We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in Bled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ace of Spades Hostel

Ace of Spades Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ace of Spades Hostel to your Saves list
Ace of Spades Hostel
Presernova cesta 41A, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great stay in Bled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was really pleased by this hostel and his owner, Klemen.
The hostel is close to the main bus station and next to a small supermarket, there's a really well equipped kitchen with television where you can cook and meet all the people from the hostel.
All the hostel is cleaned everyday, the beds are really comfortable with a duvet, and all the decorations is made in black and white with beautiful pictures of bled everywhere took by Klemen. It's really modern and clean.
There is no reception so we ring the bell and Klemen came right away to help us. He's from the region and can give you any advices you need.
He 's totally dedicated to his business, he renovate the castle hostel next to this one, show us the work he's doing, in the same time he help the people who's coming at the hostel and still got time for us to bring us to the Vintgar gorges for free and after we visited he brought us to the best landscape point for the view of the lake.
The hostel works with a good organization to made tours in the triglav, paragliding...
People are drinking at night in the kitchen of the hostel, it's cheaper then bars and with friendly ambiance, and Klemen even brought beers for everyone.
I would recommend not only this hostel but his owner also who will made you have the best stay in Bled.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
8
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pros: great laidback atmosphere
Easy to meet other travellers (either in the kitchen or on the grass outside)
New kitchen with all utensils necessary (no microwave though!)
Great location - short walk to bus station and lake and opposite supermarket
Super Friendly approachable owner/workers who are locals so know all the things to do and they organise free tours to the gorge & up to a really nice viewpoint

Cons: only 2 lockers in the 12 bed dorm (but plenty of cupboard space)
It was a little hot in the rooms at night on the 30+degree days with no ac

Things to note: the place is a little hard to find coz there is no obvious signage and there are 2 entrances.. The kitchen at the back road and computer lobby area on the front road. If you follow the directions as per the website it IS the white building that looks like an apartment even if you don't think it is. There is a picture of an ace of spades on the translucent door. There Is NO reception area so RING THE DOORBELL at the front and someone will come out to help you.

There is no common room but everyone hangs in either the kitchen or best of all on the grass lawn just chilling out the front :)

I stayed extra days coz Bled is beautiful and i loved the hostel. The kitchen is so nice to use that i didn't even eat out so saved heaps of money coz it was more fun to cook and meet other people. The free transfer to the gorge was great and you really do end up saving paying the €20 that other companies charge just for the transfer

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hostel is really one of the nicest that I've ever stayed in. I think it has recently been re-done because all of the facilities are very modern and clean. Can't fault the hostel at all and the owner, Klemen was very welcoming and helpful - he even drove us to the train station! Overall a really great hostel and in a central location in Bled.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

travelling at lake bled with almost no command of slovenian was still really amazing because the guys at ace of spades were really helpful and knew what backpackers like us really wanted. it was really cool and we managed to tour around the gorge and the national park so that was really fulfilling. really good value and they're very amazing people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Facilities are great, clean bedroom, hot showers, and big kitchen. Loved my time there, guys who ran it created a cool atmosphere which makes it easy for solo travelers to meet new people and also groups to do some cool activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The guys who run ace of spades are really knowledgeable and generous. They know the area so well, can point you in the right direction, whatever your interests are. Went canyoning and rafting and jumped off a bridge, amongst other things. Good prices, good time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baqueira, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Really really friendly the guy of the hostel! He offered us a free tour to Vintgar gorge in the National Park and later to a great view of Bled in a hill who costs 20 euros in an agency and offered for leave us for free too to the train station. The hostel is new and really clean. 100% sure I'm going to go there again if I come back to Bled!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#7 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#5 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hostel 1004
Castle Hostel 1004
#5 of 72 in Bled
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jazz Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace of Spades Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace of Spades Hostel

Address: Presernova cesta 41A, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ace of spades offers great staying in a new hostel with years of experience. Friendly, English speaking staff provide tourist information for all the sights you must not miss around town. Free bed linen, free WiFi, no lockout and much more are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Ace of Spades Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace of Spades Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.