We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Modern Hotel With Great Views And Amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Warsaw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Warsaw to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Warsaw
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emilii Plater 49, Warsaw 00-125, Poland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Warsaw
Weston, CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Modern Hotel With Great Views And Amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

The Intercontinental was TA's highest rated hotel in Warsaw and it was easy to see why. The Lobby was elegant, piano player at times, several bars/lounges. It is probably not the best location for tourism, that would be in the Old Town (Stare Misto) and probably the Hotel Bristol (recommended by local friends). We had two adjacent rooms for our family of 6 (4 children from 14 to 22). Our rooms had a fabulous view over the city. Each room had a King sized bed, plus an additional cot provided by the hotel. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The pillows were great (I love pillows) -- and they even had a pillow menu (really dear to my heart there). They had a bottle of wine and fruit waiting for us. The bathroom was modern with separate bath and shower and panoramic views (robes and slippers for all and great travel sundries case). The concierge was very helpful with suggestions and assistance. The Club Lounge is a must. It is worth the extra price of admission for the free breakfasts alone (nice fresh juices, drinks, coffees/hot chocolates etc; meats (lox, herring etc.) section, fruit section, various yogurts, assorted breads and pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage); the club lounge also has alcohol and hors d’oeuvres in the evenings, and free wifi with computers, plus gorgeous city views. It is a nice place to meet for business as well or just to relax with a book. There is no wifi in the rooms themselves but there is wifi in the Club lounge as well as in the lobby and first floor. The pool and health club are amazing -- nice indoor pool with glass floor to ceiling windows looking out at the entire city, nice Jacuzzi/whirlpool, sauna, steambath, solarium, great exercise room also with views of the City and periodic yoga and pilates classes. As for the restaurants in the Intercontinental, yes they are overly expensive as is true with most hotel restaurants. At lunch, the kids liked the Sloppy Joes which was not like traditional sloppy joes with minced meat but rather like a sloppy double burger. The stuffed Polish chicken was also quite good. That restaurant was called “Downtown” which at night transforms to Fridas. The restaurant itself is nice, the tables are really spaced out so it was fairly private and easy to talk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    350
    72
    25
    9
See reviews for
155
453
172
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The public room upon entry to the Intercontinental is clean, cozy and inviting. The staff is helpful and friendly, and there is a nice aroma lingering over head from the second floor restaurant Frida, serving authentic Mexican food, yes in Poland – of course they serve international cuisine as well, just thought the guacamole and mole chicken was a riot! The rooms are very large! I strongly suggest you ask for rooms on the 3rd floor, inner city facing, as they offer exceptional views and do not reek of cigarette smoke. Most hotels in Warsaw still have one floor where smoking is permitted, the dedicated floor here (6 I believe it was) is the only place smoking is permitted, some of the rooms we visited would make your eyes water. If smoke bothers you, the staff will go above and beyond to see to you are happy. The sound proofing is perfect, the bedding is very comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful, could have spent most of my time in Warsaw in that bath tub! The buffet breakfast are a GOD send, just delicious! The wellness centre with pool or sauna is grand; they even offer classes such as spin and aerobics. The location is walking distance to the city’s attractions, but you are also right next to the underground, a large shopping mall, and a 24 hour grocery market. Across the street is the Palace of Culture, loved by tourists and an eye sore to the locals, it was a gift from the Soviet Union after the uprising in 1944. In the colder months there is a lovely ice-skating rink set up right outside the hotel, you can rent shoes and enjoy some of the afternoon on the ice. Be sure to ask the concierge about Chopin piano concerts in Lazienki Park if you are there in the Spring. We will definitely be back again. ~ Shannon & Michael

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I'm a bit torn about the InterContinental in Warsaw. I stayed there twice in the last two months and the first time was very pleasant. The second time, however, was a disaster. We were placed in a nice room with a great view of the Palace of Culture and plenty of mold in the shower cabin! Since we were in a rush to get to a wedding, we asked at the reception to be moved to a different room. The next morning we were shocked to see that also in the new room there was mold in the shower cabin. When we informed the manager on duty about this fact, he said that they will shut the room down, but did not seem particularly apologetic. I guess such things are considered normal...? Please also note that the hotel is undergoing renovation, so the swimming pool was closed while we were there. Also, they seem to have a capacity issue in the breakfast restaurant, so we were seated in a windowless room in the basement with no AC and limited food (as compared to the restaurant). We were both very disappointed and do not plan to stay there ourselves or recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Had a sales conference in Warsaw and we were 100s of colleagues in the Intercontinental in Warsaw. The location was great, u could pretty much see the whole of Warsaw in case one staying on the higher floors (its a tall building). The staff was good and the bar great - which we had almost hijacked for our entire group.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I've stayed in this place with my sister just for 1 night. Hotel is located just min. walk from Zlote Tarasy Shopping Centre and Central Train Station and Palace of Science and Culture.. You can get bus number 175 from the airport which will drop you off just outside that station and than from there you will be able to see it.

Fast and efficient check in, nice staff at the reception. Before i got to that hotel i called them to confirm this booking and talked to very nice lady at the reception her name was Kasia Fabianowska and she was very helpfull. Although on arrival i asked reception to write me letter that my previouse reservation was cancelled due to bankruptcy of travel agent. It doesn't take long and is easy to do, i know that because i work at reception and did that on previouse occasion, they said that they will look into that but when i came in again in the evening it wasn't done and gentleman told me that he will write it and drop it to my room. It wasn't done next day they told me that reservations need to do it. Well got it eventually email with it but just dodn't get why it took so much hassle. Internet in the lobby wasn't working either i paid 20zl for 15min. After talking to concierge he let me use it for free which was good.

Room was very large with 2 double beds and was located on 32nd floor which had fab views. Nice size of a bathroom, shower might have had a bit better pressure.

Breakfast was very good as well with great location.





R

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review to Tripadvisor pages.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future.

I hope to be able to welcome you again in our property in the not too distant future and offer you to visit sky fittness area after recent lifting or delicacies of new restaurant by Karol Okrasa - famous Polish Chief and much more.

Sincerely,

Christian Henkemeier
General Manager

christian.henkemeier@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I don't believe you could do much better than this in Warsaw. I got upgraded to a suite on the 20th floor - everything you could possibly want including a mini-dishwasher in the kitchenette. Don't miss the health centre on the top 41st floor - swimming along level to with the top of the 1930s Ministry of Culture building is quite an experience. Fantastic buffet breakfast with live harp music in the restaurant - very relaxing prior to the start of another business day. About a 15 minute walk to the Old Town for tourism and right in the centre of Warsaw for everything else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review and recommend our hotel with these nice words.

I was delighted to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your opinion is very important for us as and stays as a reward and motivation for the future.

I strongly hope you can visit us again in the not too distant future and try specialities of a famous Chief - Karol Okrasa in the soon to be opened Platter Restaurant.

Sincerely,

Christian Henkemeier
General Manager

christian.henkemeier@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Just returned from 4 nights at the Hotel Intercontinental, a top hotel in Warsaw. Found everything to be excellent. Upgraded to the club floor, which provided snacks and breakfast AND dinner (6-8pm) daily. Excellent service. If you have to pay for the other restaurants in the hotel (some were closed), they are very overpriced. Club room was exceptionnally large. View was amazing. Sometimes hard to get operator or front desk on the phone, when we needed information., even though there is an "instant information button " on the phone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a comment on Tripadvisor webpages.

I am very happy to learn about your impressions about standard of the rooms, space, view, food and service and at the same time I would like to appologise for inconveniences with internal phone connections.

I am looking forward to see you again in the not too distant future.

Please do not hasitate to contact me if I can be of any help.

Sincerely,

Christian Henkemeier
General Manager

christian.henkemeier@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Warsaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Warsaw

Address: Emilii Plater 49, Warsaw 00-125, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Warsaw 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star InterContinental Warsaw is an impressive addition to the ever-expanding skyline. Located in the financial district opposite the Palace of Culture and Science, the hotel is a short distance from the main railway station, charming Old Town and the Warsaw Philharmonic. Well worth a visit are the Frederic Chopin Museum and Łazienki Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Warsaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.