We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, unforgettable experience, almost shed a tear to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Toplice

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Toplice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toplice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Newcastle/Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing, unforgettable experience, almost shed a tear to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

My friend and I stayed for two nights and will never forget it. We were travelling around Croatia and Slovenia and arrived at Bled in the early evening looking for somewhere to stay. We thought that The Grand Toplice would be out of our price range but decided to enquire anyway. We are so glad we did as the helpful receptionist gave us a huge discount and a lakeside room with amazing views. We spent a day in the spa having treatments and using the facilities. As it was out of season the hotel was quiet and we had the spa to ourselves. The pool was pretty cold though! The breakfast was amazing; very varied. The staff were always helpful went out of their way to help us. The drinks in the bar were expensive but as soon as we sat down one of the staff came into the lounge and began playing the piano which was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    118
    52
    17
    5
See reviews for
57
201
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed here in September 09 which was our second visit. The hotel is lovely with fantastic views of the lake. The pool is very cold but the lido was a reasonable temperature. The service was good and we would certainly return again in the future

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

My partner and i went to lake bled to get married and we stayed at the hotel toplice.It was truly magical from start to finish.The wedding was everything and more than we had hoped for. Lake bled was winterwonderland, the hotel was beautiful,the staff were great,they couldnt do enough for us.I have not got a single complaint. My husband and i cant wait to go back on our first anniversary and wouldnt stay anywhere else other than Hotel Toplice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

When it comes to accommodation, the Grand Hotel Toplice is the undisputed gem of Lake Bled. Albeit a bit pricey, its location can't be beat--the hotel rests firmly on the lakeshore opposite the imposing Bled Castle. Panoramic views abound and most major restaurants and attractions are within walking distance.

We were duly impressed by the breakfast buffet included in the price of our room. It offered unlimited fruit, pastries, pancakes (European style--think "French crepes"), cooked-to-order egg dishes, and more. A great way to start the morning.

The staff was accommodating, though a bit grudgingly at times. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a lakeview suite upon arrival, which we most appreciated (we had booked a standard lakeview room).

The decor was pleasant, our room was quiet, and our ensuite bathroom featured every amenity possible. One of the bulbs did burn out in our bedroom, however, and it seemed to take an act of Congress to get it changed. We never did manage to get it replaced during our stay after repeated requests.

Parking was a nightmare--very tight spaces on a busy road. If you weren't fortunate enough to secure a spot close to the hotel, you could end up walking quite a distance down a very narrow street.

The property's spa was average, but we enjoyed our visit. All in all, we had a pleasant 5-day stay. After seeing some of the other hotels, their decor and locations, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

The hotel setting is beautiful and convenient, the best in Bled. The view from our lakeside room across to the castle was magical. The room was fine but not as large as we hoped. We discovered that some were much larger. But it had everything we wanted with a very smart bathroom. We turned down a suite because we preferred one larger room to two smaller ones. The hotel is traditional and comfortable. Food was always enjoyable. Service was very good and If we asked for information about anything it was given in a helpful way. Staff tended to be quiet and unobtrusive. Sometimes it would have been useful to have been given more information, e.g. There is no breakfast menu, but breakfasts are cooked to order when requested. We might not have known this if we had not seen bacon and egg being served to people. Wine is quite expensive, but the house wine is cheaper coming in two or three glass caraffes.

We can well understand why people keep returning to the hotel and to Bled itself, especially if your idea of a great holiday is comfort, peace and wonderful scenery.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We have just spent a wonderful week at the Grand Hotel Toplice in Bled.
Our lakeside room was excellent with comfortable adjustable beds and air conditioning. The only critcism was the shower, which was a spray attached to the bath taps and usually sprayed all over the floor.
The staff were extremely courteous and friendly and very helpful. It does help to attempt a please and thank you in Slovenian.
The food was wonderful with a good choice, and plenty of fruit and vegetables. The only criticism here would be the breakfast coffee which could have been hotter.
We particularly enjoyed the pianist playing every night at dinner.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Location on the lake can't be bettered but 5 star it isn't. Service can be surly and some staff either poorly trained or couldn't care a less. If you book on a discounted website the chances are you will get a room at the back, overlooking the road - not the lake. Mattresses in non lake side rooms are thin foam over an upholstered base and haven't been changed since the hotel's last renovation in 2002. Lake side rooms, which carry a supplement have mattresses that can be adjsted to make them harder or softer. Conferences and wedding parties can monopolise the hotel. There is no outdoor pool but a cordoned off section in the lake, and a lovely sundeck with beds and umbrellas. The indoor pool is icy cold and filled with mineral water from nearby springs., very stimulating and skin softening. Saunas are mixed and guests requested to remove all clothes and given a large sheet for modesty. Lots of treatments on offer. An old-fashioned, old school hotel that attracts older people.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toplice

Address: C Svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bled
#3 Spa Hotel in Bled
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#6 Family Hotel in Bled
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Toplice 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront Hotel, located near town center, with magnificent views of ancient castle & Julian Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bled

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Toplice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.