We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik to your Saves list
Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ljubljanska 40, Bled 4260, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 58 Bled B&B and Inns
Herceg-Novi, Montenegro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not recommended.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hoping to have our New Year vacations in this cute, little hotel near Bled, booked 3 weeks in advance, we drove over 800 km to find out straight from reception door that our accommodation had been cancelled. We were rudely admitted by the owner, told that he doesn't have a room for us and that he had sent us an e mail to inform about the change ( which we never got, as well as he never got our confirmation that we read his e mail and agreed).The owner of Pibernik, justified himself explaining that he is not working anymore with hostelworld.com through which we booked and prepayed the room. Night before travelling we got second confirmation from hostelworld website that our accomodation was guaranteed. Very arrogantly, the guy told us that he had reserved a room for us at his friend's pension nerby, without any question wheather we agree with that. As was too late to find any other convenient accommodation two days before New Year's Eve we had to go to the pension where he took us. The Pibernik's boss couldn't care less about us being angry and disappointed, he couldn't show less care about future comments of his business and bad recommandation that we will for sure spread about his little family run hotel. Is it worth to mention that at his friend's pension we had to change a room after two days ( out of 4 nights stay in Bled) so we could fit in his bookings too? I warmly suggest to any potential client of this hotel to think twice before choosing it.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pibomarco, Owner at Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
thank you for your comment

We apologize for what happened.. This problem was not solvable in any other way. If its our fault regarding your reservation, our obligation is to find you another stay. Very rearly this problems about overbookings ect do happen (like everywhere), and you were just very unlucky that time.
And yes we canceled hostelworld.com, i also suggest you to have less problems with your bookings, use booking.com or venere.com portals. you could stay 4 day in neighburs if you would wanted so. This was more as an offer not a demand.
Those situations are also very stresfull for us, so please don't take this as we don't care.

Again it was our fault and we are sorry

Regards
M. Pibernik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Think twice before staying at this Fawlty Towers, run by an arrogant "Basil" and his equally unfriendly son. Although the setting is peaceful, a few kilometres out of Bled, our stay was spoiled by the total lack of hospitality. One wonders why people such as these are in the business at all. Our room (balcony) was adequate but the poorly designed bathroom was smelly (?drains). I had to ask for more toilet paper which was dumped on out table at breakfast.
Arrive early for breakfast to share the 4 cold hard boiled eggs supplied for the entire number of guests, although the other provisions were passable. I wish we had checked TripAdvisor more closly before booking.

Room Tip: Front facing room with balcony - there are only 3 or 4. Avoid the 'Attic' rooms, claustropho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

On arrival at this very picturesque hotel our pleasant impressions were soon destroyed by a surly owner who announced that our booking of two balcony rooms, confirmed 6 months earlier, had been subject to a "computer glitch" and were no longer available: no apology, no concessions. The alternative of an attic room was less than satisfactory - the room needed curtains and was very noisy; the bathroom was minute and poorly designed - it was almost necessary to walk through the shower recess to reach the toilet, and the inadequate shower curtain meant that the whole room was constantly water-logged. The owner and his son (we assumed the relationship from the churlish, unfriendly manner of both) were never available and only appeared briefly at breakfast to put out the food. No other services were made available - the bbq was closed and even the jug was hidden to prevent our making a cup of tea in our rooms. On leaving we were curtly told that the promised (AND CONFIRMED) acceptance of credit cards was not available and nothing but euros would be accepted, if we could not immediately supply same we could leave and accept the consequences - not a good idea when we considered trying to justify our departure without payment to the local constabulary. (Fortunately we scraped together the wherewithal in euros).Our subsequent negative comments in the Guest Book were met with abuse.

Room Tip: Do not accept attic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beograd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We spent one night in this place in March 2011. Though natural scenery is nice, personnel was lazy and rude - took our money without giving any kind of receipt. Rooms were too small and in desperate need of cleaning (spiders were common underneath the bed). If you can choose do not pick top floor rooms - air inflow is poor because of bad window position (roof window)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The setting of the hotel when you first drive up is picture perfect! Nestled in the woods amid landscaped gardens, there is a sense of peace and serenity to the whole place. The rooms were clean & functional, but most importantly, they had air-conditioning! Also, each room had its own computer with internet connection.

There were outdoor activities in the garden, such as ping-pong, to keep kids (and adults!) occupied.

Close to Lake Bled, it is an easy drive into town. There is a restaurant on site, but it must be seasonal & wasn't open while we were there. Breakfast is a self-serve buffet in the garden. There was a great selection of hot & cold items.

The only complaint I have is that the bathrooms were very small & the shower curtain didn't fit the stall properly, so it was impossible to take a shower without flooding the floor! Adding an extra curtain would be an easy fix for this issue.

Upon check out we found that the hotel did not take credit cards, but as the price was so reasonable it wasn't really a problem.

Staff were friendly & helpful, but sometimes hard to locate! But we were given an upgrade to a triple room so that our boys could have separate beds... without even asking! Nice touch!

Room Tip: We had an attic room as that was all that was left at time of booking. These rooms do not have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We were two couples staying in a pension Pibernik and we really don't know what to think about this accomodation. Ok, point by point.

1) hotel owner is a weirdo... 50something guy doesn't speak a lot and is rather happy when you dont ask for anything... if you do, you have a few chances to succeed with your wish... on the other side, his son (probably, drove the same car) is friendly and helpful... I suggest you ask him if you need anything...

2) location is a key to success of this hotel... hidden in a forest, approx 2,5 km from a center of Bled, locality is simply fabulous...

3) rooms - a bit basic but ok, giant terrace is a big plus but BEWARE - if you have a room to a forest side, your room will be terribly dark all the day. And I mean really! It still looks like it is 9:00 pm... Book a room overlooking the park! Trust me.... Room was equipped with a computer and free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel and working well. Fridge is a useful thing to have.

4) breakfasts - son of owner went to the shop every morning... you get almost everething - fruit, müsli, many types of hams, prosciutto, cheese, fresh bread, eggs, sausages... BUT - you have to come in a right moment... breakfasts are from 8 to 10... but full choice is from approx 8:15 just until many guests come... if something runs out, then it runs out.... late breakfasts aren't a good idea...

5) dinners - well, we have booked through a Booking.com and there was written: grilling in the evenings... there was none... there was no possibility of eating in the hotel except the breakfast, It is a shame when you are away from a city.... there is also a wine-fridge working on a honesty basis... inside are just sodas and some beer. We wanted some bottle of wine. Impossible to get in here! We were told to bring our own next day. What a way how to miss a good bussiness.

6) sports - table tennis - not a best place for a good game but you can handle it for a relax game... renting of a bike costs 6 euro a day - good price....

7) there were some reconstruction works going on... during both days of our stay (start of a July) , the strongest sound on a forest side of a hotel were not a nature sounds, it was a chainsaw :-(

8) free parking available

All in all, I would stay here again... after everything I know now, stay will be a comfortable one....

Room Tip: Pick rooms on a park side because of light, bring your own drinks and food for a dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The beds were uncomfortable, and there was no way to block the morning light from waking us up.
The hotel is placed in a beautiful woodland area.
There's a computer in the room, with internet connection free of charge.
The bathroom was clean but smelled of sewage.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.7 mi away
Vila Gorenka
Vila Gorenka
#16 of 23 in Bled
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Lovec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garni Hotel Vila Bojana
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jelovica Bled
Hotel Jelovica Bled
#14 of 23 in Bled
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik

Address: Ljubljanska 40, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded spot surrounded by oak trees, Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik Bled is a rustic and homey, family-run bed and breakfast hotel with free internet access and PCs in the rooms. Set on a large lawn surrounded by a forest and above the Sava River, only 330 yards from the main road to Lake Bled, Pension Pibernik is a great starting point for walking or biking tours. After a long adventurous day, unwind under the shade of the veranda, or play ping-pong, badminton or darts. The open barbecue grill can be enjoyed outside. The tourist info is run by a helpful, multilingual staff, and a shuttle service is offered at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Hotel Pension Pibernik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.