the food is fine. I would have no qualms about returning here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Astoria has now closed for 6/7 months for significant redevelopment of the public areas and the construction of a swimming pool.These developments are well overdue. On the credit side the food was plentiful and of good quality and the staff were marvellous. The free packed lunches which were part of our Inghams package could have fed half a dozen people easily

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We booked this hotel for 1 night. The pictures shown on the website with nice and new rooms are not what they are going to give you. Those are not my words but from the recepcionist of the hotel. They are going to give you a room in the back of the hotel that is old and dirty. I will try to summarize some of the features of this "great" hotel. The room is about 3m X 3m long, there is a dirty pink curtain, a 14 inches BROKEN TV, the minibar was noisy and the carpet was also dirty. Moving to the bathroom the mirror was brown (don't ask me why or how) , The shower' curtain was so short that when I tried to take a shower the floor got flooded. Obviously the shower was not fixed on the wall so I basically took a "shower" with a hose. Yet in the bathroom there was a leak. I was great to brush my teeth with water falling in my head.

If it is not enough for you I have to tell you that the staff is a ridiculous as the room we got. When I complained to the recepcionist about the room he laugh and pretended to call his "manager" to ask him what could be done about it. After about 10 seconds of conversation he hung up and said "Sorry but when you book rooms through agencies that's the type of room guests get. If you had booked directly with us, you would get another type of room". A shame, fraud! DO NOT TRUST THE PICTURES YOU SEE ON THE WEBSITE!!! There are lots of good options in Bled and you don't need to stay in the dump place!

If you still want to book this hotel, go ahead the bed was clean...

Room Tip: A good tip is to DO NOT stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled A, Director of Sales at Hotel Astoria Bled, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guests,

We are proud to announce that after a year of closure due to renovation, hotel Astoria is reopened. We have completely refurbished all public areas of the hotel (restaurant, lobby, bar, terrace) and rooms which are now equipped with modern amenties: airconditioning, safe, lcd tv and complimentary wireless internet. In addition to great location in the heart of Bled, we manage s restaurant at Bled Castle. Still opening in 2013: Wellness Astoria featuring sauna world, jacuzzis, massaged, experience showers, etc.
We kindly invite you to visit us and let us show you we are one of the top hotels in Bled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We arrived late by a train for Venice. We couldn't get a taxi as the restaurant near the train station told us so we decided to walk the 2,6 km to reach the hotel. Okay, that was not really pleasant so we were not so happy when arrived to the hotel.

BUT! What a great surprise to see some efficient, kindly staff at the main desk! We were hungry and the restaurants near the hotel were closing in an hour so the guy at the desk did our check-in while we went dropping our luggages in our room and then he suggested us a great place.

The room was big, clean and the washroom was really convenient. The breakfast was good enough to start a great day of walk at Bled. The downtown is at 8 minutes from the hotel. The city is small so you can see everything you want by walking not more than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We arrived late in Bled late at night after spending all day on the train from Split, Croatia. We were hot and exhausted, and we couldn't get the AC to work in the room we were assigned. We called the front desk to complain, and someone came upstairs to try to help us with the AC. He couldn't get it to work either, so we were immediately changed to an "upgraded" room where the AC did work.

To be honest, I didn't see much difference between the upgraded room and the first one we were assigned, other than the AC working. Both were clean, had a fridge, a small balcony, etc. I expected more from the upgrade besides the AC, but it really wasn't a big disappointment. We had only planned to stay two nights, but we so enjoyed the town that we decided to spend a third night.

Breakfast was good - not spectacular, but perfectly acceptable. For the most part all employees we met were very pleasant.

This was our first time in Bled, and we loved it. The hotel was a bit farther from the lake and some of the restaurants than other hotels were, but the town is so beautiful that you'll enjoy walking around. We thought it was great, and we'd stay at the Hotel Astoria again if the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Bled

Address: Presernova 44, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria Bled 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality & simple elegance in the heart of Bled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astoria Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria Bled, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.