We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Preseren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Preseren to your Saves list
Vila Preseren
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Veslaska promenada 14, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 58 Bled B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely location nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have visited Vila Preseren many times during our stya in Bled because this place enjoys one of the best locations on the lakeside.

Food is good on average, but the salmon carpaccio was totally frozen. Wide selection of delicious cakes, I'd recommend to try the local cream cake.

Service is not outstanding, but they were kind to let my small dog in (it was really freezing outdside, but usually pets are not allowed)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
79
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Vila Preseren is a very small hotel located above a restaurant. There is no front desk, checkin is handled in the restaurant. The location is perfect, right on the lake between the castle and town center. Though, Bled is so small that everything is within easy walking distance. The other reason we picked this hotel is that many of the others in town appeared to be large, impersonal, tour bus catering affairs.

Our room was directly above the restaurant, with a balcony facing the lake. However, upon arrival we realized that only rooms on the second floor (one floor higher) actually have proper lake views. The view from our balcony was mostly blocked by the restaurant patio's rooftop. Still, the room was nice enough, certainly spacious. My only real complaint was that, while I generally do not have a problem with Ikea furnishings, I am not a fan of their beds as they are not the most comfortable in the world. Certainly ok for one night, but I would not have been happy sleeping on it longer than that.

All in all the location was great and the price was right. Breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was very good. I would recommend this hotel for a one night stay, which is really all the time one needs to see Bled.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Vila Preseren and could not have been made to feel more comfortable.

We were there for our wedding, but hadn't told them. As soon as the staff found out, they moved us into a suite for 2 nights with no extra charge and provided us with strawberries, sparkling wine, and chocolate without any request.

The location of this hotel is astonishing - right by the lakeside, nestled at the foot of the castle and church, and a very short walk from the town.

The hotel staff were friendly, generous, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome - we truly cannot thank them enough. We will definitely not hesitate to stay here again and are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Park facing rooms are smaller but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I spent the past weekend at Vila Preseren with my boyfriend, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The hotel is essentially a restaurant with a large terrace, and just a few rooms - there was no reception area; you have to check-in at the bar.

The rooms were brightly decorated and were clean - we were upgraded to a room with a lake view and balcony as our room wasn't ready for us when we got there (we arrived just after midday, so that wasn't the hotel's fault!). For the price, the room was fantastic.

The manager was friendly and attentive - recommending the Vila Mangart for dinner (wonderful food!) and reserving a table for us there.

Breakfast was good : orange juice and tea or coffee, ham and eggs, cheese, bread, sausages - a good start to the day.

The best part of the hotel is its location : right on the lake with a terraced area for lunches and dinners.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms with a balcony are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

As first time visitors to Slovenia we were cautioned to avoid booking any of the sterile, high rise, concrete hotels left over from the communist era. With that in mind we opted for Vila Preseren and were happy with our choice because it's a small hotel-restaurant (perhaps a converted private residence) with a stunning location in a park like setting right on Lake Bled. However, rooms not facing the lake are rather small and dark with no high-end amenities; those facing the lake appeared to be larger and brighter. It seems the emphasis at Vila Preseren is less on the lodging and more on the restaurant. The popular full service restaurant is quite good with an extensive menu and wide range of wines. Weather permitting, be sure to opt for outdoor dining on the terrace/deck with spectacular lake side views, and allow room for the kremsnita or one of the many other decadent desserts. The included breakfast was served by staff and had several cooked offerings and great coffee choices. Internet service was available only in the cafe area and was spotty at best. Strangely, check-in and check-out were handled rather casually at a table in the bar/cafe; different, but it worked. Booking on-line can be confusing and a bit tricky, in part because of possible language difficulties and because Vila Preseren is part of a larger group of hotels apparently booked through the same site. It worked fine but may require careful attention on your part.

Room Tip: Lake views rooms may be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
242 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 743 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I've stayed in many a hotel that happens to have a restaurant. Vila Preseren is a restaurant that happens to have some rooms. Realistically, there is no lobby, no front desk and you check in for your room with the waitstaff at the restaurant.

We visited Lake Bled in Oct. but the weather was great. Sat. afternoon into Sun., the whole lake was packed with families and couples enjoying the beautiful surroundings. I'm sure the area gets much more crowded but it was enjoyable even as the season was winding down. The colors in the trees, reflections on the lake, etc. made the trip from Ljubljana worthwhile. We walked the lake, hiked the Vintgar Gorge and explored the Julian Alps during the day. Outstanding!

The appeal of Vila Preseren is that it is just outside (but walking distance from) the major hub-ub of the busy town where the buses arrive. It is situated right ON the lake. We booked the 2 room suite with the deck overlooking the lake. A mix up in the reservations put our friends in a room the size of a closet facing the back parking lot. Our room was spacious, theirs definitely was not.

The room was clean and the furnishings were fashionable and modern. If you are from the US, think Z Gallery or Crate and Barrel decor. The bed was relatively comfortable as were the linens and towels...not much to write home about but acceptable. Getting the room the right temp. was a challenge as the air conditioner was noisy (both rooms) and fickle. Our room was just above the restaurant so leaving the windows open can be noisy. We were there at the end of the season so we were lucky that the dining crowd dwindled early.....mid-summer this might be more of a problem.

Service was OK. We got our needs met but sometimes it took lots of searching to do so. The staff seems to be pulled in many directions with a busy restaurant to attend to.

We chose the Romantic Package which included dinners and breakfasts. Dinners were satisfactory, not outstanding but we had heard it was still one of the best restaurants in the area so it was easy to just dine downstairs rather than venture into town. I may have preferred the choices off the regular menu however as the package had a set menu with only 1 or 2 entree options. Breakfasts were hardy as the offerings included freshly cooked dishes. The choices included ham and eggs or eggs and ham. It was tasty though as were the plentiful deserts and coffees.

Vila Preseren is a popular spot and I would probably choose it again as I think it is one of the better options in the area. Just adjust your expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed in Vila Bled in winter as there was so much snow we couldn't drive home safley. Vila Prešeren is a small and confortable hotel, located on the lake Bled.
The breakfast was great.

I believe it is even more beautiful in summer, when you can sit at night by the lake.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Lovec
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#5 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Alice Bled
Vila Alice Bled
#16 of 58 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Preseren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Preseren

Address: Veslaska promenada 14, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Preseren 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Preseren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Preseren Hotel Bled

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Preseren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.