We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Dormitory you can ever imagine!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hera Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warsaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hera Guest House
Save
You added Hera Guest House to your Saves list
Ul. Belwederska 26/30, Warsaw 00-594, Poland (Ujazdów)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 64 Warsaw B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The worst Dormitory you can ever imagine!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived in Hera as students in september 2011. They did not have a room ready for us, so they gave us a room in the guest house section, which was far better than the rooms in dorm (upstairs) but, it was SUPER cold! The carpet stinks, the room was too small and if we did not bring our very warm blankets with us, we would definitely catch cold.
But the WORST part is the the dorm. I am writing this review, for those students who are coming to Warsaw, as University of Warsaw students, with lots of hopes and dreams. its a disaster. So, plz think about renting a flat as soon as you can. The toilets are disgusting, the showers are dirty. only 3 showers for about 40 rooms!! there is always big line waiting to use toilet! the kitchen is awful, too small with only an electric stove with just 3 places, which is most of the time occupied and supper dirty!
there was two fridge, each at one end of the corridor and most of the time fulllll!!
we escaped as soon as we found a place to rent! it was a nightmare!!
The smell of the burned food or the spices used by other students is mostly in the whole floor.
The staffs are not helpful and most of the time can not speak English at all!

The location is quit good, close to several buss stops and a very nice park. this is the only bright side of this

Room Tip: The rooms in the guest house are very cold, so the more they are closer to the main entrance, the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
1
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We enjoyed the stay at Hotel Alka ,the rooms are cozy , we suggest to have room floor with carpet atleast during winter .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumbarton, scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Don’t look for a web page or an email address as the Hotel Hera has neither. You'll need to phone reception to bag a room here. It's not a term-time student residence exactly, but rather offers no frills digs to those visiting the University of Warsaw: At these rates, you'll be glad to hear you don't have to be one of them. For a single booked for June 2010 cost yours truly less than £70 for three nights stay. And the last was cheaper than the other two because it was into the weekend!
While you can't walk to the Hera from downtown, buses are frequent. Catch the 131 outside the front of the Novotel near Centralny Train station and get off at Spacenowa-it takes about ten minutes –you’ll see the Hyatt Regency. The three storey Hera is on Belwederska Street just over the road.
This is an embassy district: Sweden's, Great Britain's and Russia's are all nearby. In addition, the exquisite Belvedere Palace and Lazienki Park with its royal Summer palace are minutes walk away. In fact when you're staying at the Hera, it's almost like having Poland's most deluxe back garden-complete with peacocks- right behind you.
Most rooms have w.c and a large sink but two shower cubicles and a bath are across the hall if you’re billeted on the ground floor. It can smell a tad musty and yes, some of the furniture looks very, very tired. However, it's not without character, the bed is very comfortable and you’ll have both a telly and a phone at your disposal. Soap and cute looking towels are provided but you'll have to bring your own shower hat, other toiletries and hair dryer.
There's also a kiosk-type shop in the lobby
Breakfast is included in the rate. Don't expect to refuel with cooked fare- this is quite a basic repast. Stern notices taped under the coffee urn inform guests they are limited to two rolls, two hot drinks and one fruit juice tops. Whatever you do, don't forget to bring your breakfast card.....
Unlike the rooms, the licensed hotel restaurant has had a very recent refurbishment and offers evening meals. That's another selling point as there seem to be a dearth of budget eateries close by in this neighborhood. It is also difficult to imagine the Belvedere in Lazienki Park holding a Happy Hour as does the Hera in the late afternoon.
Sure, Hotel Hera isn't particularly photogenic and can at times exude a rather er, forbidding air from the front door, through Reception and right along its vast corridors. That said, looking around the vast, pedestrian-unfriendly expanses of Warsaw's skyscraping New Town, there's very little to inspire in terms of often very costly, super-generic alternatives. If you are on a tight budget and/or flying solo but just cannot face the thought of checking into a hostel dormitory this might just be the gaff for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Do you have any communist nostalgias? No? Are you traveling with an extremely tight budget?No again?Then forget Hera, or you are going to regret the trip. For me, the choice had only one reason: the low price.
It was far better than I expected, even if, from the outside, the building looked rather creepy. The huge irony is that just in front of Hera is Hyatt, with a modern and neat facade:)))
So, what did I get for my money? a big,reconditioned, quiet room and a bathroom with a wc and a sink. The showers were on the hall (only two, for a huge number of rooms, but fortunately the hotel was mostly empty). The bed was great and clean,but for the rest...old furniture, a nice, decorative lamp on a table (not working) and a stained rug on the floor(covering the otherwise clean and nice wooden floor). The strange smell the room had in the beginning went away quickly after I opened the window - I think the room staid unoccupied for a long time.In the room there was also a small TV(receiving only 3-4 polish channels). They cleaned my room every day. Breakfast was included, It was served in a nice, cozy restaurant at the ground floor of the hotel. Breakfast was continental and it consisted in some pieces of good salami, a cheese cube, butter, jam, bred (very good, black and with seeds) coffee (I've drunk worse and with a far higher price) and a glass of orange juice. Everything was eatable.I had to give up temporarily to my vegetarianism, in order to avoid starvation(in Poland almost everything is with meat).
About the staff: at the reception, the ladies knew a little bit of English, enough to give you the necessary indications. But in the restaurant...only polish...rather frustrating...
Another good thing with Hera is that there are buses connecting the hotel with the central area just in front of it or around the corner, so the position is ok ( some 6-7 stops until the University).
Conclusion: Hera is an option if you travel with a very low budget. You can pay much more for the same conditions, or worse(I had a lot of such experiences in the past). I enjoyed the stay and liked Warsaw. But if I'll come again and not for a professional purpose,I`ll avoid Hera...just because it remembers me to much of the dusty and gloomy communist world of my youth. I'll let the photos to tell more about Hera.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Guest House

Address: Ul. Belwederska 26/30, Warsaw 00-594, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw > Ujazdów
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Hera Guest House Hotel Warsaw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hera Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.