We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kompas Hotel Bled

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kompas Hotel Bled to your Saves list
Kompas Hotel Bled
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankarjeva 2, Bled SI-4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The staff on the front desk are welcoming at all times of the day. We arrived after being delayed at Gatwick, but the staff had left a cold chicken salad in our room.
The room was comfortable and had a nice balcony that had limited views of the lake but a good view of the Castle.
The food was adequate, but I would advise anyone who wants it hot and those who want to have a choice from the full range of food on offer should arrive in the Dining Room early - as close to 7:00pm as possible. We didn't see any food replaced more than once.
The air con worked well and the room was cleaned well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    55
    36
    14
    2
See reviews for
34
48
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We are staying at the Kompas Hotel to for a tourist visit to Bled (superb destination in Slovenia).
We were assigned a corner room at first floor. The room was nice, but the noise made it impossible to sleep: the entrance to the parking lot was in front (and all the nose went in) and early in the morning the nose from the breakfast activity in the kitchen or dinning room was so loud as if all the people where inside the room.
To my complain we were moved to another room. Packed all our stuff again and left the bags in the room to be moved to our new room.
When we came back of our day out, we found ourselves in a room almost half the size of the previous one. Half the size of the bathroom, half the size of the closet (there is no place to lay our clothes inside!) and even no place to put a bag on something to be used as an emergency closet.
We actually are €145 per night in Slovenia to have a room that you can not move inside and using a bag as emergency closet.
solution offered by the reception: you want to move again? I answered NO. I'm am on vacations , not to move every day from room to room. (The person at the front desk even tried to convince me the the room are of the same size. I asked at least not to be treated as a stupid)
I expect to get a minimum level of service from an hotel (any hotel), specially if the hotel promote itself as a high level hotel.
Be aware and keep yourselves away from the Kompas

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aljoša Š, Director of Sales at Kompas Hotel Bled, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to reply to your review on TripAdvisor while you are still staying at our hotel, and add some comments to what has happened since your posting. We have done our utmost to assign you a room according to your taste, although the hotel is fully booked at the moment. Since your review has been posted, we moved you upon your wish to a third room, which we hope you find in line with your wishes. In addition, we would like to add that you have booked a standard room at our hotel, and the rate you are paying is 115 € for the first four nights of your stay, and 124 € for the last night (not 145 € as mention in your review). We sincerely hope our actions to fulfil your expectations have improved your impression of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Best regards,

Aljoša Štraus
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Good location, good food, welcoming staff. First floor rooms are less recomended. Really good service. We stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed!
The hotel's management recommends further improve the level of cleanliness in the rooms

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Do not get duped by the pictures of the hotel. When we booked, we thought that the hotel was at the lake, so it said on the hotel description. when we arrived, we found out that the hotel was on the hill way fare from the lake.Also the hotel staff wasn't friendly

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aljoša Š, Director of Sales at Kompas Hotel Bled, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you thought our Hotel Kompas was directly on the lake shore and would appreciate if you let us know on which site you were looking at the pictures which you describe as “deceiving”. Fact is that the photos on our official website www.kompashotel.com do not show the hotel as being on the lake shore, and neither does the description on the “About the hotel” page (http://www.kompashotel.com/en/about-the-hotel/) claim so, which says: “Hotel Kompas is situated on a small hill right in the heart of Bled.” The directions to our hotel given on our webpage also clearly emphasize that the hotel is on a small hill, which is also visible from the map on the same page. Thank you for your attention.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Best regards,

Aljoša Štraus
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just been at the hotel this week. The location is excellent if you are after staying next to Lake Bled. Free bicycle use is great and recommended for those who like to cycle and to view the lake perimeter in about 20 to 30 minutes. If you intend swimming go for the lake. Forget the smallish pool. Rooms are generally comfortable with good food served and nice staff.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The view that the room has is not only the actual view, but also the feeling that the hotel enables the occupant to cherish. Watching the tower over the cliff and the church of St Marten, provides the viewer with serenity and peace. The actual lake is so delicate that you seem as if walking in a dream. It looks as if one is on the doorstep to heaven.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is a little set back from the lake but only a short walk to the front. The hotel is a 4* which I would agree with in the room and facilties, but I would say the recpetion and dining is more 3*.
The pool is indoor despite them saying part indoor and outdoor, they basically mean they open the doors to the outside. They have a gym and squash facilities and in the garden area table tennis and trampeline. Air con is ready available free of charge and so is the safe. There is also tea and coffee making facilities and bath rob and slippers, but you have to ask for these. Our bed was so comfy and although we didn't pay for lake view we had a nice view of the castle and mountains. The food was buffet and I would say average but there was plenty of choice. Free hire of bikes also available although they are old.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room thats lake side but don't pay extra for view as it will still be a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kompas Hotel Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kompas Hotel Bled

Address: Cankarjeva 2, Bled SI-4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bled
#6 Spa Hotel in Bled
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#10 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kompas Hotel Bled 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The silhouette of the Hotel Kompas, with its triangular roof mimicking the surrounding mountains, already prepares the guest for the traditional hospitality awaiting inside. The traditionally designed furnishings of the guest rooms, the delicious food, a sun terrace with magnificent views, fitness and relaxation areas and a multitude of accessible outdoor activities provide an ideal setting for any vacation.With its 95 rooms and suites, restaurant and coffee shop, Hotel Kompas is conveniently located in the heart of Bled, giving access to Lake Bled, with its beautiful lakeside promenade and park only a few minutes away. Indoors, Hotel Kompas provides excellent relaxation and fitness facilities - offering swimming pool and saunas, fitness centre, squash courts and massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kompas Hotel Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bled
Bled Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kompas Hotel Bled, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.