We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with early 20th Century charm, great food and lovely surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Toplice

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Toplice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toplice
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C Svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Bled
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hotel with early 20th Century charm, great food and lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We travelled to Slovenia with a tour group and stayed there for 2 nights in mid-May. The room we stayed in was a lake view room but more like a suite, as it's quite roomy, it had a retro luxury feel and was also quite cosy. When you looked out the window then you saw Bled Lake, Castle and Island, so my partner was able to take night shots of the Castle from the balcony. We had buffet breakfast and 3-course set dinner at the hotel, the food was simple but absolutely delicious, the trout, the sea bass, the salad bar, the roasted vegetables, Pastrami (can be extremely hard to stop eating) , pickles (the best pickles we ever had, it tasted so fresh without additives) and the great dark cholcolate mousse!!! In the mornig, we took a walk along the lake and on our way back to the hotel, we found the cafe that has been famous for its original Bled cream cake! Of course we tried it and loved it!!! Because of Grand HotelToplice, we had a great overall impression of Slovenia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    104
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
54
176
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

While we enjoyed what was probably their best room - top floor, middle balcony, 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and a sitting area, and the views of the lake could not have been better, we were disappointed. This is not 5 star accommodation compared to anywhere else we have travelled. The hotel is old and worn, service is variable and on the gruff side although they say they will do anything to help. There was one AC unit in our suite and it kept one bedroom and the living area cool while the second bedroom remained uncomfortably warm. Breakfast was just "there" compared to the other places we have stayed this week in Slovenia. We loved the rowing on the lake, enjoyed walking around the lake, found the area peaceful and serene. Will probably not return to this hotel though unless there are some major renovations to the facility and the service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Grand Hotel Toplice, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Toplice.
I regret if your stay hasn't met your expectations. We are not planning a major refurbishment of the hotel shortly (many guests like the hotel's old charm) but on the other hand I can assure you that we will pay more attention to our services.

On the other hand, I am pleased that you enjoyed in activities in Lake Bled and still kindly invite you to visit us again.
Sincerely yours,

SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Super location, old world charm, lovely balcony provides super views of the lake and the snow capped mountains.
For Bridge card game addicts, there is a "bridge Room'.
Delicious room service for a late nite dinner and a very good breakfast lay out.
Well equipped sauna and spa facilities

Room Tip: Do take the boat trip to the Church on the island centre of the lake, and the trek up to the Bled ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is true that this hotel has been around the block a few times. However, we believe that the charm and character of the Grand Hotel Toplice make up for any other shortcomings. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous, especially the front desk. The common areas, particularly the lounge, were a bit dated but truly elegant. To the extent breakfast is important to some, the breakfast was very good. Sitting in the main lounge, ordering a glass of wine and hearing from the waiter (Miran?) that he has worked there for 40 years and waited on celebrities and dignitaries from all over the world is what travel is all about. We did not have a view of the lake from our room, but it did not matter. Our room was quiet and comfortable. We loved our stay at the Grand Hotel Toplice.

Room Tip: If you don't or can't get a lake view room, the non-view rooms are comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the lake and benefits from fantastic views of the lake. Staff were friendly and helpful and check- in was smooth and fast. Our room was clean and well- appointed with tea and coffee, robes and slippers. Spacious room with comfy beds and good bathroom.

Breakfast was great with plenty if choice and got and cold options. All in all a great hotel, but be warned the pool is cold!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I cannot stress how disappointed I was in our stay at the Grand Hotel Toplice. My wife and I choose to spend a little more for the 5 star hotel on the lake and we wasted our money. The hotel is old and tired. The views from the restaurant and lounge are spectacular, but if you are on a mountainside room, you have no view, just a noisy road.

Instead of a relaxing few nights on the lake, we had to deal with incessant car noise echoing through our room that was so hot we had to have our doors open (no a/c on the mountain side). To add insult to injury, housekeeping started prior to 8am and spoke loudly in the halls... So much for rest.

On the positive side, the location is fabulous and the breakfast is generous. There are many options in Bled and I would certainly recommend you try a different accommodation. If you insist on staying at the Grand Hotel Toplice, insist on a lakeside room. As for me, I will never ever consider staying at this hotel again and would severely question whether to book with the chain. So disappointed...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Grand Hotel Toplice, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review; I regret if your stay hasn't met your expectations. However, I am pleased that you liked the location and breakfast. I apologize about the noise caused by the housekeeping staff – it shouldn't have happened. I will discuss this issue with the staff personally.

As far as the mountainside rooms are concerned, yes, there is a difference between them and the rooms facing the lake, therefore we offer different prices for them. Still, besides the location of the rooms all other services are the same. But view from the lakeside room is different, of course.
I still hope to be able to welcome you again and remain

Sincerely yours,
Sava Hotels Bled, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I first stayed in the Grand hotel de Bled in 2002 and I truly loved it! I recently went back and nothing had changed in all those years; Beautiful room with a fantastic view on the lake. Impeccable service, friendly concierges and waiters. Rates are very reasonable for such a high standing. I highly recommend this hotel if you pass by Bled.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view on the lake, it's a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toplice

Address: C Svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bled
#4 Spa Hotel in Bled
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#6 Family Hotel in Bled
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Toplice 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront Hotel, located near town center, with magnificent views of ancient castle & Julian Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bled

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Toplice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.