We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Bled

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Bled to your Saves list
Vila Bled
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Svobode 26, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unforgettable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Location of this hotel is fantastic! The rooms are huge and comfortable. We were ready for the 50's decor but blown away by the views of the lake, island and castle. We stayed in two suites, a lakeview and woods view, I think they were 104 and 107? The lakeview was amazing and the other one was for the kids. However, their room got warmer and was smaller than ours. The lakeside suite was very large and we could have all stayed in it confortably. We hung out at the private lakeside deck where the kids loved diving in and swimming around. There we would take the rowboats out to the island...it was so relaxing! We would take the bikes out each morning and go around the lake before our amazing breakfast. In July, Lake Bled starts getting crowded but not at Villa Bled. It is far enough removed to be quiet but close enough to go in town for meals or ice cream. The "chambermaids" were so sweet and the rest of the staff was pleasant. They are not gushing or trying to impress but helpful when asked for anything. Finally, i got a kick out of my 9 year old playing the Internet game Club Penquin on Tito's desk. I had to take a picture! It is the nicest place in the area. Although the Grand Toplice is nice, it is noisy and not as private because of it's location on the road.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    53
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
99
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
saint louis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We loved this hotel for its quirky 1950s feel and unusual service. Our rooms were huge, very clean and had wonderful views of the lake. The bathroom was large, clean and bright. The furnishings are in perfect shape and look straight from the 1950s... but not in a shabby, beat up way. I wish we could have stayed there in Tito's time to see the hotel in its heyday.
The breakfast buffet was excellent but it was rather difficult to get more coffee or other help from the waiters. Dinner was excellent and worth the time and price. It had another time warp feel to it and we enjoyed the great service and food.
The front desk is intimidating and they are not an outgoing and friendly group. They did not mention all of the frills that came with the room-- the free bikes, the free boat ride, tea in the adjoining building. But when asked for something, they were helpful and courteous. We all had some good laughs catching them playing online poker in the back!
We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Although Tito's villa in Bled is now a hotel, it retains a private villa feel, especially when, as during our visit, there are few guests staying there. The whole building and decor have probably changed little since the 1960's. Cosy and homely it isn't but that is not what you would expect from a building designed to accommodate a head of state and his cronies. Our "room" was in fact a large suite with high ceilings overlooking the lake, with lobby, sitting room, bedroom and a bathroom with a large bath, ideal for long soaking after walking around Bled and its unique lake.
There is a large and plush bar and restaurant serving excellent cuisine - the tasting menu is definitely worth trying and unlike a previous reviewer we found the food to be delicious, subtle and light. There is a pumpkin and lemongrass soup with truffles which is exceptional. The wine list is extensive and the staff were very knowledgeable about the wines they recommended, essential as Slovenian wines, although excellent, are not that well known - at least not to me.
Although the architecture might seem austere, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly making our stay in Vila Bled a very pleasurable one.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed two wonderful nights at the Villa Bled on September 10-11, 2007.

While looking for an interesting extension to a trip to Venice, we learned that Tito’s former summer palace on Lake Bled was now a Relais & Chateaux hotel. Too exciting to pass up, we built a 5-day circuit through western Slovenia around a visit to Villa Bled.

We expected this to be a window into how the big-named Communists lived, and we were not disappointed. Well maintained but little changed, the Villa Bled displays an unsmiling (but ultimately quite friendly) black-dressed matron at the front desk, 50’s vintage sterile-granite elegance, and huge multi-room suites designed to house dignitaries from abroad. Our suite (for just the two of us) started with an ante-room, that led to a dining room, that opened into an oversized office replete with desk and built-in cabinetry for conducting business of state. Beyond that, hefty French doors opened (at last) into the master bedroom, very large and with a huge marble bath en suite. That Communist bigwigs lived differently from the adored masses was highlighted by the priceless maid call-button next to every bed. Sadly this suite lacked the lake views we wanted (a booking error by Relais & Chateaux), but the Villa gladly moved us the next morning into a mere 2-room suite with the spectacular views we had hoped for.

Do not miss walking up the not-so-grand staircase from the lobby and into the ball room, which is encircled with Tito’s prized murals, brightly depicting the victories of the People’s Red Army. It is adjacent to a modern-looking business/conference center.

We were at the Villa for the throw-back experience, and so even enjoyed the Communist-era inefficiencies that abounded. For example, asking for a cocktail before dinner, we were directed to Tito’s bar, a spacious room at the rear of the lobby where Tito apparently did much of his entertaining. There was a fully stocked bar but . . . no bartender. Eventually we asked at the front desk, and after while a waiter was pulled from the dining room to serve us. So for us to have a drink, someone had to wait for supper. Another hotel would turn the bar into a money-maker, a great way to gain business from travelers staying at other hotels. But here, the bar was historic dead space. We loved it, sipping our drinks and trying our best (unsuccessfully!) not to talk in bad-guy accents straight out of Soviet-era James Bond movies.

Dinner at Villa Bled was another treat. The large and austere dining room was staffed by lovely and eager servers. Everyone in Slovenia, it seems, speaks excellent English, and this was certainly true of the staff in the restaurant and throughout the Villa Bled. The kitchen was headed by Slovenia’s only Michelin-starred chef and the meal was a nostalgic wonder, my sense being that the menu has gone without change for decades. We ate superbly prepared Cordon Bleu cuisine, featuring dishes (e.g., aspic laden salads, meats in pastry) one would not have seen on a menu in, say, New York for decades. The perfect retro experience for this venue.

The Belvedere Pavilion is a separate building on the grounds, where afternoon tea and snacks can be purchased. Apparently used by Tito for entertaining his guests, this offers wonderful lake views and more Communist-era art on the walls. A cup of tea and a pastry there was a wonderful end to our stroll around the lake.

Villa Bled is an excellent high-end base for touring this beautiful sub-Alpine corner of Slovenia. As other reviewers have noted, it does not provide all the up-to-date luxe of a 21st Century 5-star boutique. And thank goodness for that. It is a well-priced and comfortable blast from the past, the best reason of all to visit!!

  • Liked — Large, comfortable, historic
  • Disliked — Air-powered mechanical mattresses are interesting, but not very comfortable
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

The Vila Bled is on the outskirts of the small town of Bled -- approximately a 15-20 minute walk from the town. It commands a spectacular view of the Lake and the beautiful Church on the island. Since the whole area is so great for walking, this attribute of being a bit out of town is a good one. The amenities of the hotel are top notch. There's something just a bit off-putting about the 1950s decor, but it grows on you. What also deserves mention is the beautiful grounds that the hotel sits on. You can relax in great comfort where world leaders visiting the old Yugoslavia were taken to be impressed. The hotel's restaurant is excellent. While the prices are high for Slovenia, they are not shocking for a top drawer restaurant. The staff at the hotel is friendly, the breakfast is lovely and the location cannot be beat.

  • Liked — Huge suite with great views.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

Just spent two nights at Vila Bled - location is perfect - candlelit dinner on the terrace with lake view in thunder storm a fantastic experience. Food is best we had in Slovenia - first class standard anywhere in the world actually. Rooms good and big and excellent standard but ours suffered from (very) early morning delivery noise and no air con meant we had the windows open - oh and mosquitos - best to ask if they can give you anti mosquito plug ins if you don't want to get bitten alive. Sauna, steam room and jacuzzi now on site and you can have massages, aromatherapy massages etc. Free use of rowing boats and there's a small private lido area by the lake with loungers and changing facilities and a small swimming area. All in all a very good first class hotel with the facilities and food you'd expect. You can hire bikes at reception but it's a lot cheaper to do this in the town itself. Free internet access. Two nights B and B for three and two dinners - two courses with wine and aperitifs came to 950 Euros so it's not cheap but a very nice treat!

  • Liked — historical connections and quality
  • Disliked — early morning noise, mosquitos and no air con
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

Vila Beld is located right on the shore of beautiful Lake Bled on the western edge of the busy town of Bled. The grounds of this property are beautiful; no wonder Tito entertained here. This is an upscale property affiliated with Relais et Chateaux and the prices are not for the squeamish. You will be rewarded with a very comfortable, large room, a breakfast with a bounty of options, outstanding views of Lake Bled and if you are so inclined a top notch restaurant for al freco dining as the sun sets over the lake. The staff are very attentive as should be expected at a property in this price bracket.

  • Liked — The views, the restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#7 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Lovec
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#3 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Bled

Address: C Svobode 26, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bled
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#4 Family Hotel in Bled
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Bled 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Vila Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Bled Hotel Bled
Vila Hotel Bled
Bled Vila Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Bled, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.