We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Umbrella Free Tour

Orange Umbrella Free Tour
Old Town Square | Sigmund's Column, Warsaw, Poland
+48 661 368 758
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily 11AM (Old Town) and 2:30PM (Jewish Warsaw and WW2) Free Walking Tours of the heart of Warsaw. Join us for the best introduction to the Polish capital: a tour run by professional, licensed city guides who love their city and want you to fall in love with it, too! The tour takes 2.5h, runs everyday (twice!) and starts by the Sigismund's Column (Kolumna Zygmunta) next to the Royal Castle (Zamek Krolewski), just as you enter the Old Town!
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A great walking tour! The tour guide (sorry I can't remember his name! Govel?) was really informative, giving us a great history lesson with interesting, sad and funny stories. Was really glad I joined the tour, there was even free vodka at the end! Couldn't ask for more, would definitely recommend to other travellers to add this to their itinerary in Warsaw!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    22
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good insights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I did this tour one year ago, and don't remember every detail. When thinking about what, it's especially the personal experiences of the guide in his mid twenties: Stories of his parents, lack of many things, transformation from socialism to capitalism, adventurous wild west ambience, culture, social life, and so on. Always recommendable to do many tours, maybe with guides of different age groups and personal histories. Did the free walking tour too, a few from OKIDOKI hostel, one from DSH and spoke to some locals. Like that I have my personal experience from all those personal experiences.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Really good and informative excursion. I strongly recommend it. It takes about two and half hour full of city`s story with drop of good humor. But I put four only because every history episode has atleast two points of view and every are true. And I want to appeal to remember that for every Poles` life we lost few soldiers` life in WWII.
Anyway thanks for the tour.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Michal was a really interesting and knowledgeable tour guide! He's really passionate about Poland and an eloquent speaker. We had a really small group that day so it was really nice and cosy.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Fantastic insight into Warsaw, the old town and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Found this trip on Tripadvisor and looked a great way to get right into the in's and out's of Poland and Warsaw life, history and culture.
I was across for Poland v Scotland at football in Warsaw and really wanted to get as much stuff done as possible, (mainly the old town and the Jewish Ghetto) and this tour was a perfect way to learn about the old town.
Meets on the main square opposite the royal palace under the column and statue of King Sigismund at 11am, and it is not hard to miss the guide as they carry a large bright umbrella (hence the tour name).
Our guide for the tour was Micheal who was fantastic. Really knew his stuff, great command of English and happy to interact and chat with everyone in the group.
All in all a lot is covered in 2.5hr's and does not get boring (I had visited Warsaw before and thought I had seen a lot) as Micheal points out a lot of facts and interesting bits of history and small things you would miss if you did not know what you were looking for, as well as taking you to bits of the old town that you would probably miss.
Also the surprise at the end of the tour was a really nice touch and makes the tour end on a high for sure!!!!
Really happy I did this tour and Micheal certainly earn every singe Zloty he makes!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Umbrella Free Tour also viewed

 

Been to Orange Umbrella Free Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Umbrella Free Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.