We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Spot for Traditional Slovenian Cream Cake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slascicarna Smon

Slascicarna Smon
Grajska cesta 3, Bled, Slovenia
04-574-1616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 55 Restaurants in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous Spot for Traditional Slovenian Cream Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This fabulous coffee and dessert spot is near the bus station and quite central to many Bled attractions, but it would be worth it to go out of your way for their Slovenian Cream Cake. Just delicious! It may not be "the original" which is served at a place further down the lakeside, but it is absolutely the best. Atmosphere could not be better. I highly recommend a stop here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    56
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
331 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Excellent local cream cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We sampled many of the locally well known cream cakes and this was by far the best. Can't beat the freshness and quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the hype is about”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I visited twice and was not impressed at all. I was ready to overlook the awful decorating and lack of service and was looking forward to some yummy dessert. I tried the creme cake and was quite dissapointed as the custard was curdled. On my second visit I chose some sort of hazelnut cake, the cake part was dry and the flavor quite bland. The 3rd night I went to the villa preseren, which may lack character but had great cake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious local cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I don't have a particularly sweet tooth so rarely eat desserts/cakes, but make an exception when I visit Šmon. I always find it difficult to choose between Kremšnita (that's the local name for the puff pastry, custard & cream cake, whose proper Slovenijan name is kremna rezina) or Blejska grmada - so I have to visit at least twice each holiday, to sample both. They also do take-away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A definite must for the sweet tooth!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Believe the hype! The cream cakes are delicious!!! I have tried the same cakes in many different places and these were by far the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slascicarna Smon also viewed

Bled, Upper Carniola Region
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Slascicarna Smon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slascicarna Smon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.