We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel, will stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hetman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hetman Hotel to your Saves list
Hetman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul Klopotowskiego 36, Warsaw 03-717, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 115 Hotels in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel, will stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

Clean, spacious room and bathroom (we stayed at superior double, though). Don't worry about the location. The public transportation in the area is excellent; we used to walk to the old town (1km each direction), day or night.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
41
18
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights from oct. 27 - oct. 30.

If you're looking for the best price, you should check out their website. We booked directly and saved 20%.

The hotel is not situated in the best area of the city - however it only takes a few minutes by bus or tracks to get to the Old Town or city centre.

The room was absolutely the best part of the hotel. Spacious, clean and well furnished - we LOVED it ! Don't miss their jacuzzi at the hotel - it costs less than 4 US for one hour and you'll get it all for yourself!

The staff at the reception are friendly, although they are not very open-minded. We can't recommend their restaurant - the standard of service and food is not the best (the breakfast is ok).

We found it hard to find places to eat in the area near the hotel; be prepared for the transport away from the "Praga area".

If you're going to Warszawa this hotel might be a good choice.

  • Liked — The hotel room
  • Disliked — The restaurant at the hotel
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

This hotel has to be one of the best finds ever! Although on the other side of the river from the old town it is only two tram stops away from the old town and many great eating places. The rooms have just been refurbished to a very high standard, the staff could not be more friendly and without exception speak passable English and the breakfast buffet is of a very high standard. Bearing in mind that this is a capitol city the hotel prices are very reasonable and worth every penny!
Pete & Kay Aldersley

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Book larger room at only a small extra charge.
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2005

I stayed here in June and was pleasantly surprised by the high standard of this hotel. Recently refurbished, some guidebooks still list it as as the "Wilenski". Rooms very clean and of a good size, bathroom absolutely spotless. Don't be put off by the location - this part of Praga isn't as bad as many make out, as with the shopping mall across the road, it's becoming a lively area. Stick to the main road, and you're relatively safe. Plentiful bus and tram services till late at night, also some shops next door, open till late.
The only disappointment was the buffet breakfast - although plentiful, I did expect a wider range on offer. However, this was only a minor inconvenience, and for £30 per night, I doubt you'll find better accommodation in Warsaw.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2005

If you're looking for a really modern, clean hotel for a decent price in Warsaw, definitely consider the Hotel Hetman. I think it's probably a bit above the 3-star rating, and great value. Maybe it's been opened quite recently because everything looks new and clean. It doesn't have the pretensions of the really swish chains in the centre, but it's a great little base in a quite area. And the bathrooms / shower-rooms are splendid.

The complimentary breakfast (not always free in Warsaw hotels) was really good - plenty of choice. I used the restaurant once and had a decent dinner and a beer for under £8. Warsaw is cheap as chips by English standards, and this seemed really good value.

The staff were OK. I think generally in Poland, people seem to be quite reserved. So don't expect to find staff anywhere fawning over you and saying 'have a nice day'. Most spoke English and were helpful in booking taxis which always seemed to arrive within a few minutes.

If I was being picky, the location wasn't perfect. The area was fine but it is about a 20-25 minute walk into town. Doing this once a day is OK - it's actually a nice walk past the church and over the bridge with brilliant views into town and along the Wisla river. But you'll probably want to use the taxis sometimes - the good news is that these only cost about £1.50 into town. They cost about £6 to the airport. There are also trams and buses.

So all in all, the Hotel Hetman is very good and well worth staying in.

A couple of things about Warsaw in generally which might help:

1. English is quite widely spoken, but far from universal. You can usually get by with some pointing and the following:
- 'hello' is 'djien dobry' (pronounced 'jin dob-ray')
- 'ok / yes' seems to be 'tak'
- 'no' is 'nie'
- 'please' is 'prosze' (pronounced 'projsh')
- 'thankyou' is pronounced like 'jen-qu-ay'

2. If you're there on a Monday, lots of things like museums and shops are shut.

3. The whole of the Old Town was rebuilt after the war, meticulously copied from old photos and plans. It's an amazing feat in itself, but if you're looking for real authenticity, Cracow might be more for you.

4. There is a midges problem! I was there in June and got nibbled a lot. I was starting to get paranoid when I came across a road sign saying 'beware midges' by the river ... I kid you not.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

i stayed in this hotel in june. the hotel was very nice, very roomy, lovely big bathrooms. but the area was very poor, it was quiet, there was nowhere to go in the evenings, the staff were very reluctunt to give people a drink in the evenings. if this hotel was in the city it would be fine as there would be somewhere to go, but as this was in the praga area you couldnt walk anywhere in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2005

We stayed in August 2004 at the Hotel Hetman and it was lovely! The hotel is on the other side of the river from the old and new city, but it is just 5 minutes by bus - and busses come regularly and according to schedule. The hotel is in a quiet side street off a main road (no noise to disturb sleep), bus stops are very close by, as well as a huge shopping mall (with a Carrefour inside). Not much to do at night around the hotel, but that was ok, since we spend all day walking around Warsaw and just wanted to get back to bed at night (most restaurants close quite early it seems, anyway). There are busses till about midnight and then you can take a night bus. In any case, we felt very safe when going home, not any feeling of danger or anything.
The hotel room had been probably recently renovated (bathroom very nice, hot water all around, lots of space in closets and for hanging up clothes), it was very clean, we had a television (with some German and English channels) and complimentary mineral water, the staff was very polite and extremely helpful (only the night staff did not speak English), lots of tourist info material at the reception, breakfast was plentiful.
All in all - the hotel is very very good value for money and if I went to Warsaw again, I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hetman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetman Hotel

Address: ul Klopotowskiego 36, Warsaw 03-717, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 115 Hotels in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hetman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hetman Hotel Warsaw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hetman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.