We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Bohinj

Lake Bohinj
Triglav National Park, Slovenia
00386 4 5747590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 282 attractions in Slovenia
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Skiing
Attraction Details
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The lake itself is very clean, as is Slovenia in general. The water was not too cold (August) and we could swim with comfort.
We also hired kayaks for an hour, which was also very enjoyable.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    42
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Peacefull, relaxing, beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Lake Bohinj is less famous and "touristic" than Lake Bled but at any case not less beautiful. The nature is gorgous, the small town around it is very nice and picturesque. The prices of acommodation, food, attractions are quite reasonable. There are excellent opportunities for trekking and mountain biking in the area. Also the boat trip is a must. In one word: a good place for a quiet holiday surrounded by beatiful nature.

Visited September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011 via mobile

Lovely and quiet, a great place to relax and much less touristy than Bled (but just as beautiful)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Jaw-droppingly stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed in Bled and had a day on lake Bohinj. Bohinj is less developed than Bled - this has good and bad sides. The bad is that it's probably not that exciting to stay in and there aren't as many places to eat. Also we walked along the entire north shore of the lake (probably about 6 or 7 km) and there was no public toilet. There was a hotel at the eastern shore that lets people use the toilets, for 50 cents if you haven't bought anything. The good is the scenery, the quiet, the fresh air, the crystal clear water that reflects the Alps and the feeling of having got away from it all.

If you want to walk around the lake and only have a day, start at the western end of the lake (the public bus stops at the stop called Bohinj Zlatarog) and walk on the North shore. The South shore path is next to the main road. We took the bus to Zlatarog, walked to the Savica waterfall and back and then around the north shore back to the bus stop called Bohinj Jezero on the east end of the lake. That took most of a day and I was so tired I slept like a baby afterwards. Take a packed lunch and good shoes, the path gets a bit rough compared to the path around Lake Bled which is practically a pavement.

Apparently you can also get the cable car up to Vogel for some really stunning views, but unfortunately it was closed the week we went - gutted!

I loved Lake Bohinj.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOWE
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Quiet, not touristy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Beautiful lake to walk around and enjoy a clear water. Serenity. County does not allow private developments around the lake so it is pure and beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Bohinj also viewed

Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Lake Bohinj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Bohinj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Bohinj to your Saves list