We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for fun” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Podwale Kompania Piwna

Podwale Kompania Piwna
ul. Podwale 25, Warsaw, Poland
+48 22 635 63 14
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,401 Restaurants in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Polish, Pizza, Noodle, European, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just for fun”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a popular place for large groups who want to have fun and drink a lot of beer. I really don't understand why food portions are so huge, making it impossible to sample different courses, not to mention ordering a dessert...Beside, food quality isn't unforgettable.
There's a trio of very good musicians, but nobody bothers to stop drinking and clap their hands.
The silver linings are cheap prices and late opening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    309
    92
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very Good Pork Dish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This was one of four restaurants we visited in Warsaw. They have good prices and huge portions. The restaurant itself is very large and therefore noisy and appears to be quite popular with locals. We ordered the pork sirloin special that came with baked potato wedges and a semi raw red cabbage. The pork was incredibly tender and full of flavor. The cabbage and potato's were fine but just a bit plain. The pork was served on a bed of sauteed spinach which was very good. We did have a nicer dinner at another place, but it was considerably higher so this is the restaurant we would return to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz B, Guest Relations Manager at Podwale Kompania Piwna, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the review!
We' re very happy that you enjoyed the meal in our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not Cordon blu but good atmospher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Visited Podwale on Sunday ,after trying to get in on Friday and Saturday but failing due to the numbers waiting before us, decided best to reserve a table. Ordered the famous Pork knuckle , having read about the huge portions served at this restaurant, shared one between two of us. First came a plate of pickles ,then a selection of mustards and a basket of bread. A couple of minutes later a huge leg portion of Pork was served on a wooden plater(1.2Kg). It looked and tasted perfect . Crackling to die for. Try as we did it was far too much for us, glad we hadn't had one each. Looking around at other peoples meals I can confirm , the portions at Podwale are not for the faint hearted. The food is plain cooked and nothing fancy. Excellent value at under £10 for our meal. Great atmosphere with a duet wondering around playing polish music . This place is as popular with the locals as tourist hence the need to book unless you want to wait a few hours for a table. On the whole a good experience but next time I'd order something less substantle.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not a fan of this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I know Podwale is very popular, especiailly among tourists. That explains high score in the rating. Nonetheless if you are lookng for traditional Polish and fine dining experience, dont even think of going there. Huge restaurant, full of sales representatives at their company meetingsmmakes this place loud and crowded. Food quality is miserable, most of the dishes come usually cold, even if supposed ti be main courses. This kind of place will always have its fans due to amount of food vs. price. But as a natural born Warsaw citizen I would not like to recommend this to people that visit my city!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Huge portions, questionable quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Ate here late on our first night in warsaw. Nice atmosphere with lot's of locals, still arriving at 11pm. Mainly offering local staples, lots of substance, but not a lot of finesse! Under no circumastances can you leave hungry, even if you can only stomach one of the many cabbage based side dishes!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Podwale Kompania Piwna also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Podwale Kompania Piwna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podwale Kompania Piwna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.