We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple minor issues, but still can't rate below 5 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polonia Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Polonia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Polonia Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aleje Jerozolimskie 45, Warsaw 00-692 , Poland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Warsaw
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A couple minor issues, but still can't rate below 5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in the Polonia Palace for four nights in September 2013, prior to (and as part of) an Odysseys Unlimited tour of eastern Europe.

While one could nitpick on some minor issues, we cannot rate this classy hotel at less than five stars. First and foremost, the room was quiet, so we slept well. This may be due in part to the fact that we dealt directly with the hotel in reserving our room (because we checked in two days prior to the official date of the tour), and were thus able to request an inside room on an upper floor. (We had a room on the 6th floor, overlooking an interior well of the building.) It needs to be noted that the Polonia Palace is right on the intersection of two extremely busy four-plus-lane boulevards (Al. Jerozolimskie and Marszał Kowska), and an outside room overlooking one of these boulevards might be expected to be noisy. So we would repeat the recommendations found elsewhere on this site, to request an inside room on an upper floor. We had a standard room, and that was ample in size for us; we saw no need to pay for a superior room.

All of the front desk staff and bellmen were friendly and professional, and spoke excellent English. The breakfast bar, included in our room rate, was very good, including the range of items typical of upscale European hotels. This includes eggs cooked to order by a short-order chef, although on our first morning, the chef had a little trouble with the “easy” part of “fried eggs over easy”. The breakfast bar selection might have been a shade less elegant than the breakfast bars at several of our other five-star hotels on this Odysseys tour, but this fact doesn’t mean that the Polonia Palace doesn’t deserve a five-star rating in its own right.

The location of the hotel is good. Its location at a major intersection could be bad if your room faced the busy boulevards, but it’s good when you want to hop a tram to various Warsaw tourist sights. Actually, most sights are in what we would consider walking distance – a mile or so – and we wound up taking the tram only once, to the Uprising Museum. Warsaw’s classic Old Town is just over one mile away, up Nowy Świat Street – and a walk up Nowy Świat is a good component of any Warsaw tour anyway.

Perhaps our biggest complaint about this hotel is that one cannot get WiFi in the rooms unless one pays an extra fee. WiFi is available at no cost in the lobby, but it is slow, and the password changes every hour. So if you have a device such as a tablet that depends upon WiFi, you have to get the new password from the receptionist each time you log in. The slowness of the WiFi system often made e-mail service dicey – the e-mail sometimes wouldn’t get sent during the time that we were willing to spend sitting in the lobby. And, with no room WiFi, uploading digital photos to the Cloud – a slow process, at least on my iPad in their lobby – is not practical, unless one wants to sit in the lobby for an extended period. But on the positive side, the Polonia does have two computer terminals in their business center that are available to guests at no charge and that, of course, have excellent internet connection. We never had trouble getting access to those terminals.

Another issue is that – contrary to the Polonia’s claims in their list of amenities – our room had no in-room safe. (Ours was not the only room with this problem.) The Polonia does offer complimentary safes for guests in a room beside the front desk, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating in giving you access to these safes. But we were not comfortable going to the front desk a couple times a day to get things in and out of these hotel safes – as we would have done with an in-room safe – so we only deposited those valuables that we felt we could do without for our full 4-day stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    415
    49
    20
    5
See reviews for
132
480
114
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of an Odyssey Unlimited tour. Our hotel room was very large.
The rooms were clean and the service was very good. The breakfast was excellent. By far the best on our tour of eastern Europe. The hotel is in a great location near many shops. It is within walking distance of a large park and even to Old Town, if you have the endurance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a weekend away here in December 2013. Hotel Polonia Palace was amazing; we walked into the large lobby area which was really grand and beautiful.

We did not book breakfast in advance, and when we arrived that offered it as 50% discount.

The location is great, almost opposite the main train station and also bus stops opposite too.

We could not fault the hotel, would definitely stay again. The hotel is in the centre, business centre, but the old town is about 20 minutes walk, but you may just as well hop on a bus which stops outside virtually. The only thing is Bojangles bar advertises 50% happy hour before 8pm, but actually it is just 50% off 3 small pages, and does not even include any wine. A little disappointed no live music in the Piano bar on a saturday night; but on the Friday night it was fabulous. Breakfasts were fabulous, even had prosecco!

From the airport, buy a ticket in the airport hall to use the shuttle bus which takes you to Modlin train station, and then the train run roughly hourly right into the centre of Warsaw. Cost was 15 Polish Zlotty. Very reliable and bus seems to be at the train station to coincide with the flight times. Most people seem to do this.

There was a small restaurant called Petitt something (cant remember second word), but on the way to the old town walking from the hotel, super lovely place where locals frequent; excellent breakfast, and excellent cakes too. Open from 7am til late at night.

We did not find any other bars or venues playing live music, so the hotel was where we ended up.

There was an italian restaurant in the old town (had to queue to get in) and looked nothing special, plastic seats and tables.. but full of locals - called Trattoria Rucola - fabulous food, again full of locals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have just returned from a short break in Warsaw, where we stayed at the Polonia Palace. We booked it as part of a deal with British Airways. I had however read good reports of it on Trip Advisor.

However, it exceeded our expectations.

From the start, the hotel staff were polite, helpful and friendly - and they all spoke English. The lovely receptionist gave us a free upgrade from a standard room to something a bit better, and we were asked if we wanted a city view or a quieter room at the side. We went from the city view. A charming, helpful porter took our luggage and showed us the way, and we were delighted when we saw our room as it had a superb view of the floodlit Palace of Culture and Science which was opposite. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a well supplied bathroom and mini-bar (which we didn't use, but the fridge was useful to store the complmentary water in).

Every day fresh water was left by the bed, along with a big chocolate coin to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the hotel; a very nice touch. The room and bathroom were cleaned daily to a very good standard, with fresh towels supplied and toiletries topped up.

Some people have mentioned that rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy. Well, it is a busy street out there, with cars and buses and trams, but the rooms are double glazed and we did not find it a problem. It may be more of one in summer when you have windows open, but not in winter. We preferred to be able to look out at the city landscape anyway.

Breakfasts were, as others have mentioned, magnificent. There was a vast array of cold ham, cheese and fish, fresh fruit, fruit juice, cereal, yoghurt, pastries, bread, a hot buffet with sausage, beans and bacon, and best of all, a chef who would cook you an omlette to order while you watched. The chef was very efficient, and even if there was a short queue of people, you were not kept waiting long, and in any case it was worth it to have such a freshly cooked breakfast.

We did not eat in the restuarant, but we had a couple of drinks in the bar. The staff were pleasant and helpful and we did not find the bar prices too expensive. Again, the service was impeccable. What I liked was that every member of staff called guests "Sir" or "Madam", and was unfailingly polite at all times.

The hotel is very well placed. We walked everywhere, but the hotel is convenient for all modes of transport, including the train; being about 5 minutes walk from the central station. The old town is 15-20 minutes walk away, or you can take a tram or bus from right outside the hotel. As for places to eat, you are spolied for choice with a huge selection of cafes, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance (including a marvellous Italian place in the side street next to the hotel!). There is also a shopping centre which includes, er, Marks and Spencer almost next door, and another massive shopping mall next to the station.

The hotel is a 15-20 minute taxi journey from Warsaw Chopin airport, or I understand that there is a bus. We took a taxi, using the rank right outside the arrivals hall, ignoring the touts who lurk inside. We also used one of the taxi firms recommended by signs within the airport. The cost of our journey was 30 zlotys, so under £7. We asked the hotel to order us a taxi to go back to the airport, and this arrived promptly; however it was not one of the "recommended" firms and he charged us 60 zlotys!! We did not feel inclined to argue, because compared with the UK this is still cheap; but in future I would tell the hotel that we know the fare should be 30-40 zlotys so the driver should not try to charge us more. We could have used a car provided by the hotel, which was offered at a cost of 80 zlotys.

Some people have commented upon the charge for Wi-fi in your room. I agree that is annoying when you are used to wi-fi/internet connection on demand at home, but there is free wi-fi (code provided by hotel reception) in the main lobby so this is not much of an issue. We found it quite pleasant to check emails etc for an hour in the lobby....,because the hotel kindly provided complimentary mulled wine between 6 and 8pm, so we could sip that in front of the fantastic Christmas tree they had and feel quite festive! There is also a free business centre (password provided by reception) if you need more facilities. We were able to use this to check in online and print our boarding passes for our flight home, which was helpful.

The only teeny-tiny complaint I have is that the tea provided at breakfast was dreadful. The water just was not hot enough, but it is a very minor issue when compared with the excellent service we received elsewhere.

We would not hesitate to stay here again. It has to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, in terms of comfort and service. The staff are to be commended.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the city view, side ones may be quieter but there won't be much to see, so take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

In 10 years of travelling this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

The room was big enough for us to lay our things out, there was a bar fridge (we ignored the minibar and stored our own snacks in it), a nice big bathroom, hanging space for all our clothes and a safe for valuables. As others have said, for breakfast you could have almost anything - fruit, cereal, meats, hot food including personally cooked omelettes, seafood (herrings and smoked salmon) etc. The bed was very comfortable but the pillows were far too soft - so I just folded mine in half - problem solved.

There are two shopping centres nearby, as well as public transport (local subways, trams plus the main train station) and dinner options in addition to the hotel restaurant and bar. As for noise - both inside and out - it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here from 7th to 10th December and could not fault the hotel, the room was lovely on7th floor next to the lift but we did not hear a sound. The choice at breakfast was great, if you could not find something to suit you would be very fussy. We paid the 90lt and had the hotel pick up from the airport which was great the driver was waiting with our name on a card. The location of the hotel is good as there are lots of shops and restaurants close by. The old town is about 15 mins walk. As it is near Christmas the hotel have complimentary hot wine between 6 & 8 each evening. They also have happy hour from 4 & 8pm

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Ideally located in the centre of downtown Warsaw. Close enough to walk to all the main attractions. Fantastic Breakfast, one of the best for a hotel in its price range. Spacious rooms, which includes a kettle and mini-bar. Stay Here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Polonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polonia Palace Hotel

Address: Aleje Jerozolimskie 45, Warsaw 00-692 , Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Warsaw
#4 Romantic Hotel in Warsaw
#5 Family Hotel in Warsaw
#6 Luxury Hotel in Warsaw
#7 Business Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Polonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Polonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polonia Palace Warsaw
Hotel Polonia Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polonia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.