We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in all ways....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of restavracija Promenada - CLOSED

restavracija Promenada
Cankarjeva cesta 6, Bled 4260 , Slovenia
(0)4 579 16 40
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leesville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Exceptional in all ways....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was a cold and rainy evening, the restaurant was so inviting...charming and small. They only have one wine menu! Once you are seated, the magic begins. The charming young waitress is knowledgeable about the food and wines and how to pair them...good start....she suggested we enjoy the chef's surprise menu and enjoy we did! Delicate spices blending in mouthwatering combinations....my partner had an appetizer that came with a plate covering it. We removed the plate and this smoky, aromatic steam billowed out...the shrimp inside were tender and smoky...what a delicious treat! The cuttlefish ink ravioli...oh!!!!! From the pumpkin soup to the pistachio ice cream...perfect! Loved the experience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our last dinner of our 10 day vacation and probably our best. The vibe was upscale and seemed more city-like than alpine village-like, but it still had a cozy feel. It's a French influenced menu and it appears that it changes daily. They recommend a prix fixe dinner, but you can get a la carte. Wife just got a meal and I got the prix fixe, which comes with 2 appetizers, 1 entree, and a dessert. I had a smoked tuna appetizer, which was served while still smoking. Good. Can't recall the other. They also serve complimentary french bread with fresh sliced prosciutto. For entrees, we had the turbot in bouillabaisse sauce and the veal back special. Both were outstanding and the veal was served with white truffle mashed potatoes, which were incredible. The dessert was so unique, but delicious...buckwheat ice cream with passion fruit creme brulee. The wine list was solid and service decent. There were fireworks outside when we were there, which just gave the perfect end to a great meal. It's expensive for Bled, but paled in comparison to anything in Venice or Dubrovnik. Reservations weren't necessary

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telaviv
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If u are looking for a good French Restaurant for 40 Euro pp with wine it's a good place.
Slow but good service.You don't choose the menu.The host choose for you the menu so everything including the price is a surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good food, poor service
We had planned a simple dinner after a day of hiking but every place we liked was full and after reading the reviews of this restaurant we dicided to give it a try. I have to admit we weren’t dressed for upscale dining but we looked fairly nice. After being seated it took forever for someone to take our order and get us some drinks. The waitress was pretty rude in the beginning and we even thought of leaving because of that, but I was tired and hungry so we stayed. Food was good but they messed up our order serving my husband the wrong starter. 

Although the food was good I wouldn’t recommend the place, for these prices you should get good food and good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at restavracija Promenada, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience at our Gourmet Restaurant Promenada. We do get very good comments about it so I was a bit surprised when reading it. The food we serve often gets best possible reviews.

We have changed one of our service staff members lately (I believe the one you are writing about) as we also weren't satisfied with her services. Of course I also believe that the waiters should follow the high food standards of the restaurant.

I am sorry if we haven't met your expectations and still hope that you visit us again.

Sincerely yours,
SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“High quality food @ reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate here as it was the nearest restaurant to our hotel, Park Hotel, due to the bad weather on our first evening in Lake Bled. They had an offer of 3 courses for 29euro per person. The waiter was very professional and offered us choices of wine to complement our food.
I had lobster with noodles to start, followed by a main of pike perch with veg. with a dessert of chocolate souffle with cardoman and mango ice cream... delicious. My girlfriend began with a parnish puree, followed by some lamb cutlets and finished with a peach pie - she was also pleased (but not with the salmon in her starter!). Highly recommended. Everything (meals, 2 glasses of wine each & 1 coffee) came to 80euro. We had a look at the set menu the next day but it had'nt changed so we ate elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed restavracija Promenada also viewed

Bled, Upper Carniola Region
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage restavracija Promenada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.