We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sphinx

Sphinx
Ul. Szpitalna 1, Warsaw, Poland
22 827 58 19
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #461 of 1,232 Restaurants in Warsaw
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
london
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ate twice in 2 different branches, the food was great and the staff helpful, but not for the first time in Warsaw our bill was changed to show the service as local tax, we had just arrived and did not realise this con, leaving a tip as well as unwitingly paying service as well. On our second visit my credit card payment was converted to UK sterling, this is another con as you get awlful exchange rates, when I asked for it to be changed was told it was not possible, I did not make a fuss as the amount was not enough to be a problem. But resturants of Warsaw please take note, we are not stupid and will vote with our feet by avoiding resturants that try these things on, its a shame as the meals were great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    45
    33
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The restaurant is something between fast food and restaurant - something similar to Pizza Hut in their class. They serve their speciality -sharma which can be made of chicken or beef. In menu you can find many more meals but sometimes I've a feeling that the list is too long and start to worry about the meal quality. Some waiters are really slow, so better be patient with waiting for your order same as for bill. The prices are reasonable - that's a good plus. Variety of drinks is enough for that kind of restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not expensive place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Some oriental cuisine in more european oriented way, something between fast food and nice restaurant - you can leaving being no more hungry but waiters service cannot be expected on the same level like in regular restaurants.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“average taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

average taste, average service, just another fast food restaurant ,, nothing special ,, ,,, ,,, ,,,,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Polska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I got sick”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everything in this place is wrong. Starting from the smell in the restaurant, through waiter service, ending with food. Me& my friends had to wait over 40 minutes for our meals and when I got mine it was bathing in garlic dressing although I had informed about my allergy. After nex 30 minutes, when my friends had already finished their meals I got mine so they had to wait for me. It wasn`t worth waiting though as I got sick!!! The only pople whom I might encorage to visit Sphinx are my enemies!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sphinx also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sphinx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.