We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Bled Cream Cake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Bled

Lake Bled
Bled, Slovenia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$97*
and up
Bled and Bohinj Valley Tour from Ljubljana
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Bled
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Bodies of Water, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Activities: Getting married, Biking, Hiking
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lake Bled Cream Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Most anywhere in Slovenia, the most delightful (but very caloric) dessert is Lake Bled Cream Cake! Indulge!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,523
    338
    47
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camden Town, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not the best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our friend recommended a stay here as she traveled around Europe and really loved it. However, she went in the height of summer and stupidly we booked 6 nights in April, completely off season and considering Bled is a tourist town everything was shut. We arrived at 6 in the evening and we went out to an awful Chinese restaurant (Peking- dont go there!!) looked round in the evening, and even by then we thought we had seen everything.

The next day in the day light we could see that the lake was beautiful, obviously, but unfortunately it is surrounded by very big tacky empty hotels near the town and it sort of spoils the natural beauty. Saying that, it is a nice walk around the lake and there is some hiking you can do.

The next day we decided to go to Ljubljana and that was nothing that special either. However, we do live in an amazing city ourselves (London) so I think we maybe a little hard to impress!

What saved the day for us is that we decided to spend the rest of the trip skiing and found an amazing ski resort about a 40 min bus ride from Bled. Its called Vogel and absolutely stunning, it is very cheap to go skiing there off season and we had the best time EVER.

So we spent the rest of the trip skiing which made us absolutely love our holiday. Nevertheless, if we had spent the whole time in Lake Bled it would have been absolutely DIRE!

So go there either in summer or in winter, probably 1 or 2 nights max! We thought it would be relaxing to stay somewhere quiet since we live near central london and its manic..but it really wasnt relaxing, just dead boring in Bled.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bled, a beautiful little discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The lake is beautiful, even in the late winter. It was pretty chilly while we were here, but that didn't stop us from enjoying the sites! I highly recommend renting a row boat (10 euro) and rowing to the island where the Church of the Assumption sits. What a fun experience! The 99 steps are amazing, but not for the weak kneed! ;o) Bled Castle has the best view of any castle I have been to, by far. The castle grounds are amazingly welcoming and there is a monk in the vintage winery that will help you bottle you very own wine~which is a lot of fun! There are many more things to do, I just felt I should comment on the two main 'tourist' attractions in this review. I highly recommend a visit!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited in April, before the crowds arrived. The setting is superb! We toured the castle, took a boat to the island with the famous church, walked around the entire lake (could have rented a bike to do it too!). I could easily imagine spending a week in the region. The views of the Julian Alps are unforgetable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The walk around Lake Bled is a pleasant way to spend a few hours. Our fall walk took a bit longer than expected because I was constantly stopping to take photos. As you make your way around the lake, you have 360 degree views of the mid-lake island and frequent vistas of the overlooking castle (which you should also visit). As a result of my constant stopping, we had to hurry back to our tour bus, grabbing a burek sandwich at a take-out window. We missed the chance to eat the signature dessert that the area is famous for.

On the south side of the lake, those with extra time can visit Marshall Tito's residence.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Bled also viewed

Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Lake Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Bled, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.