We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel with large variety of guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mangalia Street 3a | Warsaw, Warsaw 02-758, Poland (Formerly Start Hotel Portos)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 111 hotels in Warsaw
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“3 star hotel with large variety of guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I just noticed, that lately I have spent unexpectedly too much time in 3 star hotels. It's not my free will, so I might be a bit more bitter than I supposed to be. Hotel Portos is average 3 star hotel outside of Warsawa city center, so it takes time and money to get to the city. During the check-in I I was asked about room preference -smoking or non-smoking. Can't remember then I was asked about it last time, so it made me bit nervous. Turned out that even though I chose non-smoking room, somebody was constantly smoking in my bathroom (or so I felt, as smell of smoke was strong, carried thru ventilation system).
Room was large, bed comfortable, overall style a bit worn out and traditional, but clean. Large windows were facing next building, so no view, but were able to keep window open during night. Room was well heated. Large parking space next to hotel, but was full of cars, difficult to find free space. Even taxis have challenges to locate the hotel and find the right place for pick-up or drop-off.
Hotel restaurant was decent, prices very affordable, so no need to go out for dinner. Breakfast had several options, plenty of food and decent coffee. Some lady even tried to make fried eggs to order, but failed, as it took enormous time.
Only challenge in that hotel was the large variety of guests - from 'wall to wall'. Some of my colleagues weren't able to sleep because of party in next room. Some guests looked like criminals, some like professors from university. Lot of youngsters etc. So I wouldn't prefer to stay there alone.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, ask a room as far away from smokers rooms as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dariusz O, Dyrektor generalny at BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you posting your opinion about Best Western Portos hotel. We really care about our guests and always try to deliver better service. Your opinion is really important for us. Our hotel is located less than 6 km from city center. You may use city bus to get there, it takes approx. 15 min. cost of ticket around 1 EURO.
Best regards and See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
8
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Konin, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Nothing special, but good value for money. Good location when u travel. Main roads around so no big traffic. For 1-3 nights is ok, especialy when u have a bussiness travel.Nice staff, nice people, close to the petrol station where u cn buy food also.

Room Tip: Choose higher levels to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dariusz O, Dyrektor generalny at BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was great to have you with us, Thank you very much for your stay. I will share your opinion with associates working here. Best regards and hopfully see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is not in the city center, but there's a direct bus to it that can also take you to Warsaw's old city (116). There's also a bus to the airport (148). The ride to the city center takes about 10-15minutes and to the airport around half an hour. A taxi ride to the airport costs aprox. 30PLN.

Due to the thing that the hotel was not very crowded, early check-in and late check-out were possible - the staff was very friendly at all times.

Both the room and the bathroom were very clean and everything was very decent. The beds are really good, so the sleep quality was perfect. There is free, good quality wi-fi in every room.

The breakfast was excellent, with a pretty wide array of choices and (surprise!!) it varied a little from one day to the other. You could also have freshly prepared eggs at your choice. This is really comparable to many 4 star hotels that I have stayed at.

This was really good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dariusz O, Dyrektor generalny at BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
I would like to Thank you for your stay and opinion on Tripdadvisor related to our hotel. All guests opinion are very important for us. I very glad you had a good stay. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I treat hotels as a good place to sleep, not to spend there my entire time. I expect quick and efficient check in, good night sleep and a decent breakfast.

Let's start with checkin. Reservation was made through their own booking system. Receptionist tried to charge me more than confirmed in the booking system and gave me a twin room, instead of double with explanation "you did not provide this information". Yes, I did. Everything was solved after all, but it doesn't make me say that check-in was "smooth".

Room was clean and spacious. Bed comfortable. In the bathroom there was bad smell from the ventilation system. During the night we were woke up two times by some drunk young people trying to get into our room, obviously having mistaken floors (or hotels?)

The best thing about Portos is breakfast. Choice of cold and hot stuff is awesome. Buffet was replenished regularly. Coffee was great. Much, much better than in other hotels in Warsaw, even those more expensive.

Location is outside city center, but convenient if you have a car (no problems with parking in the area) or have some business in thie area of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dariusz O, Dyrektor generalny at BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would love to say Thank you for your stay at the HOTEL Portos. We really appreciate your opinion. As I understood you had some challenges upon check in and not nice smell. We are very sorry for that. I have asked our managers already to search how it was possible. Besides that you had some positive coomments about our hotel. Does not matter what Thanks for say it. I hope to see you someday with us again.Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kielce
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel Portos *** is a standard hotel like especially not to a distinguished. Standard room, the beds comfortable. Because of the privileges I got an upgrade to a room. Standard bathroom, but without any hygienic. The service is fast and efficient. The restaurant serves very good food, and just like breakfast. Big minus for expensive pay parking. Sorry, but also the speed WiFi is not enchanted.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I did not stay here and was at the Aramis but used the internet and ate at Portos. The food was very good, waitress attentive but the bar staff a bit slow and tend to ignore you but I think that is normal in Poland. The reception staff were always helpful, I had to use their free internet as Aranis never worked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Clean rooms, great service, excellent breakfast selection (fresh foods). The only down is that this hotel is not near the metro line. Had to take buses to city center. Bus #116 takes you all the way into the center from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos

Address: Mangalia Street 3a | Warsaw, Warsaw 02-758, Poland (Formerly Start Hotel Portos)
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western hotel Portos is located where two big streets Sobieskiego i Sikorskiego are crossing eachother. It is only 6 km from the hotel to city center where we have maim govenrnment buildings, such like parliament, embassies. It is very easy to get from the hotel to city centrum. You may do that by bus or by taxi. It takes less than 15 minutes. Bus stop is just around the corner on the other site of the Sobieskiego street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Start Hotel Warsaw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Portos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.