We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abysmal customer service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Warsaw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Warsaw to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Warsaw
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emilii Plater 49, Warsaw 00-125, Poland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Warsaw
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Abysmal customer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I have never been made to feel so unwelcome in a hotel in our entire lives.

From the moment we walked in we noticed there was some filming going on. No problem. However the fact that this took over the entire reception/check-in area was a massive problem. After climbing over the camera crews' gear, we were greeted by a slightly scruffy looking man who failed to make eye contact with us but did hold his hand in our faces and say "one minute." Keep calm, I thought, give the hotel a chance. But this rude and lackluster service continued for the entire conversation. The room wasn't ready to check-into, but this was fine, as long as we could leave our luggage... We then watched as our bags were picked up (eventually) and dumped and left unattended at THE FRONT ENTRANCE. After watching them left unattended for around 10 minutes (just so we could see how long they would do this) we eventually brought them back to the porter and asked him to please put them into storage this time as we didn't feel comfortable or secure leaving them like that for any length of time.

When we eventually got to our room, we thought - "Great! The reception/service was terrible, but the room has totally made up for that!" - The view was great, the bed LOOKED great.... Until we noticed it was 2 twin beds stuck together. Everything else seemed fine until we came back that night to go to sleep and the room was SO hot. We tried for ages to turn the air-con down, and it didn't work at all. Considering it was -15 outside, who'd have thought you'd be too hot to sleep in your hotel room. Because we had the air-con blasting all night, we woke up both feeling pretty rough, dry-eyed and just pretty disappointed at a really rubbish night's sleep.

We had a full day of travel ahead of us the next day and trusted the Intercontinental's fine reputation to give us a high standard of care, comfort and relaxation before we left. All we left with was bitter disappointment and a feeling that we'd walked into the completely wrong hotel. Maybe this was because we didn't book on the hotel's website? Do they treat customers from Expedia etc. as 2nd class citizens? Were we not 'posh' enough? I really don't know, but would appreciate some feedback on these matters.

One final thing to round off our stay was the reception staff not saying a word to us as we checked out. No - "Did you enjoy your stay?", No - "Have a safe trip." No - "Thanks for staying with us." Nothing.

I can't say enough about how disappointed we feel, it's probably not a strong enough word.

But while the rooms may look 5-Star, there's nothing that will hide the fact that The Intercontinental Hotel Warsaw has the customer service and reception etiquette of a 1-Star hotel or motel. Please address these issues.

Thanks.

PS. A hotel of this standard charging for WiFi in the rooms in 2013 is ridiculous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback on your last experience at our hotel. We do appreciate this, as Intercontinental team trust that the true and timely feedback from our guests helps us every day to improve our promised level of attention and quality that you and others seek using our brand.

Please accept, on behalf of the Hotel Team, sincere apologies for all discomfort that you have experienced during your stay. We feel utterly sorry to hear that you have left the hotel unhappy and even more that during the course of your stay no proper action has been undertaken from our side to assure your total satisfaction and comfort.

I must assure you though that such negative feedback we hear extremely seldom, but through that, it just assures us in belief that everyday training and investment in our people is necessary so that in the future we become more responsive to our Guests’ needs.

At end please be certain we take your feedback extremely seriously and as a token of appreciation for that and apology, we would be delighted if you would accept our invitation for a complimentary weekend stay at our Hotel. In order to book your next stay, please contact our Executive Office and we will be happy to place a booking for you.

Looking forward to meeting you!

Sincerely,

Marten Schoenrock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    351
    72
    26
    9
See reviews for
155
454
172
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

First step into this hotel with a warm welcome at front desk made a good start of staying in this hotel adding by a surprised upgrading to a wifi floor with free internet and a very spacious room and bathroom followed by a very comfort bed. Freshly woke up with a first smell of coffee from Nespresso machine in the room followed by a relaxing breakfast with a live music from beautiful lady playing harp. What would you need more from a hotel! Will return the following week.

Room Tip: Wifi floor is club floor on the 28th providing a good view free coffee from Nespresso machine and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of our property and recommend IC Warszawa in such a nice way.
Your words state a great value for me and the entire team. We are happy and proud that our everyday's work is visible and reflects on our guests’ satisfaction and good impressions in memory when you leave. Your kind comments are very much appreciated.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at InterContinental Warsaw.

Kind regards,

Marten Schoenrock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I could honestly recomend stay at this hotel. Prices is not low but the quality of stay is brilliant. Location is great at the heart of Warsaw and that beautiful view. You have got a sort of delicious restaurants inside. I could recomend Downtown . With nice view and great food. I heard that Plater by Karol Okrasa is also nice. Really good coffe breaks and nice rooms much more better than Hyatt. You should saw pool :)

Room Tip: Really high :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the 5 star review and for choosing InterContinental Warszawa as your preferred accommodation.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, DownTown restaurant, coffee breaks and swimming pool. Your opinion is very important for us and stays as a reward and motivation for the future.

We hope to see you again in the not-so-distant future!

Kind regards,

Marten Schoenrock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I managed to park my car in front of the property, rather than paying the 100+ PLN per night. There was no one to take care of my lagguage. The check in went well, was assigned room 2514. It was clean and nicely fearnutered. There was a problem with a/c as it did not cool the room. Flat TV and a ipod dock station was on the plus side. So was the in-room breakfast and the Spa Area at floor 45 with an amazing view of Warsaw.

On the other side, the stuff at the ground floor never smiled, never said "hello" even when looking at them - security, concierge, lauggage man, the door man. This has to be changed, as these people are the first touch the guests have with the hotel. Also, a King Bed is nothing more thant two single beds pushed togather - this is unaccaptable in a 5 star hotel

Try to book the property over hotwire as you will always pay 60 USD including tax using their secret hotwire hot rate for a 5* property in Warsaw

Room Tip: High Floor, facing Marriott hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of our property.
Your kind comments relating to breakfast and SPA area are very much appreciated.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and we are deeply sorry we did not manage this for your stay.
Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We have shared your feedback with our front office team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.
We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Hoping to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Marten Schoenrock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Loved this hotel, Rooms lovely,beds really cozy. The leisure club is a must, dont think people should be allowed bring camera"s in thou. The bar was really quiet but you could be 10min waiting for your drink,staff are not in any hurry!!! The breakfast was the highlight, the best i have ever had,everything you could wish for. One of the door men was so nice and gave us lots of advise on where to go. Really enjoyed our stay,

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels, views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review and recommend our hotel with these nice words.
I was delighted to learn that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Your kind comments relating to breakfast are very much appreciated.
Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during ordering a drink and please rest assured that we will endeavour to ensure your next stay with us is a comfortable one.
Hoping to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Marten Schoenrock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When I last visited Warsaw in September I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.
It is located right in the city center next to Palac Kultury i Nauki (monument from the earlyer political system). Hotel itself is a remarkable piece of architecture with its cut through shape.
Regular rooms are verry comfortable, food is great, but what stands the most is the swimming pool located almost at the top. You can swim and admire the view of the whole city! I have never seen anything like it before. Its worth to spend the night in this htel just for this amazing experience.
Next time I'm visiting Warsaw I will definietly stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the foor overlooking Palac Kultury i Nauki, the view is astonishing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Warsaw as your preferred accommodation and for taking the time to write a review.
We are very happy that you found or hotel commendable and you are satisfied with our services and facilities, especially rooms, food and swimming pool.
We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best service possible.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at InterContinental Warsaw .

Kind regards,

Marten Schoenrock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Intercontinental for a New Year celebration.
Hotel is located in the city center, however must say that it is more convenient if you are staying as a business traveller, rather than a tourist, as you need around 15-20 minutes walk in order to get to the old town.
It's just opposite the famouse Stalin Bulding, from the top of which you can have a great view of the city.
The rooms are quite comfortable, the kettle and tea, coffee is provided.
If the breakfast in not included in your package, try to order it as a room service. Beleive me , if you choose the Polish Brekfast, you'll be full till the dinner, it´s simply huge. One breakfast is enough for two.
Staff at the reception is quite friendly. Concierge service is good as well.
There is ba Starbucks just next door to the hotel.
In general I would recommend the hotel.Plus must say thát it´s a great value for money, since it´s not very expensive for Intercontinental at all.
Enjoy your trip to Warsaw.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICWarszawa, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, we appreciate the time you have taken.
We are delighted that you are satisfied with our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again at InterContinental Warsaw.

Kind regards,

Marten Schoenrock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Warsaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Warsaw

Address: Emilii Plater 49, Warsaw 00-125, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Warsaw 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star InterContinental Warsaw is an impressive addition to the ever-expanding skyline. Located in the financial district opposite the Palace of Culture and Science, the hotel is a short distance from the main railway station, charming Old Town and the Warsaw Philharmonic. Well worth a visit are the Frederic Chopin Museum and Łazienki Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Warsaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Warsaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.