We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Istra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Istra to your Saves list
Vila Istra
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cesta Svobode 35, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 56 Bled B&B and Inns
Golan Heights
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Comfort plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late after a mix up in another hotel. They had one room left - actually, it was a fabulous suite. Two huge bedrooms, large living room, balconies galore, furnished for royalty.
We mentioned to the manager that we were looking forward to Cream Cake at the Park Hotel. 20 minutes later a knock on the door and there stood the doorman with 2 pieces of Cream Cake from the Park!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Location was amazing.. our room balcony overlooked Lake Bled.We stayed in a 2 bed roomed suite, and the rooms were large and comfortable. The wi-fi network worked very well. Its a 25-30 min walk to the Bled castle, but the walk by the lake side is very beautiful and pleasant. The city center with all shops and restaurants is a10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna BC Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Vila Istra is one of the most beautiful places that we have ever stayed in. 50 feet from the lake, and we were lucky to be in a suite facing the lake with two balconies offering two different views of the spectacular Bled scenery. One offered a view of the Island church, although a little obscured by a tree acros the street, and a second which provided an unobstructed view of the Castle. The decor and furnishings in the Vila are breathtaking! Staff were very helpful, with suggestions for activities, restaurants, maps etc.Breakfast was prepared individually for each guest, at a time agreed upon the night before.
This is a special place! We feel fortunate to have been able to stay there , and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite A, which had 2 bedrooms and two separate balconies, each with impeccable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in November 2012. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating from the moment we arrived until we left. They upgraded us, gave us coffee when we were waiting in reception, provided a list of restaurants, advised us on key things to see and how to get there, booked cycles for us, they even drove us to Lesce Bled Station when we left so we did not have to get a cab. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. The lake view room was lovely. Vila Istra is about 1km from the main street in Bled but its an easy walk and very picturesque - we think its actually preferable to stay slightly away from the town as its quieter and the view of the island from the villa is beautiful. This is a great place to stay, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The vila is really great. It starts with the booking as the owner is very friendly and helpful from the first email. Once there you will receive a warm welcome with plenty of good advices on what to do or where to eat. Place itself is almost on the lake (cross the street and you in the water). Appartments are spacious, clean and well equipped. Bled itself is within walking distance. Breakfast is optional for extra charge and worth it as it is all fresh and very rich. Hope to be there again.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the appartments with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very nice villa with extremely comfortable apartments in a great location at Lake Bled. The owners were extremely friendly and very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. Great breakfast too! Great views too. Perfect for a family traveling with two small kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The place is very clean withh high standards , free wifi, appatrments are clean, big, great lake view and nice decorated.
The owner who also own vila Mia is open, helpful and welcome type who was happy to assist any time.

Breakfast is an opyion for €9 per person, we did not try it as we had breakfast at the room - there is nice food store in a walking distncd.

Room Tip: We had appt. A which was 2 sleeping rooms and living room - great for 2+2 . O pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Istra

Address: Cesta Svobode 35, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Istra is a modern luxury hotel on the water front of Lake Bled. With its own private access directly from main road, free WiFi, parking, spacious stylish room, friendly staff you will enjoy memorable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Vila Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Istra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.